Humans logo

Real Reason Why I Switched to Gospel Music - Kcee

Kcee talks musical transition

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Kingsley Chinweike Okonkwo popularly known to his fans and to many across the world as Kcee is a Nigerian singer and songwriter. Kcee has been responsible for such hits as Limpopo, Pull Over, Okpekete, and more. Before becoming Kcee, the singer was part of a Hip Hop group called KC Presh, and it looks like now, after many years of being a secular solo musician, Kcee is once again ready to make another transition.

The singer has now switched to doing gospel music. He and the Okwesili Eze Group have recorded a number of Cultural Praise records, and Kcee is currently working on some more solo music. During an interview with Hip TV, Kcee was asked why exactly he decided to go into gospel music. Here's what he said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Kcee

Speaking about why he decided to make the switch from secular to gospel music, Kcee said in response:

The switch was just deliberate and intentional. I’ve been doing this for twenty three years so you can’t be stagnant. So sometimes for me, I always think of how to move it around and switch it around and that was one of those things I did and it clicked. It worked for me somehow.

For those that know about my career, I started from the church. I grew up in a home where my father was a DJ selling some of those old records. So, I’ve always had that somewhere behind me to revamp some of those old songs. And so, when the idea came, I tried it and some people were like, ‘No, it’s not going to work. Don’t release it.’ Some people were like ‘just try it'. So at the end of the day, it worked

The truth is for someone like me, I'm not always in a hurry. I'm always doing whatever comes to my head and music, I've been recording in the studio all this while so I'll be dropping an album soon, before the end of the year. And you know I'm not under any pressure to do whatever, but I have a lot of plans. It's still music for me without pressure.

Kcee's new direction has left fans divided. A number of fans have embraced his new sound and continue to follow him on his musical path, while others would rather he return to his Limpopo and Pull Over days. What do you think? Have you heard any of Kcee's new music? If you have, do you like it? Do you not? Do you miss the old Kcee? If you haven't listened to any of his new music, I have attached one of his newer songs above so you can check it out if you want. If you do listen to it, I would like to know what you think, about his music and his reason. Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.