Humans logo

Sad Truth About Why I Use Dating Apps - DJ Cuppy

The billionaire daughter gets honest.

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

If you have been on the internet over the past week, then you know that one of the most talked about things has been the Netflix documentary, The Tinder Swindler. People have so many thoughts and strong opinions about the movie. Many believe that the women in the show who got swindled were "dumb" and didn't ask enough questions. One very big thing people have been saying is: why didn't the girls ask that why would a billionaire's son be on a dating app?

Well, now Nigerian billionaire Femi Otedola's daughter DJ Cuppy is explaining why she is not only on dating apps but also why she loves them. Speaking during an improptu Instagram Live with friend Kiddwaya, DJ Cuppy explained why she loves to using dating apps. Here's what she said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Speaking during what DJ Cuppy explained to be a "very honest & unplanned LIVE" on Instagram, she said:

I'm struggling to find a partner. Like I have been single properly, like I haven't had a boyfriend for a very long time. I feel like my next boyfriend needs to be my husband. I'm ready to take that step. When I say I'm ready to take that step is I mean I'm ready to start working towards it. But it's so hard.

The situation for me is I find it, and I'm gonna be honest, I find it really hard for Nigerian men to give me a chance as an individual. Because I feel completely overshadowed by my dad. That's the truth. And it's really difficult. And guys can be very very patient and play the game. I met so many Nigerian guys that are usually like "Oh my gosh Cuppy, what's your surname? I've never heard of you" and I believe them but then it always - maybe they tell someone. Before you know it, "Oh yeah by the way, can you get my cousin a job." You know, it takes out of my experience with the person and before anything even happens, my guard is back up. And it's really annoying. That's why for me, I love things like dating apps and I love things like speed dating because you are in front of the person and they have to give you their attention.

Eyaa. Who would have thought that dating would be so hard for somebody like DJ Cuppy. Literally so many men on social media and I'm sure offline must be fighting over her but I guess that is what must make it so tough - trying to distinguish the genuine people from the fakes.

Do you use dating apps? If so what do you think about them and also let me know if you'll be skeptical if a person told you they were the child of a billionaire on a dating app? For me, my eyebrow go still raise especially after seeing this Tinder Swindler. But what do you think? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Promila Linabout a month ago

    For singles that want to make sure that they spend their weekend out on a date rather than commenting on social media, the dating apps are the best choice. I have met many guys from USA through https://www.meetoutside.com and I can surely not imagine what life would be without dating apps in the 21st century. They sort of make the monotonous life complete.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.