Humans logo

Simi Responds to Interviewer Who Asked Why She Hates Men

Her response was perfect.

By Jide OkonjoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Nigerian singer Simi is one artiste who tries to use her music to pass a message. Simi is a proud feminist and has dedicated a lot of her career to standing up for, fighting for, and defending women and women's rights. She has also been very vocal about her experience as not only a female artiste but also a woman in this world, and with her new single, Woman, she does it yet again.

While promoting the single, Simi went on Instagram Live to talk a little more about it and opened up about not only her thoughts about the new single, her thoughts on women and life in general, but also about an interviewer who asked why she hates men. This is what Simi said about all of that.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Speaking on Instagram Live, Simi said:

There were some ideas about women that were not very useful for women but I felt like it would be good to use my sound to speak out for my people (women). The funny thing is that I expected more backlash and attacks after I dropped the song. But I am genuinely surprised that people are receptive to the song. I think that people are more open to the discussions especially if one is privileged in life. I had an interview a few days ago and the interviewer asked me “Why do you hate men?” I replied that I don’t think I have ever said or done anything that insinuates that I hate men, I don’t have any reason to hate men. I simply want better things for women; I just want women to have what they deserve. I may not be able to change the world today or tomorrow but I am hoping that it can be a part of the steps that we are going to take to (get to) that point. Obviously, things used to be worse than this but thankfully we have more women now that are more outspoken than in the past. I think it is hard to get acknowledgement as a woman, firstly some people do not even expect that one would be good, some people question one’s talent compared to the male counterpart. But it is like as a woman one is undermined and will have to work extra hard to get half the things that men have. Honestly, it is exhausting especially when one is speaking out and nothing is changing. By the grace of God, I have got a level of success but there are some women who haven’t. They are still trying to find their path, who would speak and fight for them because their voices are not that loud? But if one is talking, people think one is talking too much if it is something that makes them uncomfortable, but if it is something they like or they agree with, they will support you. However, I think it has become a little bit easier but I know a lot of female artiste that are still waiting for their break. We are not halfway there.

Very well put Simi. Just because she's talking about women's issues and women's rights does not mean that she hates men.

What do you think about what Simi said and if you've heard it, what do you think about Simi's new song Woman. Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment on my Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends!

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.