Humans logo

Octavia

Chapter 1

By Jaamise TrimblePublished 4 years ago 33 min read
Like

Chapter One

“Octavia, can you please hurry up? I don’t want to be late, again, messin around with yo slow ass!” Athena yells up the stairs at me.

“I’m comin damn!” I yell back, grabbing my heels and running down the stairs. “I had to make sure my make-up was right. I cannot go to a wedding lookin crazy!”

“Whatever, you act like you gon meet somebody.”

“You never know.” I say as I wink at my older sister.

“It’s a hetero wedding, you’re probably going to be the only lesbian in the crowd.”

“You don’t know that sister, my dream woman may just be there. Besides its Tasha’s wedding I can’t miss it, she’d throw a fit.”

“Since it’s your fault we’re behind schedule you have to drive!” Athena rolls her eyes and locks the front door behind us and tosses the car keys to me.

“I don’t mind driving your car sister, I look damn good in this Charger!” I say as I climb in the driver’s seat of Athena’s custom tangerine orange 2014 Dodge Charger. The color of the car perfectly matched Athena’s never changing nail polish. Athena’s favorite color was orange and every outfit she owned had orange somewhere in it. As I stop at a red light she looks over and admire my older sister; Athena is 5’7, 150 lbs., caramel complexion with thick light brown hair. Athena is wearing tangerine orange dress pants, a sheer brightly colored floral top with a hot pink tank underneath and orange and hot pink 5-inch stilettos. Athena’s hair was flat ironed and spiral curled with the top pulled into a pretty orange flower clip and her make-up was natural and light.

The song on the radio changed and Athena turned up the volume. “Oh, shit sister!” Athena smiled as she danced to the new Iggy and J. Lo song. Athena and I sang and danced all the way to the church. I slow the car down and pull into the first parking space I saw even though the parking lot is empty.

“Athena, are you serious right now?!” I growl as we step out of the car.

“What?” Athena giggles. “Okay sister, I’m sorry but I didn’t want to be late. You always make me late.”

“Oh, my goodness,” I say throwing my hands in the air. “Can you at least help me with these shoes? My dress is too tight for me to bend down.” I ask waving her stilettos at her sister.

“Yes, even though nobody told you to wear the tightest dress you own.” Athena bends down and assists me in putting on my shoes.

I am 5’5, 145 lbs., milk chocolate, and thick with curly, natural black hair. I’m wearing a hot pink dress with turquoise panels down the sides and turquoise stitching with my 5-inch turquoise stilettos. I’m wearing my hair in a huge curly afro with a hot pink bow on the right side. As we straighten out our clothes and check our make-up in the car windows three of our closest friends walk up and we all walk into the church to

“Hello ladies,” a voice comes up from behind us as we find seats. I look up and see a gorgeous woman, 6’ tall, light complexion, her dreads pulled into a high bun, green eyes. She is wearing tan dress pants, a hot pink dress shirt and a hot pink and cream striped tie with tan dress shoes.

“Hi,” I reply just above a whisper, completely astonished at the woman’s beauty.

“Love that color,” the woman winks at me as she looks me up and down, “Maybe we can take a picture together later.”

“Maybe,” I feel myself blush as I sit down. Athena sits next to me.

“I guess I was wrong.” Athena says smiling. “And she’s damn cute.”

“Yes, she is. I wonder what her name is.”

“Why didn’t you ask her, stupid?” Athena says elbowing me in the side.

“I couldn’t speak!” I say staring at the mystery woman.

Athena leans over to the guy sitting to her right, “Hi,” she smiles, “Please tell me you know who that is over there with the hot pink on.”

“Yeah, gorgeous that’s Tasha’s cousin, Amber.”

“Oh okay.” Athena turns around and whispers in my ear, “Her name is Amber.”

“How do you know?”

“I asked, duh.” Athena rolls her eyes playfully.

“Amber,” I whisper to myself staring across the aisle. I am so distracted by this Amber woman that the entire ceremony comes and goes, and I can’t tell you anything other than the fact that Amber was taking pictures on her phone throughout the ceremony.

“Come on sister,” Athena says as she stands to leave the church. I stand and follow her.

“Sister you’re going to have to drive to the reception.”

“No problem.” Athena takes her car keys from me and walks to her car. I follow behind her. We get into the car and Athena drives to the banquet hall where Tasha and her husband are having their reception.

“That wedding was beautiful, right?” Athena asks.

“I honestly don’t know.”

“What do you mean?”

“I was so caught up staring at Amber I missed the whole thing.” I confessed.

“How the heck did you manage to miss Tasha walking down the aisle when she had to have crossed right in front of your line of sight?”

I sighed heavily, “I don’t know sister.”

“You’re pitiful,” Athena laughs as she pulls into a parking space. We exit the car, check our makeup, and walk inside. As soon as we get inside, we are greeted with drinks. I gladly grab a drink and sip on it. It was delicious. Athena asks for water.

“I wonder if she’s coming.” I say looking around the room.

“Excuse me, can I ask you a question?” I hear a man’s voice behind me and turn to see he is talking to Athena. I walk away to give them some privacy. I see Tasha’s brother and go to say hi.

“Hey O,” Mark says reaching out to hug me.

“Hey M, you clean up real nice.”

“I know, so when are you going to let me take you out?”

“I told you that when you get reassignment surgery.” I laugh

“That’s cold, O.”

“If you were smarter, I’d consider you for a possible donor but you're as smart as a box of rocks. And I can’t deal.”

“But, on the plus side I’m cute as shit, and funny as hell.”

“You’re a mess.” I laugh and begin my secret search for Amber.

“Where does Tasha have you sitting?”

“You know, I never even checked the seating chart.”

“Well, let’s go check it now.” Mark hooks his arm and places my hand on his arm. We walk to the table map. As I look for my name, I smell a familiar scent from behind me.

“Damn, I thought I had spotted the only other lesbian at the wedding, but I guess not. Who is this, cousin?” I hear Amber saying from behind me. I turn and Mark embraces Amber.

“Naw cousin, you right. Octavia, this is my cousin, Amber. Amber this should be my future baby mama, Octavia.” We all burst into laughter.

“I’ve been looking for you.” I say.

“I got caught up with Torry, my brother. He was trying to hype himself up to talk to the chick you were sitting next to.”

“That’s my sister, Athena. She’s probably sitting down somewhere sipping her water.”

“Yeah, he saw her and went over.” Amber takes my hand and kisses it. “I see we’re at the same table.”

“Yes, we are.” Amber walks me over to our table. We spend the entire evening talking and dancing.

***

“Athena, I’m taking your car tonight.”

“Why?”

“Because I don’t want to drive up in my Durango. It’s so damn big.”

“Ain’t that why you bought it?”

“What’s your point?” I stand in front of my older sister.

“I don’t understand why you would buy a car that you don’t even want to go out in when you have a date.”

“I bought the Durango because I love to sit up high and feel like I’m running shit.”

“Yeah whatever, do me a favor and fill up the tank before you come home.” Athena said handing me the keys to her Charger.

“Don’t I always?” I smile, taking the keys and kissing her cheek as I leave the house we shared. I jump into the driver’s seat and head to the restaurant. Music is blasting and I am nervous and excited. The restaurant is only a fifteen-minute drive from our house and I’m still managing to be late. I pull up and the valet takes the car and hands me a ticket.

I walk inside the restaurant and I’m greeted by the hostess, a young woman around my age, Caucasian, blue eyes, red hair, and freckles, very beautiful. “Hi, I’m late for my date.”

“Are you Ocean?”

“It’s actually pronounced Oh Shawn.” I laugh knowing that the woman is just repeating my name from hearing Amber say it. “But yes, that is me.”

“Your date is at the bar, and very attractive.” She winks at me.

I smile, “Well is it safe to assume that you’re ‘family?”

“Yes I am.” Says the woman as she turns and lifts her ponytail to reveal a small unicorn with a rainbow horn and rain stripes. We high five then she grabs two menus and walks me to the bar. “Your date has arrived ma’am.” The hostess says as we walk up behind Amber.

“Hi,” I say as Amber turns around in her seat. She stands up and smiles down at me.

“Hello, you look amazing.” Amber said as she kisses my hand. I get a whiff of her hair and it is driving me crazy already.

“You smell amazing.” I say under my breath. Amber is wearing a pair of perfectly creased, dark blue, denim jeans, a white button up shirt and all white Nike Zoom Hyperfuse iDs. I catch a glimpse of myself in the window as we walk to our table and realize we are dressed alike. I hadn’t thought about it at first. I was wearing a dark blue, denim, mini skirt, and a white tank top with my white and blue Prada Whip-Stitched Sling back Sandals. Amber’s dreads are braided into 4 cornrows with strips of denim tying the ends. I had on a white and blue headband pulling my natural afro back off of my face.

Amber pulls out my chair and then sat across from me. I smile at her and she smiles back. “I’m sorry I was late. My sister is always on me about being late, but I am a huge procrastinator and I let time get away from me.”

“No need to apologize, I was here early to get a drink I was beyond nervous.”

“Why were you nervous? I was the one who asked you out.”

“I know and I think that is what made me nervous. You know I didn’t expect to meet anybody at my cousin’s wedding. I didn’t want to even go but Tasha said she wouldn’t forgive me if I missed it.”

“Well I’m glad you did come. I’m waiting for the newlyweds to get home from their honeymoon because my sister and I have been friends with Tasha for over five years and never once did she mention you.”

“Word? I think she did it on purpose because she never mentioned you to me either.”

“I wonder why.”

“She knows that I used to be a huge player, afraid of commitment and probably didn’t want you caught up in my bullshit.”

“I guess,” I rolled my eyes playfully. “So, what’s different now?”

“I’m ready to settle down, get married and start a family.”

“I’m ready for all of that too. How old are you?”

“I just turned thirty-two a little over two weeks ago on Labor Day, you?”

“I’ll be thirty in just under ten weeks.”

“Scorpio?” Amber smirks at me.

“Yes, Virgo?”

“And you know it.” Amber orders wine for us and then we order dinner. We sit and eat, talking and laughing. After diner I realize I’ve drank too much and shouldn’t drive home. Luckily, Amber had a car service drive her.

“What do you want to do, lovely? I can have my driver take you home now or we can go walking on the beach.”

“Can we go back to your place?”

“Sure,” Amber leads me outside. “I’ll have my driver come back and get your car and bring it to my place after he drops us off.”

“Okay,” I hand my valet ticket over to Amber and get into the car of the Lincoln town car. Amber let down the window and the warm September wind blows against my face. “I really enjoyed dinner.”

“I did too, almost as much as I enjoyed staring at you all evening.”

“You’re so different from my exes.”

“How?”

“Because they rarely took me out and they would spend the entire night talking about sex and how they couldn’t wait to get it and typically I would have to pay for dinner.”

“That’s because until now it seems like you’ve been dating girls and I can assure you that I am a woman.” Amber leans over and kisses my cheek. I blush, her lips are so soft, and her cologne has been seducing me all night.

“And you smell so damn good.” I whisper.

“So, do you.” Amber looks me in my eyes. “I want to kiss you so bad but I’m afraid you won’t remember it in the morning and I definitely want you to remember.”

“Give me a little while and I’ll sober up.” I say knowing that it would simply take me getting into her place to sober up. The car stops in front of a huge house. I look out the window then back at Amber. “Are you serious?”

“What?” Amber smiles and steps from the car holding my hand and helping me from the car.

“This house.”

“What’s wrong with my house?”

“Are you renting it?”

“No, four years ago I came into some serious money from an investment and I cashed out on it and paid 75% of the cost of this house so that my mortgage payments would be cheap.”

“So, this is your house?”

“Yes, this is my house, my name is on the deed.” Amber bites her lip and smiles at me as she leads me inside. “I even own the yacht outside.” She opens the door and I fall in love with the house.

“Damn, I can just imagine the freak sessions you had in this place.”

“I never bring women back to my house.” Amber sits me down on a bench in the foyer and removes my shoes and jacket, placing them in the closet.

“Never?”

“Not one single woman, outside of close friends and family, knows my address. They make hotels for a reason.”

“So, why am I here then?”

“Because I have a gut feeling that I need you to get used to it.”

“Interesting,” I smile and wonder exactly what she meant by it.

Amber takes my hand and gives me a tour of her 6 bedroom, 7-and-a-half-bathroom home. Grand Hallway has 22 ft. ceilings and domed skylights, a dramatically beautiful hallway between the formal living, dining areas, library, and casual Bay front Great Room. The first floor has spacious view gourmet kitchen w/ street side door, elevator, laundry, maid’s room, 2 baths, fossil stone bar nestled at foot of stairway, and private courtyard w/ self-swim spa disguised as a lovely garden fountain. The second floor has Juliette balconies, banisters, and 2 curved stairways. Also, on the second floor is the Master Wing with large bay view deck, hers and hers master baths and closets, office, home theater, 2 en-suite guest rooms, exercise room and 2nd master suite. Superior quality stone, wood, wrought iron, and leaded glass details throughout.

“This is my favorite place on the entire property,” Amber says as she leads me to the balcony outside of the Master Suite. The view is amazing.

“This is beautiful.” Amber sits down and pulls me onto her lap.

“I hope you don’t mind if I just hold you for a little while.”

“I don’t mind at all.” I say as I lay my head on her shoulder cuddle up in a ball on her lap. I feel very safe. We sit for what seems like only a few minutes but is actually two hours. I feel myself getting sleepy. “Hey, do you think I could go lay down?”

“Yes, you’ve seen the rooms, sleep wherever you want.” She tells me with the great emphasis on “wherever”.

“Okay,” I get up and walk back into the house. I look at her bed then back outside at her as she was still in the same spot. I go back outside and ask if she thought my car was there and she assures me that it was in the garage and I can access it through the kitchen.

“Are you leaving?” Amber asks with a hint of worry in her voice.

“No just got to get something out of the trunk.” I smile.

“Okay,” Amber places her hand around my waist and walks with me down to the garage. I open the trunk and grab my emergency bag and bring it in the house. “What’s that?”

“Daddy taught us to always be prepared so Athena and I keep emergency overnight bags in her trunk. We have been known to go out and party and have to crash wherever we are and as our Daddy explained it to us who wants to wake up and have to drive home funky with bad breath?” She laughs with me and then asks me if I am hungry or thirsty. I tell her ‘no’ that I am just tired. She tells me to go ahead and get some rest. To leave my clothes in the bathroom and her housekeeper would wash them for me. I smile and head back up to her room.

I wash up, put four huge braids in my hair, put on my pajamas and climb into her king-sized bed. I start to drift off when I hear her enter the room. I turn over and look at her.

“Sorry, I didn’t know you were in here, I’ll go to one of the guest room let me just grab my pajamas.” Amber says apologetic.

“Why would you sleep in a guest room in your own house? I want to be held tonight. It’s been a long time.”

“Oh, okay,” Amber grabs her pajamas, disappears into the bathroom, and returns a few minutes later. I am asleep by then, but I feel her arms around my waist, and I cuddle into her more. “Good night beautiful.” Amber whispers into my neck as she kisses it.

“Good night,” I turn over and kiss her passionately. My hands explore the muscles in her back. She pulls me closer and deepens the kiss. Her hands grab my ass then she suddenly pulls away.

“I’m so sorry, I don’t know what got into me. I want to do things different with you.”

“It’s okay, I know exactly how you’re feeling right now. We both want to indulge in each other, but we don’t want to ruin the potential of whatever can happen between us.”

“Exactly, I can have sex with anybody, but I want to see what type of relationship we can build. Is it too soon to be talking about a relationship when we’re still technically on our first date?”

“I don’t even know but I do know that I want the same thing.” I kiss her softly on the lips, “Let’s just sleep.”

“Good idea.” I turn over and she holds me close and we fall asleep.

***

I wake up to the smell of bacon. I turn over to see Amber standing at the bathroom sink in a sports bra and boxer briefs. She is very curvy with an hourglass figure, big breasts, flat defined abs, wide set hips and thick thighs. If she wore one of my dresses, she could put me to shame. I notice she is looking at me through the mirror. I get up and walk towards her.

“Good morning,” she greets me after spitting into the basin. I smile and nod.

“I understand,” Amber says, she pats my ass as I begin brushing my teeth. I smile again, blushing. I finish brushing my teeth and then I wash my face. Amber is sitting on the bed watching my every move.

“Did you enjoy the show?” I say walking over to the bed.

“I did, how did you sleep?”

“I slept incredible. I need a bed like yours.” I fall onto the bed next to her.

“Okay, what size?”

“Shut up!” I say hitting her with a pillow. “Now tell me about this bacon I smell.”

“Lucinda is making breakfast. Bacon, cheesy scrambled eggs, waffles and fried potatoes.”

“Oh, my goodness, all of my favorites.”

“I know.”

“How?”

“You talk in your sleep.” Amber said laughing.

“I do not!”

“Yes, you do and all you talk about is food.”

“Are you serious?”

“Yes Octavia, I promise you, you mentioned bacon and so I was curious to see what would happen if I engaged you in conversation and I asked you about breakfast and that’s what you told me you wanted; bacon, waffles, fried potatoes and extra cheesy scrambled eggs.”

“I’m so embarrassed.”

“Don’t be, it’s cute and Lucinda was excited because not only are you the first house guest you’re the first to want what she calls a real breakfast.”

“What do you eat for breakfast?”

“I usually just have coffee, a piece of fruit and a piece of lightly buttered toast.”

“I don’t think I could survive all morning on that.”

“What do you usually have for breakfast?”

“Bacon or sausage, fried potatoes or hash browns, grits or oatmeal and some type of bread, loaded with butter.”

“Girl! If I ate like that, I’d be huge.”

“I’m sure that if you ate like me and kept up that workout routine, you’d be perfectly fine. Not that you aren’t now.” I say trailing my fingers from her knee, up her outer thigh, over her hip and up her abs before stopping with my hand over her heart.

“I can say the same about you.” She traces my body in the same manner as I did hers.

“I need to start working out then my stomach can be flat like yours.”

“Then come workout with me.”

“It’s just that easy, huh?”

“It can be. I mean I live out here in Belmont Shores but everything I do is in the Carson area. I know Carson better than I know anywhere which is why I’m surprised I didn’t meet you until my cousin’s wedding.”

“Well, I live in Carson, but we grew up in Paramount so we’re out that way more than anything.”

“Breakfast!!!” A voice comes through the loudspeaker.

“After you,” Amber says helping me from the bed.

“You’re not going to put on any clothes?”

“Why should I, this is my house.”

“True,”

“How about you take some off. I would love to see, never mind.” Amber stopped herself mid-sentence.

“I would but I don’t think it would be appropriate to meet your housekeeper half naked.”

“I understand.” Amber says reaching into a drawer and pulling out clean pajama bottoms. We walk down to the kitchen and are greeted by a heavy set, older Latina woman. She smiles at me so hard I blush.

“Oh, my goodness, the first time I ever meet someone Amber brings home and she’s gorgeous.” Lucinda gushes to no one in particular.

“Hi, I’m Octavia,”

“I’m Lucinda, but you can call my LuLu.” Lucinda is hyper and happy, hugging me several times before Amber speaks up.

“Lu, come on now, I’m trying not to scare her off.”

“I’m sorry mi amor, es sólo que las mujeres nunca casa estoy muy contento. Ella debe ser especial para usted para que usted pueda llevar a su casa.” I get completely lost and it must show on my face. “My apologies when I get excited, I go straight back to Puerto Rico and forget my language.”

“It’s okay,” I say sitting down at the table. Lucinda brings our plates to us and exits the room.

“When Lucinda was speaking in Spanish, she was saying that she was excited because I never bring women home and the fact that you’re here means that you must be special. And she’s right, you are special.”

“There is nothing special about me, Amber. I’m an average twenty-nine-year-old woman. I work, I spend time with my friends and family, I usually go to church on Sundays, and I want to start my own family one day. Nothing special there.”

“You’re special, Octavia, trust me.” Amber has a very serious look in her eyes that sends chills up and down my spine. “Tell me about your family.”

“Well, my dad was an only child and I never met my mother.”

“Huh?”

“She gave birth to me and disappeared from the hospital the night after she had me while my dad was at home with Athena.”

“So, she abandoned you at the hospital?”

“Yeah, my dad said he had to fight to get me back, that it took him almost a month to get me from children’s services.”

“Damn, I would’ve never known.”

“Yeah, my mom really messed my dad up. He raised Athena and me completely on his own. He started his own childcare as a means to financially provide for my sister and me while being there for us. Have you ever heard of Goddess’s Child Care?”

“Yeah, there are like six of them in LA County, it’s rumored to be the number one childcare franchise in America.”

“Yeah, that’s my dad’s company. Athena and I own and operate the Paramount location.”

“Funny, because I always said that if God blesses me with children and I have to put them in childcare they would go to Goddess’s in Long Beach.”

“That’s the best one. Daddy is there full time only travelling to the other facilities to check on us, randomly. Like there is no warning as to when he’s going to do what he calls a quality inspection he just shows up.”

“Sounds like a great businessman, he knows how it is when people get a hold of something good, they misuse it.”

“True, but not me, I’m his daughter.”

“So,” Amber threw a piece of bacon at me.

“Anyway,”

“So, did he ever remarry?”

“Well, he and my mom were never married. But it was hell, in high school Athena and I tried everything we could to get the man to start dating. It wasn’t until my senior year that we finally did it. I had my math teacher ask him to assist her in chaperoning senior prom. It was the beginning of the school year, so he was confused but agreed. She then spent the year asking him to prep for prom by chaperoning every other event we had. Two weeks before prom he admits to me and Athena that he never went to his own prom, so we convinced him to ask my math teacher to go to prom with him. He asked and she said yes. My dad and I doubled dated to my senior prom and he and Ms. Marshall were named honorary prom king and queen.”

“That’s super cool.”

“Yeah, they got married the year I graduated from Spelman.”

“That’s what’s up.”

“Now you,”

“My mom and dad were high school sweethearts, married two years after graduating from high school, Torry and me.”

“And or then?”

“Huh?”

“I didn’t understand what you said, did you say they had your brother and you or they had your brother then you?”

“Oh, no my brother and I are fraternal twins.”

“Oh,”

“Yeah, my mom is a twin and so is my grandmother.”

“Interesting,”

“How so?”

“I’ll tell you later tell me more about your family.”

“Okay,” Amber gave me the side eye but continued her story. “So, they had us, my dad joined the army and we moved around a lot. My mom got sick when we were like 10 and had to be hospitalized for almost a month so they sent my brother and I to stay with my mom’s twin, Tasha’s mom. That’s how Tasha and I became so close after that month I would force my parents to let me spend every school vacation with Tasha and they did.”

“That’s cool, so how is your mom now?”

“Man, cancer couldn’t hold her down she’s been cancer free for twenty years. My parents live in Texas now. Said they are waiting for me and Anthony to grow up and settle down because they are overdue for grandkids.”

“Sounds like my parents. Daddy says, ‘Octavia, you and Athena are gon lose the chance to have kids y’all keep playin and then I’m gon have to hurt somebody.’”

“Girl, you better get to it then.”

“No, Athena needs to get to it. It’s a much more costly procedure for me to have a baby. Athena can find a guy and get pregnant I have to pay for AI, sperm, and everything. Besides, I want to be married before I have kids.”

“I feel you.” Amber clears the table and I watch her every move.

“So, what do you normally do on Sundays?”

“I usually spend Sunday mornings in my office going over my finances. I have to do a few money transfers and look over my schedule for this week.”

“Okay, well let me shower and I’ll get out of your way.” I get up from the table and head towards the stairs.

“You don’t have to leave. What time does church start?”

“Oh, I missed this morning’s service. I’m just going to go this evening.”

“What time does that start?”

“At 5 and since it’s an evening service Pastor doesn’t go through the normal morning service routine; he likes to be home by 6:30 to eat dinner.” I say shaking my head.

“Would you mind if I came with you?”

“Of course not.”

“Well, what type of church is it?”

“It’s a missionary Baptist church.” I look up and Amber looks worried. “Oh, it’s traditional but not that traditional.”

“What do you mean?”

“Pastor Johnson is gay. He and his husband have been together for 30 years and was among the first 100 same sex couples to get married in California back in 2008. They are super cute and very loving.”

“Oh okay, so I won’t feel like I’m in a fishbowl walking into the church tonight dressed in my Sunday’s best?”

“Not at all. But I have to go home before the service to get dressed.”

“Or, we can shower, separately, get dressed and go shopping. Then we come back here, I do my normal stuff which only take about an hour and then we can chill until church.”

“Okay,” I head to Amber’s room to get my bag and then go into the guest room to shower.

“Where are you?” I hear Amber’s voice through the speakers.

“In the shower.” I yell.

“Which one?”

“Guest bathroom next to your room.”

“Okay, well I’m going to do my stuff now and then we have the whole day together.”

“Sounds good to me.”

“Do you need anything? Shampoo, conditioner, towels, anything?”

“Nope, I’m good.”

“Okay,” The water in the shower feels amazing against my skin. I close my eyes and it hits me that I have not spoken to Athena since I left last night. I know I should hurry up and get out and call her, but I am enjoying this water so much that I don’t want to move. I choose to stay and enjoy this amazing shower with all of its shower heads.

“Octavia, your phone has been ringing off the hook for about ten minutes now.”

“Damn, who is it?”

“It’s your dad.”

“Please answer it, tell him I’m in the shower.”

“Will do,” I hear Amber answer my phone. “Hello… My name is Amber, sir… Yes, I took your daughter out last night… No sir… I promise you she’s is healthy and alive sir she’s in the shower… Yes sir, I understand… No, I can take her the phone if you’d like… Hold please,”

“I’m getting out now.” I say turning off the water, Amber walks into the bathroom with my phone in her outstretched hand.

“Here you go,”

“Thank you,” I say taking my phone. “Hey daddy,”

“Octavia Nicole Emerson, how dare you be gone all night and day and not call your sister?”

“Daddy, calm down, we drank too much last night and I couldn’t drive home so Amber brought me home.” I step out of the shower and Amber hands me a plush robe.

“So, you got into the car with a drunk woman?”

“Yes, but she wasn’t driving.”

“Then who was driving?”

“She has a driver, daddy.”

“A driver? What is she some type of pimp or something?”

“No daddy, Amber is not a pimp,” I look at Amber and roll my eyes. She turns to leave but I grab her hand.

“So, she just has a driver?”

“Daddy, you didn’t call me to question me about what type of job Amber has.”

“You’re right I called because Athena said you were missing and had her car.”

“I’m not missing, I’m in Belmont Shores with Tasha’s cousin. I missed church this morning but we’re going to go this evening.”

“She’s going with you?”

“Yes, we are going together.” Amber and I walk into her room.

“Okay, well call your sister, she’s been worried.”

“Yes sir.”

“I love you,”

“I love you more daddy.” I hang up the phone and lay across the bed. “Sorry, my dad is overprotective.”

“I understand mine is like that too.”

“Let me call my sister.”

“I’ll give you some privacy,”

“You don’t have to leave.”

“Okay,” Amber places pillows on the floor and has me sit on them.

“Hey sister,” I say when Athena answers the phone.

“Where are you?”

“Belmont Shores,”

“What the--”

“I know, Amber lives out here. I was drinking last night, and you know how I feel about driving when I’ve been drinking.”

“I know, are you okay?”

“Yes, I sobered up before I fell asleep. I’ll be home later. Amber’s coming to evening service with me tonight.”

“Oh okay, so I get to see her?”

“Yes,”

“Do you think you can bring me my car before then?”

“I’ll see what I can do.”

“Thank you,”

“Oh, and if you ever have daddy call me like that again we will fight.”

“Well, I’ve been calling you since 1 this morning!”

“I never heard my phone.”

“What were you doin, fuckin all night?”

“Athena Theresa Emerson! No, I did not!” I am in shock that my sister is being so brass.

“I’m sorry but it’s the only thing that makes sense.”

“No, maybe I was drunk and fell asleep.”

“Is that what happened?”

“Not exactly but pretty much. I’ll tell you about it tonight.”

“Yeah okay, just call me when you’re on your way home.”

“I will. I love you, big sister.”

“I love you too.” Athena and I hang up. I look at Amber who is laying on her back with her head propped up on her arm.

“So, your dad thinks I’m a pimp and your sister thinks I’m a rapist?”

“No, you’re wrong. My dad is curious as to how you make money and my sister thinks I’m a hoe.”

“No, she doesn’t.”

“That’s what it sounded like to me, asking me if we were fuckin all night. Like damn we just met a couple of weeks ago and this was our first date. Athena knows that it’s been a long while since I had sex, but I don’t need it that bad.”

“How long is a long while?”

“Well,” I look at the date on my phone.

“It’s been six months, three weeks and four days.”

“Oh, yeah that’s a while alright.”

“How long has it been for you?”

“Not that long,”

“How long?”

“Three months and two weeks.”

“Oh okay,”

“Yeah, Tasha and Martin vowed to go three months without sex, and she dragged me in on it.”

“Awe, you’re a great cousin. I don’t think that any of my cousins would have done that if I had any.”

“You don’t have cousins?”

“My dad is an only child and like I said I never met my mother.”

“You never tried to find her?”

“I thought about it when I was in high school but then I talked myself out of it because if the woman didn’t want me around when I was born, I’m not giving her the chance to come around now.” I remove the robe and walk into Amber’s bathroom. “Sorry but I need to shower.”

“Oh, I thought,”

“I was enjoying the water when daddy called so I ended up getting out before actually showering.”

“Oh okay, well I’ll go into the guest bathroom and shower.”

“Nope, I just changed my mind, I’ll go back in there.” I grab my robe and run from Amber’s room. I step back into the shower and let the water serenade me. I wash my body and get out. I could definitely enjoy room mating with Amber. As I walk back to Amber’s room, she is standing in her closet with her towel wrapped at her waist and her back facing me. I resist the urge to run my fingers and tongue over the chiseled muscles in her back. I clear my throat and she looks at me.

“Sorry,” Amber blushes and grabs a robe.

“No need to apologize, I’m the one invading your space.”

“You’re not invading my space.”

“Whatever woman get dressed. Athena needs her car back.”

“Why didn’t you say something? I could’ve had the driver take her car earlier.”

“And how exactly is he supposed to drive two cars at the same time?”

“I’m sure his wife would’ve loved to drive my car and follow him.”

“His wife?”

“LuLu and Percy are married,”

“Oh,”

“Yeah, Lucinda responded to my ad for a housekeeper and about two months into working for me Percy was laid off from his job and I offered him a job as personal security. And with both of them working for me and being either at the house or at the office twelve hours a day I figured why not save them money and let them live here. They have complete run of the downstairs area. I never have company, until now, so I would always be in my room.”

“Wow, you’re amazing.”

“No, I just know that some things can be simplified and made to run easier.”

“Okay,”

literature
Like

About the Creator

Jaamise Trimble

Just a woman with vivid dreams.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.