Humans logo

Reverse Bias

The Opposite of Color

By Welby CoxPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Dear Ms. Nezhukumatathil:

As you asked I have read your latest book, World of Wonders and I congratulate you on the presentation of facts related to the study of Dendrology (Trees) and Botany (Plants). You have certainly developed a unique style for intellectually denigrating people whom you determined, in your infinite wisdom, to be disrespectful or biased against people of color. With respect, this methodology is as complex as your name. Yet, without apology you are a racist and biased feminist, (pg. 1, 22-24 I allowed myself to look at them behind three layers of barbed wire) these mentally ill people (pg. 4, lines 1-6 “who told he mother they couldn’t understand her accent, who spoke loud and slow at her, like she- the valedictorian of her class, the first doctora [sic] of her tiny village in northern Philippines”.) (Pg. 6 lines 1-8 “when people stared, but then I remembered the confident clickety-clack of my mother’s heels, when people would stare at us...I hear my own heels as I rush to meet my first class.”) The high heels representing the feminist sword on the throat of men! (Pg. 6, lines 17-21 “My sweet southern students, who insist on calling me “Ma’am,” no matter how much I gently protest”.) representing a cultural dissident. (Pg. 6, lines12-13, “where I was the only brown girl in my class,” lines 18-19, “She fumbles in her purse, I see a pack of cigarettes...No you may not!”) Accusatory without background...had the teacher taken these from a student smoking in the toilet? Clearly, in her own words, representing all the inflammatory ism’s... sexism, racism, feminism, and yes bias.

Ma'am, somehow at an early age, amplified in the chapter on Catalpa Trees, developed an Inferiority Complex over the question of being a person of color, even though that person of color happened to be a world-class beauty. What caused you to inject this feeling of rejection as a “colored girl,” when in many cases the onlookers, like myself, were simply admiring your beauty...which, as we all know is skin deep, and beneath yours was a feeling of negative worth and a hatred for all unlike yourself! (Pg. 15, lines 14-15, “I felt so happy to see kids of all shades in the room.”).

Interestingly, within the Corpse Flower chapter, you were again compelled in a rather oxymoronic description of the use of the Corpse Flower as a dependable measurement of the quality of both the best and the worst dating prospects. (Pg. 69, lines 10-11, “Based upon his reaction to your question about the stench of the Corpse Flower, I could tell immediately whether there’d be [sic] a second date, or if I’d be ghosting him soon.”) an expression used in dating terms and it's when someone suddenly cuts all ties and communication with the person they've dated. and then there was the positive response to the stink flower (Pg. 73, line 17, “This was a man who’d be happy when I bloomed.”).

Make no mistake, in addition to being beautiful, you demonstrated an intellectually profound ability in the turning of a phrase, as well as demonstrating an intriguing inner-circle intelligence sharing of plant life in order to discern the very life of the Corpse Flower, aka “The Amazing Stinko!” and link it to that of the human species represents a transition in spatial formality disguised in a “love/hate” relationship with others (Pg. 69, lines 1-11, ending, “or if I’d be ghosting him soon”). (Pg. 73, lines 17-20 “This was a man...”)

I learned a great deal from the book, most essential the unique potential similarity between the human species and the Corpse Flower in that the flower (Pg. 72, lines 1-2, “I can’t get over the plant’s temperature. When you touch the spadix of the Corpse Flower, it feels almost human”). (Pg. 72, lines 4-5, “Just last week I read how trees speak to each other underground”).

The chapter on the Corpse Flower was most interesting to me. As a gardener, I had never heard of the plant since it isn’t native to this area. I found all the facts which you presented as extremely fascinating, and more over the other facts which you brought forward indicating there is a science now indicating that plants have a special communication beneath the ground which warns of weather and enemies?

Finally, I think you are a quality author, with a great deal to say. However, it is my hope that in future books you can somehow separate your inner-personal issues (girl of color) from the heart of the subject you wish to share. Personally, I was offended by the book's use of an honor (the selection of the text for classes by colleges which is a big deal) as well as a major economic gain paid to you for the book. This inroad was abused representing a major complaint against liberal college stalwarts by moderates and conservatives alike who claim they are responsible for the text utilized to brainwash our children which we entrust to professors who represent counterculture bigots disdained by the majority of Americans! You utilized this platform to vomit your vile attitude toward those whom you feel belittled your blessed mother, as well as your family.

Welby Thomas Cox, Jr.

book reviews
Like

About the Creator

Welby Cox

Vocal plus has it?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.