Humans logo

One Year Lost

Is the gain worth the cost?

By Joyce KayPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
5
One Year Lost
Photo by Paico Oficial on Unsplash

Following a long year filled with turmoil and strife, would you accept $20,000 if you lost one year of your life? No one knows how long their time will ramble, but that’s what makes this decision so much of a gamble. If you knew you had 50 years remaining, you might take $20,000 for one year without much complaining. However, if you knew you only had five years to go, I suspect that to answer this question you would probably say “No”.

The situation that occurred for me, didn’t make this decision one that was easy. I was walking home from school one day, when I tripped on a little black notebook that was in my way. I picked it up to read, but this was something the mud on the cover really did impede. I rubbed it off with my sleeve, and out popped a genie, who said his name was Steve.

As he emerged from the pages, he coughed and said, “I’ve been in there for ages!”

This genie looked much different from the movies, especially since he was wearing a beanie.

“I will grant you one wish child, but the first condition is that it isn’t too wild. The second condition is that for whatever you pick, one year of your life will be gone really quick. If you don’t want to forgo one year of time, the most you can wish for would be a dime.”

I would forgo the wish if I could, but the fact of the matter was the past year had not been good. Dad had recently been laid off, and Grandma had developed a terrible cough. Lung cancer was the diagnosis, a few months to live was the prognosis. Without Dad having a job, we couldn’t even afford honey, so we couldn’t go visit her, we just didn’t have the money. Grandma lived in a completely different state, and when it came to flying to visit her, there was no debate.

I thought of the cost of flights, hotels, and food, and thought $20,000 should be more than enough for all seven of us, even our little dog named Gus. I sat and thought for one hour about the decision, as choosing to lose one year of your life is hard to envision. I decided, I would pay the cost, so one year of my life would be lost. I figured I was so young, I wouldn’t have to think about it for awhile, and it would all be worth it just to see Grandma smile.

I told Steve my request, and with that he reached into the pocket of his vest. He withdrew $20,000 in cash, handed it to me, and disappeared in a flash. I ran home to share the good news with my family, but told them the money was the grand prize for winning the spelling bee. Grandma was so happy when we came to visit, and although we were all very sad we did our best to hide it.

As the years passed and I started to get older, I couldn’t help but feel the weight of my wish on my shoulder. Would today be the day? I started to have anxiety, and nothing but remembering Grandma's smile could calm me. However, after years and years, I decided this fear could no longer stand in my way, because no one including me, can predict the next day.

Now here I sit, alone and 82 years old, and I often think about that one year I sold. I realize now that if push came to shove, I would do it all again for even a bit more time with those I love.

literature
5

About the Creator

Joyce Kay

Practicing creativity

Instagram: @joycekaywriting

Referral Link: https://vocal.media/vocal-plus?via=joyce

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.