Humans logo

Olumide Oworu Finally Reveals How Much Was Spent to Make The Black Book

Olumide talks hit film

By Jide OkonjoPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
1

Nollywood blockbuster movie The Black Book is breaking global records. The movie directed by Editi Effiong last month became the biggest African title to stream globally on Netflix. According to Netflix, between September 25th to October 1st, the movie became one of the most watched movies globally on Netflix garnering 11.2 million views and a bewildering 21.3 million hours watched within that time frame alone. It also reportedly ranked number one on Netflix global.

In addition to the movie being such a commercial success, it is also being reported to be one of Nollywood's most expensive movies to ever be made. While these claims have been going around, nobody has yet substantiated it - however during a new interview with actor and cast member of The Black Book, Olumide Oworu, the actor revealed how much was actually spent to make the blockbuster flick, amongst other things. Here's what Olumide Oworu had to say about the movie.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox, so you don't miss out on any of the hottest things that have happened throughout the week. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

Speaking about how he feels about The Black Book breaking so many world records, Olumide Oworu responded saying:

OLUMIDE OWORU: I'm very excited. These are very exciting times for Nollywood and just being able to be a part of this next phase that Nollywood is going into, I mean, personally I'm very excited. I'm very honored. I can't lie. I still pinch myself. I remember like when the news broke that we were number one, I couldn't even sleep. Like I was fully just like in a dream state so to speak. It's crazy just where Nollywood is and the potential that we have to even be bigger than we are right now. It's amazing.

Responding to reports that The Black Book is Nollywood's most expensive film and finally clearing up if it's true, Olumide Oworu said:

OLUMIDE OWORU: Uhmm, yes. Arguably so. The budget for the film was about a million dollars and in my opinion, that's why the quality is so amazing. You can see that every department was very intentional in making sure that we got as best as we could in terms of output.

Speaking about if he thought the movie would ever become this big, Olumide Oworu said:

OLUMIDE OWORU: Part of why I accepted to even do the movie was because I thought it was a very audacious attempt. The script was good, the ideas that the producers had for the film were big from the very beginning. But again it's one thing to talk about a project and another thing to be a part of it and see the project do well after it's come out especially in such a short period. I'm just really so proud to be a part of the project to be honest.

What do you think about what Olumide Oworu said, how much was spent, and the movie in general? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

In addition to blogging, I make money through Whatsapp Status Sessions. If you also want to earn money through status sessions, I've created a complete guide to help you get started so we can all eat!

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.