Humans logo

SHOE HEELS.

Pace your heart to forgive.

By Dr. Totziette SlaterPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 5 min read
3
SHOE HEELS.
Photo by Mohammad Metri on Unsplash

The elevator door opened and there stood the 6ft stranger that was running through the lobby earlier. Her face was recognizable because of the way that she was gawking at me from the cappuccino counter, as I looked up from a sports magazine - then she left her hot beverage and took off like a jet towards the bar and grill.

It was odd but I continued to relax and read - although, being tired from meetings all day - If I could say beam me up and appear in my suite - how wonderful that would be.

In addition to being exhausted, my love life at this point was in shambles. The thought of me being alone haunted me day and night -the misery was more than I could bear. I didn't want to seem desperate and ask any girl out on a date. I wanted her to be my dream girl as my prayers conveyed every night while lying in bed.

Suddenly, as I was looking at the stranger in the elevator - a quote that I had once read began to flood my mind:

When life has you looking down to the ground, lift your head and proclaim. "The only way is up".

By Nick Fewings on Unsplash

I stood like an idiot and stared at her. I couldn't help but to notice that her eyelids was slightly swollen. She had one eyelash on, the other one halfway titled.  Her cheeks was wet, and flushed. She shyly pushed passed me knocking an iPhone out my hand while running uncontrollably down the hall of the 5 star hotel that I was getting ready to check out of.

My first thought as I exhaled was "gosh!, what an interesting moment". Then, I hopelessly gazed as she ran further away leaving me with the mumbling impression: "God, I love a lady in stilettos"!

The elevator door rumbled closed.

I remained there momentarily, then turned to the side gaping and waiting to see or hear anything that would remotely make sense of her face being so flooded with tears - but to no avail. Once she arrived at her door, she peered back at me. Then, she hurriedly turned around, slid her hotel's key into the slot and quietly entered into her suite.

As I turned to push the button for the elevator to come up the multiple floors, the sound of me stepping slightly on my device became obvious and loud. I bent to get it and felt angry while picking it up because of her carelessness.

By Keagan Henman on Unsplash

I quickly stood up and looked to the right noticing the glaring exit sign that would lead down 3 flights of stairs. I paused for a couple of seconds finally drawing the conclusion of 'might as well' - while walking and rubbing my head in unbelief of what had just occurred.

My hand pushed on the lever to the door that led to the stairwell. As I walked in and took my first step down the stairs, it seemed as the moments were in slow motion - the door closed gently behind me.

In my head, there were images of the woman running down the hallway. The thought that kept replaying was her running and crying. "Wow!, Her heels must have taken a beating each time her feet hit the carpet"!

As I stepped onto the second set of stairs I began to wonder was she okay - would she cry herself to sleep. This time I purposely envisioned her shoes hanging off the edge of the bed as she lay wrecked by the event that led up to her despair.

Suddenly, the side door of the stairwell opened but was quickly slammed shut. I turned around and glanced up but no one was there - only a big red 2 plastered on the wall that I didn't notice earlier. How do you miss that! Once again my thoughts was in control, leaving me feeling as though life was utterly unfair.

By Brock Wegner on Unsplash

As, I continued downward my train of thought shifted - an amazing notion enveloped me while treading onto the final flight of stairs. "What if love could be as tranquil as those shoes she was wearing? What if life wasn't complicated." I slowly walked down the last 3 steps desiring the concepts to linger, then I muttered, "What if we as humans could learn the secret to pardoning one another - then tell others to "Pace your heart to forgive".

The thoughts was as beautiful as those vibrant flowers detailed perfectly atop of the stranger's shoes!

I slowly sat down on the bottom stair cherishing the inner fragrance of my mind being at peace. It seemed as a whole day went by as I sat in the stark stairwell but it was only a few moments inside an unrealistic time zone of what if!

When, I rose from sitting, to push the exit lever, suddenly, the door opened and to my surprise there was the 6ft woman. She stood there like a statue while smiling at me, and whispered, "Hi". I  stuttered "H-h-hello"!

Instantly, my life had finally taken flight. Should I pause the moment or take a risk and soar? Immediately, I felt in my heart the assurance - this time I won't plunge but, "Go up and never stop"!

By Fab Lentz on Unsplash

She gently responded,  "Oh!, we meet again, this time you're not in my dreams and I'm not crying vehemently because you walked passed me without noticing that I exist"!

Her words were as arrowed molasses to my lonely soul. My eyes excitedly looked at her from head to toe - then glanced into her beautiful eyes. A serene smile rushed onto my face. Then, I  took her by the hand, twirled her around and anxiously replied, "Wow,  I really love those "Shoe Heels"!

The End.

fact or fiction
3

About the Creator

Dr. Totziette Slater

Just a country girl living in an enormous world that's filled with a smorgasbord of various ideas, expressions and content...Remain prayerful and be happy - it's your lifeline to paved successes!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.