Humans logo

Only Advice My Father Gave Me About Dating - Chike

Chike opens up

By Jide OkonjoPublished 5 months ago 3 min read
Like

Nigerian singer Chike is opening up during a new interview about the only advice his father ever gave him about relationships, and speaking about why he prefers to date older women. Here's what the singer had to say about it.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox, so you don't miss out on any of the hottest things that have happened throughout the week. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

Speaking about advice his father gave him and why he prefers dating older women, Chike said:

CHIKE: The only advice my father has given me till date about relationship is "I no fit born pikin wey dey cry for woman," that's it. Most women cannot handle [a man's feelings], I'm telling you for a fact. The time you start finding a woman that can handle it, they are slightly advanced in age. You can't ex[ect a girl of 23 years. Imagine I’m running around with some 23-year-old, what’s she going to handle? What’s she going to understand? She just wanna take pictures and be on Instagram and tell everybody that she’s dating you. What are you unpacking to that person? Let’s be honest.

You can find people like that but that's when you now say "this girl is so mature", you find it in older people and then before you know it, you find guys dating girls that are older than them and you wonder what is going on. It’s because as a guy when you are getting to a place where you want a certain level of peace, it’s only older women that can give you that.

The past two relationships I have been in, they have been older than me and that's why there is no small girl that can say I have been DMing her. Nah. I mean, I'll probably just say ‘Hi’ but that’s it, it's probably not going to get past that. Because I know where it’s going. Our visions are just not the same. I feel like if I want to talk to a 23 year old now, it has to be a career woman who I can see this one is dedicated and trying to make something out of themselves. I have said it that one of my biggest fears is losing everything and right now, one thing that I know can make me lose everything is who I pick as a partner.

Thanks for diving into this story with me! Btw, every time you read, support, and share my work, it fuels my hunger to keep bringing you the latest news on your favorite Nigerian celebrities, movies, music and more. Your thoughts also matter to me, so please share them in the comments below, or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post. Let's keep the conversation going! I can't wait to see your thoughts on this.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

Btw, in addition to blogging, I also make money through Whatsapp Status Sessions. If you also want to earn money through status sessions, I've created a complete guide to help you get started so we can all eat! Download it here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.