Humans logo

Rain 1.3

Short-Story

By Lily AnnPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
1
Rain 1.3
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

William's POV

The bell on the door rang indicating that it has shut behind me, I started at the woman for a few moments before finally deciding to get ahold of myself and I turn to walk back out of the coffee shop. "Don't want any coffee?" He heard a soft voice say as his hand was almost to the door. "N-No thank you." I said before looking back at the woman at the counter, She grinned and raised her eyebrows. "Maybe later then?" She asked. I looked down at her name tag then back up at her face before returning a soft smile. "Perhaps, Chloe." I replied before walking completely out of the coffee shop.

I made my way through the streets in New York City until I found myself in front of Cale's Marketing. My fathers office building, walking in I am greeted by a couple of my fellow employees. "Mr. Cale's, I was hoping I would be able to have a moment with you when you came in this morning, You see I had the paperwork ready to be put on your desk and I..." I put my hand up cutting him off and I turned to him. "Mr. Baxter." I stated as I looked over at him, his face was red with worry and I could tell he was feeling a bit nervous. "This is the eighth time that my paperwork will be late, what is the reason this time?" I asked. Usually I would be angry, however. Today seemed a bit better than usual. "Well, you see Mr. Cale. I had to drop my daughter off at school, and I forgot it on the kitchen table at home." I cut him off again with my hand, "Please just next time let us know you will be late and go get the paperwork. I want it on my desk within the next hour so we can start preparing for the Friday meetings." I stated before walking into the elevator to head up to my office. Once I step off the elevator I start walking towards my desk, then I see my assistant out of the corner of my eye, she was filling out paperwork and putting them aside for her to put them on my desk this afternoon.

Around noon my father finally popped into my office, "I have some great news son." He stated as he clapped his hands together. "I have proposed a trip for you and Mae." He dropped a piece of paper off on my desk, I picked it up, read it then looked up at him. "Paris, you want me to go to Paris?" My father sat down in the chair in front of me. "Move there, actually. I want you two to run a new company there." He stated before turning to my assistant. "Order us a round of drinks...What will it be William? Let's celebrate." My father turned back to me awaiting a response. "Coffee." I responded after a moment of being in a bit too much shock. "Coffee, You want coffee?" My father turned and asked my assistant to order us coffee. She smiled and nodded slowly before picking up the phone. "What is this about father?" I asked as I stood up from my desk. "Is this about mother?" I asked letting my voice drop low. "Do not speak to me of her!" My father replied as he slammed his fist down on the desk. "It has been centuries, and I cannot take the sound or thought of her." My father growled "She was only human." "She was a nuisance!" my father shot back before regaining his composure, "And besides, a simple human has no place in our lives." "You have made that quite clear, but that is not my perspective." I sat down in my chair and flipped through my paperwork. The next couple of hours flew by with my father at my assistances desk chatting away with her while I work on my paperwork for upcoming events.

By Felix Mittermeier on Unsplash

1705

Rachel's POV

I walked through the Inn while listening to the rain, she drew in a deep breath and went to the back off the building. I leaned against the wall and wrapped my shawl around me, I had my first courting this afternoon and am waiting for the chaperone to arrive. I drew in a deep breath and turned to head back up to my room on the second floor, where I shall soon get ready.

Shortly after the chaperone showed up, my aunt smiled down at me as she helped me fix my dress for the courting. Not long after suppertime did Liam arrive, he was carrying a couple flowers, which I handed to one of the maids.

We went to a park field, where he pushed me on a swing for a little while. Then we walked the fields. He spoke of the weather, of flowers, and food. While we were walking I noticed out of the corner of my eye someone familiar I turned my head and looked at him for a moment, he was enticing. After a moment I whispered William, with the recognition of his features I didn't understand how I couldn't recognize him at first glance. He was staring back at me. He gave a small smile and nod before turning away from me, I wanted to reach out and touch him arm. To tell him it's not like this, to reassure him, but then I felt silly since we did not really know each other. However, I want to know him.

once the courting was over Liam brought my hand up to his mouth and kissed it. "Until next time, my dear." He whispered before turning and leaving. That night was spent with me laying in bed wondering how to meet with William once more.

Disclosure:

Thank you for taking the time to read my stories, I know they may not be much and are short. But I put a lot of love and work into everything that I write, so if you like this or anything else that I write please either leave a tip or share this story so that I can continue doing what I love and providing great stories and content.

Love

-Lily Ann

literature
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.