Humans logo

One Thing My Cousin Did With His Record Label That I Won't Do - B-Red

B-Red opens up about his new label

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a month ago 3 min read
Like

Nigerian singer and rapper B-Red most popularly known for being a part of the record label HKN has branched out and started his own record label named Rednation Records. During the press conference announcing the label and its artistes, BRed opened up about why he feels competent enough now to start his own label, what happened with HKN, and what he'll be doing that his cousin didn't do with his label. Here's what B-Red said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

B-Red during interview

Speaking about why he's competent enough now to start his own label, B-Red said:

B-RED: Me being in the industry for so long, I've learned and followed the greats. I used to live with Wizkid, I've lived in Mo'Hits house for two years straight. I learned from the best. I learned how D'Banj and the Mo'Hits crew were doing their own thing. I learned how my cousin Davido, even if he's my younger cousin, I learned how he did his own thing with HKN music and also in DMW.

Speaking about what happened with his deal with HKN, B-Red said:

B-RED: HKN is still there. If you can see my Instagram, my Instagram name is still BRedHKN and the CEO of HKN is Chairman HKN. So this is how it all started: it all started with Chairman HKN which is Davido's older brother, me, my brothers Sina Rambo, Danagog, and DK, Shizzi too the producer. Me and Shizzi met in Mo'Hits house long time ago and I told Shizzi don't worry, I will take you to my cousin Davido. So that's how me and Shizzi met. So I won't say HKN is dissolved but I was signed to HKN for 6, 7 years and so my cousin got married so I thought okay, let me just give him a break. Because he has tried, y'understand. Let me give him a break and then we'll come back and link up together.

Speaking on artiste deals and what he'll be doing that his cousin didn't, B-Red said:

B-RED: Some artistes just like to rush and sign contract without reading. So I made sure they went through their contracts very well, and I gave them a very good deal. 60-40. Most people don't do that.

My cousin Davido, he never collected money from his artistes, never, and all his artistes became successful. He never did. But me, I wanted to do that at first, then I said wo, make I make my money oh! [laughs]

B-Red and cousin, Davido

Hahaha, me sef I no fit do wetin Davido do. Abeg, make your money B-Red 😂 What do you think of what B-Red said? And also what do you think of him now having his own label? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

Btw, in addition to blogging, I also make money through Whatsapp Status Sessions. If you also want to earn money through status sessions, I've created a complete guide to help you get started so we can all eat! Download it here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.