Humans logo

Rain 1.0

Short Story

By Lily AnnPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Rain 1.0
Photo by Filip Zrnzević on Unsplash

Willia m's POV

I walked through the pathway in the middle of Central park, I swung my cane forward and backward, while nodding at the people walking by. I check my pocket watch one last time before agreeing with myself that it will no longer work, I let out a soft sigh and turn to look into the pond in the middle of the park and I gave the near by people a small smile. I find it a comfort that they don't know who I am, a passerby, a stranger whom could take away all of their dignity at once, someone who could give them anything their hearts desire in an instant... But they will never know this. I give them a nod before turning and making my way out of the park and into a near by coffee shop, I walk over to the counter and order my usual double double, as I am waiting for my drink I walk over to a table and pull out my phone to scroll through my social media. "Ding" The door opens, leaving the bell to make its noise of the usual costumers walking in and out. "Can I get a large French Vanilla?" a soft voice rang out, it sounded familiar yet new to me. From centuries ago, filled with authority yet sounds so filled with caution as if she was unsure of herself. I looked up from my phone and nearly choked of the air that I breathed, "Rachel?" I asked quietly to myself. It couldn't be her, she had been deceased for centuries. I watch the woman stand against the counter one hand resting with her hand on her chin, her elbow on the counter. Her other hand tapping lightly on the counter as she spoke to the barista, I quickly bring my phone up and take a picture of the woman. Quietly hoping to myself that I would meet the woman again in the future, "Double Double!" the Barista shouted I got up and made my way over to the counter to grab my drink. After taking it I look at the woman, whom had her eyes on me as well. I smiled and nodded slightly before turning and walking away out of the coffee shop making my way back to my apartment.

1705

"May I see you again, Miss Rachel?" I called after her, she simply turned, nodded, then kept walking away. I smiled and looked over at my partner, whom was staring at me with a stern frown on her face, my lovely little sister now only a young seven years old. "Brother, who was that lady?" I shook my head, took her hand and started walked. "But bro.." I shushed her and kept walking, I had to bring her back to our parents house.

That night I laid in bed and dreamt of what would soon be my future.

Rachel's POV

I quickly made my way back to the Inn, Dodging people as I walked by. "Daughter, your home." Father stood in the entryway speaking to a couple of the Inn workers. I nodded and turned to take the food to the pantry where the cooks will be starting to prepare supper for our guests tonight. "When you are finished daughter, I would like to see you in my office." My father said calling after me, "Yes father..." I said in reply as I walked away.

Disclosure:

I hope you enjoy 1.0 as much as I enjoyed writing it, I appreciate the support and hope to continue driving my readers to continue. I encourage you to comment and give an opinion of my short stories, and to offer any ideas you have to add into any of my upcoming posts, or anything you would like to see me write about.

Rain 2.0 will be up in a couple days, it will be on the dinner event, and shortly afterwards. Again, if you have any opinions, or ideas for something I should write, let me know in the comments below. Much love.

-Lily

literature
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.