Humans logo

Rejuvenating "Me"

This Year's Task

By M.J. CarlockPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Rejuvenating "Me"
Photo by Amin Hasani on Unsplash

Too often, I’ve found myself being pulled in a hundred different directions where there never seems to be enough time for "me" between the many responsibilities clamoring for my attention. Try as I may to fulfill all these expectations, most times I somehow end up being left exhausted and yearning for something that will give me reprieve from the endless lists of things I must do.

This year, I’ve decided; rather than allowing obligations to dominate my life like a habitual 12-hour road trip with no stops, I am taking back the wheel and detouring the route whenever I see fit. Afterall, what is life (or road trips), if there is no time for rest areas and sightseeing??

Work, family, friends, etc., are all important, but it’s also essential to take care of yourself in this crazy world. I’m the kind of person that needs “me” time, alone time, or more simply put, a time to just relax and rest.

I find that it is all too easy to overexert yourself with the many tasks awaiting you in this life. And while those things will eventually get done (because they have to be), it’s vital to know your limits and adapt your schedule in a way that is healthy and benefits you. So, that’s what I aim to do in 2022.

Below, I’ve written some motivational notes to encourage myself to rest more often, along with some ideas on how to fulfill that time throughout the new year:

  • Don't be afraid to rest.
  • Some things are better put off until tomorrow; what's important is, learning how to prioritize tasks within a healthy and reasonable amount of time each day.
  • When you're starting to get stressed, tense, and over-worked, take a break!
  • Be satisfied with the work you’ve done so far and realize that it can be tweaked and perfected upon later.
  • Realize that it's not wrong to want things to be perfect, but understand that perfection is subjective.
  • Make yourself an energizing snack. (No, I'm not talking about grabbing a Monster.) Consume something you’re craving but will help fuel your body. (I suppose peanut rolls are acceptable, they have some "good fats.")
  • Take a 30-minute, or even an hour, nap. (If you're dreaming about work, take another hour of down-time, your work should not dominate your rest!)
  • Watch some funny videos via YouTube or TikTok... Find a comedian that makes you laugh or watch a show you love! Laughter is good for your body, so go out of your way to find things that make you laugh more often! (And yes, laughing at your own jokes count! Hehe.)
  • Find a good book to read or, in some cases, re-read. You know what books you love!
  • That thing you’ve been wanting to do forever, but never seem to get around to? Do it. Quite trying to plan it out or make a schedule, just whenever it pops in your mind, head out and do it. Grab your guitar and learn a new chord, go fishing with your dad, take a drive through the countryside, pick up a needle to learn to crochet, type a few words to work on that story you’ve always wanted to write… Go do it!
  • Remember that game you loved to play as a child? Go play it right now! Whether it be hopscotch, The Legend of Zelda, Uno, or a thrilling play-through of Clue, bring joy from the past into today. (Yes, some of these require a friend, go grab one or make acquaintance with someone nearby.)
  • Enjoy your rest, and while you do, don’t forget that those around you need rest too. Encourage them to find their own restful ideas, and even discover some you can do together. (Like beach trips or baking!)
  • Appreciate the time you’ve been given, and use it wisely.
  • Be kinder to yourself. Allow yourself to make mistakes, take them and learn to grow from them.
  • Life is not about struggling as you die to live, but living vibrantly until the moment you die.

As I've already started applying some of these aforementioned notes, I'm finding that living a life of intentional rest can be quite exhilarating. It opens up a whole new avenue where you can actually find a balance amongst the many facets that make up life, and there is a noticeable internal shift; like suddenly feeling a lot lighter, and the workload that must be completed is much more bearable.

You see, you don’t have to be good to begin anything, you just have to start and you’ll soon be on your way. Just like with this list, I can't do all of it at once, but I can start incorporating it into my life at whatever pace I need. And I'm glad that I've begun to do just that, even though it's new for me and difficult at times.

In fact, while implementing this, I've found it rather interesting to realize that just as we have to force ourselves to work at times, we must also force ourselves to rest. I want to continue to learn a lifestyle where it's normal to do work, fulfill duties and obligations, but it's also normal to regularly rest and simply enjoy life.

I'd like to encourage everyone reading to make their own self-notes, or even adopt some things from the ones written above, if they feel lead. Jotting down your own thoughts and priorities can be very beneficial in visualizing what you want to achieve and how you can go about discovering your own rest ideas and methods. Once you do, and start living them, life will truly be revolutionized in the way you approach both work and rest. I can attest to that truth myself; and I look forward to continue seeing those effects in my life for years to come.

how to

About the Creator

M.J. Carlock

I find that words are powerful; regardless of their form, they carry influence over our lives, and we must wield their power with both wisdom and heart.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Test5 months ago

    That was exceptionally well written.

M.J. CarlockWritten by M.J. Carlock

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.