Humans logo

Simi Reveals What She Almost Used as Stage Name

She wouldn't have been "Simi"

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

Nigerian singer Simi is one of the few artistes in the music industry who actually used her real name as her stage name. But that was almost not the case. During an interview with Sheen Magazine, Simi revealed how she initially started off using a completely different name, and explains why she stopped. She also talked about when she realized she wanted to do music for real, how she built her following on social media, and the goals she still has for herself as an artiste even at this point in her career. Here's what Simi said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

"Was there a turning point when you realized you could do this music thing forreal? "

Simi: I knew since I was a teenager, since I was a kid that I wanted to do music, because I always had a deep, intense, innate love for music. I knew that’s where my heart was going to lead me to. Whatever else I was doing, at whatever time in my life. I knew that’s where I was going to end up because of how I felt about music. I’m the kind of person who puts the most energy into the things that I love. I started in the choir, I started with gospel music, so I’ve been doing this for quite a while.

"Is Simi your real name?"

Yeah. My full name is Simisola but everybody calls me Simi.

"Did you ever consider another artist name? "

Yeah! That’s funny, no one’s ever asked me that. But starting out, I used to call myself Keisha. I don’t remember why now, but I used to call myself Keisha. [laughs] I think one of my friends gave it to me, but it didn’t sit right, so I went back to my name.

"You have millions of followers. How did your first build your following?"

That’s an interesting question. One of things my fans like the most about me is my personality, I’m very authentic, if I can say so myself. My personality usually shines through in whatever I’m doing, and that’s exactly what I display on social media. People can connect to that. Sometimes people assume people in the limelight or public figures, that their lives behind-the-scenes are all glam and glitter. I show people that really, we’re all the same at the end of the day. People resonate with that, that played a really huge part in building my following on social media.

"What goals do you have for yourself as an artist at this point of your career?"

Yeah, I want to see all the things I can be. As a singer, as a mom, as a wife, as a woman, as a person, just all the things I can be. I want to be content in the things that I am. Because no matter all the things you’re able to give, there’s always more. The concept of being content and happy in the space that I am per time, I just want to be happy. But I also want to do the things that make me happy.

Keisha! Could you imagine if Simi actually stayed with the stage name Keisha? It doesn't even fit at all with the person and brand we now know as Simi. It's very interesting how much a name can define and change a person.

What do you think about Keisha as a stage name for Simi, and about this story? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.