Humans logo

Reconnection To Bast

So, I journal avidly, have for many years. My journal entries usually turn out to be an amazing conversation I have with myself, with back and forths and an amazing amount of revelation, reflection and ideas that sometimes take a few years to sink in. I have come to some amazing understandings by going back and reading my writing, and much of it I want to share as raw as it came to me. I am also working to put much of this information together into a larger project, whether it be book form or educational purposes I have not yet determined. Though this place helps me to organize and share things as they come together, and can bring them into the bigger picture as time defines and allows. Many entries are dated, and many will also have current reflections written with them as well. And so, here begins my confessions....

By Jami LarsonPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Public Use: Pin by Dominick Sileo on The wildest nature | Wild cats, Animals, Feline

June 2, 2022

Power animal exercise:

I started by visualizing the hummingbird. As I saw it flying around the rose bushes, the plants morphed in a jaguar- large black cat. I tried to keep the hummingbird, though it would not stay. The cat moved intentionally, its shoulders showing its physical strength with every step and yet it also kept itself low to the ground, moving slowly. Almost as if it was hunting. As I felt this strength run through my body, every cell seemed to light up- SPARK!! And I sit here now feeling the tingles.

Black Jaguar as a Power Animal:

Reminds us that we are capable of achieving more than we think we can

Represents reclamation of power

Valor and Ferocity

Strength, Agility, Confidence, Focus and Sexy

Gatekeeper to the Unknown

**Prepare for a Revelation**

July 11, 2022

In going back to analyze and re-read this one, it was very apparent to me that this was Bast calling again. I spent much time with her in the years of my spiritual growth, embracing that the feminine fire of motherhood was not always compassion and grace. And that when the energetic explosion of “I am Woman” comes through, to embrace it with all that we are.

There are many stories of the Egyptian Goddess Bast, the most known being that her celebration was a yearly trek up the Nile to the city of Bubastis. For a spell, the people of Egypt would travel to her town for a great festival in her honor, which included intoxication and all that comes with such. I remember reading some accounts something like; the women were topless with no shame. Much like how many people view Las Vegas today, one could think, what happens in Bubastis, stays in Bubastis.

In my time of connecting with the goddess energy, I learned many things that do not quite follow the story books that history has presented as her place within the ancient Egyptian school of spirituality. Though, my time with many god energies did the same.

In the Egyptian story, Bast is the daughter of Ra- the Sun God. She holds many energies such as that of mother, nurturer, fertility and healer, though at the same time the energies of war, ferociousness, and was said to have almost destroyed the earth at one time. Much like the Hindu goddess energy of Kali, she reminds us that in every mother there is a warrior ready to take on the world for her children; and in my experience, she holds it well. It was only after putting that energy to the side in my life that I began to wane on the fire of protection for my children, as it was replaced with energies placed within the physical being of a man, which I do not recommend.

In my personal time with Bast, I came to see the energies of this name, as well as Sekhmet as being two sides of the same Lady. Sekhmet, portrayed as a lioness and many times with the solar disc upon her head, was the mother and the healer, the caretaker of the hearth and home. Her other face was that of Bast, the uninhibited feminine spirit of joy, free-spiritedness and destruction if pushed to it. They were the light and the dark side of being a mother, or even just being a woman. In the stories, they are both the daughter of Ra, both being referred to at different times as the 'Eye of Ra'; as well as they are both named as the wife of Ptah, the god energy of craftsmen and named as a creator god in myth.

My own Tatoo :) - The Eye of Ra and Blue Lotus

The duality of these goddess energies relate in full to the duality of the light and the dark across most every myth of religion. That there are two sides to each and every moment of life, and the energy we choose to embrace is that which will help to balance what comes next.

Remembering these things helped me to realize the signs that have I have seen around me for the last few years; and in sharing them with you may help you to begin to understand, or perhaps want to understand, what the world/god/creator/universe is telling you as well. Perhaps those things I have seen will get written within these journal entries, perhaps not. Only time will tell.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Jami Larson

I used to say my writing page was where the monster's hide. Not often have I taken a go at fiction writing.

When i was a young child, my mentor encouraged me to write. What I remember the most is:

"Write what you see."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.