Humans logo

Nosa Rex Gets Honest About Nollywood Fame, Money

Here's what the actor said

By Jide OkonjoPublished 12 months ago 4 min read
Like

Nollywood actor and comedian Nosa Rex is one of the more successful upcoming actors in the industry. Nosa has been very fortunate to feature in a number of very successful productions including Jenifa's Diary, The Man for The Job, The Wildflower, Devil in Agbada, and more.

Now, during a new interview with The Sun, Nosa Rex opens up about the challenges he faced coming up in Nollywood, the very big mistake some older actors made, and what fame has cost him. Here's what Nosa Rex said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Speaking first about the challenges he experienced coming up in Nollywood, Nosa Rex said:

NOSA REX: Firstly, money challenges. You know, when you decide to be an actor; there are so many things you will pause in your life. I studied Mechanical Engineering and just graduated. I went for youth service and I am supposed to go and look for a job but now I want be an actor. Opportunities? Who will give you the opportunity that will give you that big break? We were playing one scene, two scenes; it’s been step by step, no jumping. I was doing it for fun… I enjoyed doing it, that’s why I’m still very much relevant till today. Basically, the key word is passion. I have passion for this game. It’s a career. This is what I use to feed my family, so it’s a very serious business for me. There’s no way you can move forward in this industry if you’re not loyal. Keep your pride to yourself. Be loyal and wish everyone well. What you think will take you into the limelight might not be the thing that will take you, so don’t look down on any script or character that’s given to you. The earlier I learnt that, the better for me.

Speaking about being popular but not rich, and the big mistake older actors made, Nosa Rex said:

NOSA REX: First of all, anything that will make me popular and not have money, I reject it in Jesus name. That’s the worst that can ever happen to anybody. I believe our elders in the industry made some mistakes, not intentionally though. There was no money at that time, that’s why some of them were popular but didn’t have money. But now, everything about the industry is monetized. I believe my generation has better ways and opportunities to make money than them… As for where I belong, I don’t know, I’m just a young actor doing my thing. I don’t know if I’m rich. I’m comfortable and by the grace of God I can provide for myself. I’m taking care of my family, I’m doing great, I’m grateful to God.

Speaking about the things fame has deprived him from, Nosa Rex said:

NOSA REX: Privacy! I have no more privacy, no more total freedom. Sometimes you are somewhere and you don’t want anybody to know, but it’s no longer possible. Fame is somehow, you fight so hard to get fame, but when you have it, you use faze cap and eyeglasses to cover it. I didn’t understand back then but now it’s very clear. There are some places you go to and you just want to sneak in and sneak out. But it’s what we signed for and we are grateful to God for it.

What do you think about what Nosa Rex said? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never end

In addition to running a blogging page, I also run a gaming Facebook group called "Jide's Games" where you can play real games right now to win big naira. To join the JIDE'S GAMES Facebook group, click here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.