Humans logo

O'Connell Bridge - Pt. 29

Christian lite - fiction

By Dub WrightPublished 5 years ago 9 min read
Like

LC and Seamus arrived at the private airplane terminal at 8 AM; Clarice was flying commercial but the two men were on the corporate jet. “This is the new one,” Seamus stepped on the gangway. This is a Gulf Stream 550; it gives Mrs. O’Neil a little more efficient miles. Plus it easily gets her from London to New York.”

While Seamus and LC settled in two more men dressed in business suits came aboard.

Seamus joked. “We hardly get in the air before we land; this is a quick flight and we are just being dropped off. These other guys are going on to Brussels. We’ll take commercial back.”

“Seamus, Clarice told me you came to Wilmington and saw me at Waffle House.”

“Oh, my friend, untrue. Yes, I accompanied Simmons and our Miss Clarice. But I did not see you. Well, I kinda saw the back of your head—you were seated on the other side of the cash register in a booth, but not facing us.”

“Why. And, why didn’t you tell me.”

Seamus fastened his seat belt. “Simmons said not to. Clarice shouldn’t have said anything. We were there just to make sure you saw the newspaper. Clarice wrote something on it, which I did not see.”

“You were sent to Wilmington to deliver a newspaper to me?”

“I only accompanied Simmons. We were in New York when it was decided, well, we were told to, fly down to Wilmington and then back to London. We got into Wilmington at midnight and left the next day at noon. We saw you at 6 AM, went back to the Holiday Inn, met with a company representative at 8 AM, and got to the airport by 11 AM. Simmons and Clarice were on the phone constantly, but I was sent to the lobby to read.”

“For you, it was just another city?” LC felt strange, almost like he had been cheated.

“I am a valet, I get paid very well to see to Simmons needs. Really, that’s as involved in the Corporation as I get. Serving you is a departure and my pleasure for this week.”

“Now I feel guilty. I’ve never had anyone to serve me. I’d rather think of you as a friendly guide. I take it Simmons is not married.”

“He lives with a friend. Gustov is a nice Slovak man who treats me well, although I am often in the way in their home.”

“So, you do not live there?”

“No, Missy, my wife, and I have a flat in Soho. Missy works for the airline and travels, I work for Mr. Simmons and travel. We often wonder why we bother to pay rent when we are so seldom home.”

“That’s tough.”

“Not really.” Seamus grinned. “When we are together, it is very special.”

“So you commute to work?”

“Not far. Soho to Notting Hill is about ten minutes by tube.”

As the airplane took off LC asked, “You said there was an agent in Wilmington that they met with? Someone was following me for several weeks.”

“I don’t know. I saw her briefly when she came in but I didn’t see her leave. A woman, that’s all I know, I just saw a glance, It was raining and the person was carrying a briefcase. I’m sure it was a female and I got the idea they’re not employed by the O’Neil Corporation, but maybe a broker or something, but I can’t be trusted her, cause I don’t know.”

“Could be my stalker, but who knows.”

“The only reason I know she was there for Simmons because I looked up when the desk clerk called the room and asked for him. I didn’t catch the name but I heard O’Neil Corporation. I was reading a novel and didn’t make a note or anything.”

“So, what are we seeing and doing in Edinburgh?”

Seamus shrugged. “Simmons said that Clinton, the company man in Edinburgh, will tell us. I just follow you around at this point.”

“Who’s Clinton?”

“Never met him. All I know is he is in real estate development for the Company. He looks after many of the properties. But, he lives in Edinburgh.”

“Properties?”

Seamus raised a finger. “Let me think. I know of rental units in England, The Republic of Ireland, France, Germany, and Prague. Though I imagine there are more. The company also has leased or owned property in New York, London, Paris, Berlin, and Tokyo. I only know that cause Mr. Simmons has spoke of it.”

Minutes later, they landed in Edinburgh. Seamus and LC walked to the cursory customs check and were greeted by a heavyset, balding man.

“Liam, I take it, and my notes say Seamus.”

LC held out his hand. “I’m Liam, and my friend Seamus is traveling with me.”

The man pointed to Seamus. “I’ve seen you before. Maybe Prague?”

Seamus blushed. “I was there with Mr. Simmons, yes.”

The man greeting them said. “Thought so, though I didn’t meet you. I think you l were just handing papers to Simmons, is that right?

Seamus nodded. “Correct.”

“I’m Clinton Bruce by the way.” He vigorously shook Seamus’ hand.

LC smirked. “You’re an American?”

Clinton barked back. “Damn right. Eleanor, I mean Mrs. O’Neil asked me to help with some rental properties and I kinda stayed.”

“Good to me.” LC shouldered the strap on his briefcase. “So where are we headed?”

“I was asked to show the city, and that I will. She also told me to carry you up to the university and show you around. I guess you’re interested.”

“I just graduated.”

“Makes sense. Anyway this morning we’re headed for old town, some really historic places. And you can walk around. I’ll wait in the car.”

“Good to me.” LC followed Clinton and Seamus out of the airport and got in the small car in the parking lot.

“First we are going to see a couple of castles, I think after that you will be fed up with royal stone works.” Clinton laughed. “Then we’re going to the vaults, have a bite to eat before we tour the University and stop by one of my projects.”

“We are at your disposal, although I haven’t a clue why I was sent here.”

Clinton looked over the seat. “Oh, you haven’t met with Mrs. O’Neil yet. Well, she just said for me to give you the tour; it will all be explained later I guess.”

“I suppose, okay onward.” LC looked out the window as the car moved through the parking area. “It’s really hilly here.”

“That’s why you’re walking and I’m waiting in the car.” Clinton laughed and pointed out the window. “If you look closely on a foggy night you might see the Loch Ness Monster fly by.”

LC knew he was joking and let it pass without comment.

After they were on the expressway LC asked, “Where you from in the US?”

“Born and raised in Chicago. Was a property manager for a big company there when I met the O’Neil family. They were looking for an office on the loop. At that time they were moving a lot of grain out of Midwest markets. Things came to pass and I was offered a position with O’Neil Milling and Farming Corporation to look after their many office holdings. And, to help them develop business properties, uh, like more large office buildings; Mr. O’Neil was a genius at leveraging Insurance companies and banks to build these magnificent structures. Then we, the company that is, simply took them over and managed the property. That became my job.”

“Okay, but how did you get here?’

“After the US sell off, all that was left was the investment group and the European property group. Mrs. O’Neil asked me to run Western Europe and since my wife is a Scottish lass, we came here. We run back to Chicago every summer to visit relatives, but other than that I live here in this old beautiful town and get to yell at my land managers. Those guy are the ones who actually do the grunt work of property management.”

“Wow.”

“How about you Liam? What’s got everyone so excited about you?”

LC felt his face warm. “Last question first. I don’t know, I’m just a pre med student, albeit I just graduated from a college in North Carolina. It seems for some unknown reason, Mrs. O’Neil wanted to meet me.”

“Well, she didn’t tell me.” He chuckled, “You know you might be being groomed for a staff job or something.”

“I rather doubt it, I mean I am pretty serious about medical school next year.”

Clinton pointed out various landmarks before they pulled into a parking area. “Okay first castle—Stirling. Have fun. I have some paperwork so I’ll stay in the car. Plan to be back here in an hour.”

Seamus and LC exited the vehicle and walked to the castle. After paying the entrance fee they followed a walking tour and eventually found their way back to the car. Clinton was dozing.

“Oh, hi. Just resting my eyes from the glare.”

Seamus and LC got back in the car and again listened to Clinton’s tour descriptions. Minutes later they pulled into Dunfermine Abby and Rosslyn Chapel and again Seamus and LC took the walking tour.

“Okay, now for the old city, we are going to the underground and the vaults. This area jumps during the night with all sorts of clubs and music.”

After a bumpy ride down narrow streets and a crazy parking spot almost under a dumpster, Seamus and LC walked up the steep grade to the underground area. A formal tour guide was conducting an official tour of the area so LC and Seamus pretended to look elsewhere and listened to the guide.

“Another castle coming up,” announced Clinton. “The big one – Edinburgh Castle. We’ll get lunch after you walk though.”

Seamus and LC climbed out of the car and trudged through part of the huge castle before they both decided they had seen enough.

“Red Coat café is nearby. Food’s okay, but we can get a pint and keep moving.” Clinton drove to the restaurant and the three men found a small table. “We’re going to drive through the University and then head down by the docks to look over a special project I’m working on; that’s not really part of the tour, but it’s something I need to do and Mrs. O’Neil is kinda pressuring me and told me to involve you. We’ll be about an hour or so until we need to go to the airport.”

“Good to me.” LC looked over the menu. “I think I’d be safest with the beef and mashed potatoes.”

Seamus pointed to the menu. “No haggis for you?”

LC shook his head. “Absolutely not.”

“You’d learn to love it,” Clinton sipped his beer.

After lunch they left the castle area and drove to the University. The massive school was spread over several blocks and each building had a distinct character.

“Sciences and Engineering schools.” Clinton waved his hand across the horizon.

“Beautiful campus. Where do the students live?”

“Aha,” said Clinton. “My project. But to answer your question there are what we call in the US dorms for undergrads but the graduate students kinda have to fend for themselves.”

LC looked out the window. “I live in a big old apartment house away from campus.”

“Grad students here do the same thing.”

“Yuk. How about health care? I worked for a hospital at home.”

“There are a number of hospitals in the area. The Royal Infirmary, first built in the 1700s, is connected to the University and serves the medical school for teaching and is the general place for students as well as community healthcare.”

“Oh?”

To be continued...

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Dub Wright

Curmudgeon; overeducated; hack writer; too much time in places not fit for habitation.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.