Humans logo

Seyi Shay Reveals New Details About Fight With Tiwa Savage

"It had to happen."

By Jide OkonjoPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

On June 8th, 2021, the Nigerian internet scape was hit with a very shocking video that showed top musicians Tiwa Savage and Seyi Shay having a caustic exchange of words at a Lagos salon. The now infamous video was seen by millions and the conversation of a lot of conversation.

Now, singer Seyi Shay during an interview with Chude is reflecting on that day and talking a little bit more about the events of that day, what she took out of it, and the status of her relationship now with Tiwa Savage.

Here's everything Seyi Shay revealed in her new interview with Chude.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Seyi Shay on #WithChude

During her appearance on #WithChude, Chude started his line of questioning about the incident by asking Seyi:

"Does it get frustrating? You’ve done all this work and then something like this big fight that went viral with Tiwa Savage happened. Does it make you feel like, ‘Ah but I’ve done all this work to leave this drama behind?’"

To which Seyi replied:

Guess what? If I had not done that work it would have been a very different outcome and you know what I’m talking about. If I had not spent a good couple of years finding my center, my peace, bringing myself up to a different vibration, praying, and fasting, sitting in the studio and pouring out my heart, trust me, the outcome would have been very different. But when you have elevated and when you have set your vibrations high, no matter what comes your way, it’s always peace in your heart, in your mind and the bigger picture is always in ahead of you so no matter what is coming at you, you’re just like ‘Thank you God.’

Then Chude asked, "Why did you feel the need to physically reach out in this location? What did you think was going to happen?"

Seyi responded:

Ah ah, hello (isn’t it?), which did happen, it was hello and hello but then some minutes later, it was a different story. Which was a shock to me but at the same time, everybody is at different places in their life. Everybody is going through different things in their head. When you say hi to somebody, no matter what the history is or whatever, you expect either ‘Don’t talk to me’ or ‘Hi’ back and this circumstance was very different. But it wasn’t a mistake. Cuz everything that happened was supposed to happen. That’s the lesson I got from it.

Finally, Chude asked her "So right now, what do you think of your relationship with her (Tiwa)?"

Seyi responded:

No there’s no relationship. If somebody does that to you once, you’re not going to be stupid and go back again. Ah, am I a fool? I ain’t gonna try that shit again. There’s no relationship and it’s very good that that whole thing taught me a very big lesson and it had to happen. The reason why we shall find out very soon but it had to happen. I’m grateful that it happened. I’m grateful that I’ve grown cuz it could have ended up very differently. We can go back and forth about what she did, what I did, why I did it, why she did it, but it’s childish. I’ve grown. I’m a big girl now. I don’t have time for all of that. If nobody wants to be my friend, if somebody doesn’t want to forgive, if somebody wants to try and disgrace me, be negative – that’s on them. You just remove yourself, keep it moving, and make sure you use that to grow.

It's good to see Seyi Shay has grown from that incident. Hopefully one day she and Tiwa can finally put their differences behind them and bury the hatchet. This life is too short to carry grudges.

Let me know what you think about this story by leaving a comment on my Facebook post. I'm always interested in hearing your thoughts.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends!

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.