Humans logo

Shoe Repairer

I do not know his name, simply say I did not make his acquaintance, but somehow he left a deep impression on me.

By VioletHoltPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Shoe Repairer
Photo by Kristian Egelund on Unsplash

I do not know his name, simply say I did not make his acquaintance, but somehow he left a deep impression on me. From him, I saw the struggle spirit of Edison, the inventor, even though he was just an ordinary shoemaker.

On Saturday morning, I was about to go out to the bookstore when my grandmother stopped me: "Do me a favor, take my shoes to be repaired after buying the book, will you? Last night this heel fell off astrugglinggain ......" I took these black leather shoes without heels and went out.

Two fashionably dressed girls were yelling at a fat middle-aged woman shoe repairer, "How did you fix this shoe? I just put them on, and the heel fell off again!" It seems that the fat master is not a person who is willing to be defeated, and even argued with them, the customers had to do nothing but wait on the sidelines. "Bring it to me to see it." The relief is a young man, who looks twenty years old, wearing overalls, a lean face with a pair of dark eyes. "Let him fix it for you, he's the shoe repair expert here." The fat master said to the two girls.

Perhaps the young man was more skilled, so I got in his line. Good thing I had the book in my hand, I quickly sank in ...... "Little friend, you repair shoes?" The young man pulled me out of the book realm, "It's your turn to repair shoes! Is it with nails or adhesives?" I was a layman in this area, so I didn't answer right away. The shoemaker probably saw my confusion and said, "Use adhesive, it's not only strong but also beautiful." I nodded my head. He skillfully manipulated and took out the creamy white adhesive from a dark bottle and applied it evenly on the heel of the shoe, I thought it would work once it was stuck, but he turned around and opened the oven behind him, lit up two big bulbs in it and put the shoe in, "It will take half an hour to bond, so wait for a while." He said to me. "You still have to give the shoe sunlight." I half-jokingly asked, "What a pain in the ass! If I had known, I would have used nails to save time." He patiently explained, "This adhesive only works fully after a low temperature. Just now the two women comrades because of anxious, urged to stick fast, and the result fell off," he said while pointing to his heel, I suddenly found the master's two heels are a bit different - the left foot than the right heel too much higher, it asked: "Master, your heels how ......" "I have a foot problem, the shoes are specially made." "So it is a disabled person." I understood.

He took over the work of the next customer, I had to sit aside and wait. I cursed the "time-consuming" adhesive. I also picked up the opinion book on the wall, and there were a lot of opinions, a thick book almost full, all written about the young master, and all praise, it seems to be a really good service shoe repair!

Near noon, the line of people gradually dispersed, the disabled young master stood up, struggling around the long drying box, cradled his feet from the hanging bag to take out an English magazine, with my English level, this is probably a book written "craft". He was so absorbed in reading and did not need to turn to the dictionary, it seems that there is a certain level of English.

"Master, half an hour is up." I didn't want to disturb him, but I had to remind him. He apologized and turned around to take out his shoes ...... As he handed me the repaired shoes, he said, "I'm developing and testing a new adhesive, and if it works, I won't need customers to wait so long." A determined gaze shot from those dark eyes.

I don't know his name, but I was impressed by this lean shoe repairer who had neither the suave demeanor of an actor nor the lofty presence of a scholar. I often think: this disabled master shoemaker, based on the ordinary post, but can work diligently for the needs of the work, is not this exactly what Edison walked the road?

I wish you success forever: the "inventor" of new adhesives!

literature
1

About the Creator

VioletHolt

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.