Humans logo

Real Meaning of 'Soso' - Omah Lay Finally Explains

Omah Lay opens up about meaning of song

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
3

One song that has been sweeping the nation and causing a whole lot of conversation and head scratching especially since the video dropped is Omah Lay's song, "Soso". The very haunting and spiritual sounding song has been dominating the airwaves and doing record numbers as well on streaming platforms. It is a song that is definitely getting a lot of buzz right now. Still, people have one major question about it: What is "Soso" and what is Omah Lay talking about on this track?

Well, during the behind the scenes of the music video, and also during a sit-down with Apple Music, singer Omah Lay opened up about what exactly the song means to him, and what Soso is to him as well. Are you ready to see what Omah Lay had to say about "Soso"? Then let's go!

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Omah Lay

Speaking about the meaning of "Soso", Omah Lay said:

OMAH LAY: When I was making the song, the only thing that came to my mind was Soso. I don't know why. I could have easily said alcohol, cognac, or smoke, or weed, or something that helps ease my pain but I decided to call Soso, I don't know why. And it kinda makes a lot of sense that it's Soso.

Soso most of my time is money. Honestly, I can't even lie. Soso a lot of the time is money. But sometimes too, it could be girl. Very fine girl. Uniport babe or Unilag babe. Those girls, their head dey touch. I like those girls die.

He further said to Apple Music:

OMAH LAY: 'Soso' could mean anything to you, but it's the name of a girl. It's a Port Harcourt name; a Kalabari girl's name. When I say, ‘Soso, take my pain away’, I want her to come and dance for me. Let her come and do whatever she can do for me, and take this pain away. She’s not my girl. She’s my friend's little sister, but she grew up, boom, and she started doing stuff, man. She just grew up on Snapchat and Instagram and just started doing things. The melody on ‘Soso’ is spirit; it’s Highlife. When I listen to those old highlife singers, it feels like they get their melodies from the spirit themselves. And that's where I always want to tap from. I made sure that I connected with my ancestors.

What did you understand from the song when you first heard Omah Lay's "Soso". Were you equally just as confused or did you get it right away? Does Omah Lay's explanation of the song now clarify it for you as well, or are you still scratching your head? Any way that your thoughts have formed, definitely Let me know what they are by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post. I'd like to hear your thoughts on this song and on this explanation.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
3

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.