Humans logo

New Craft that ended in labor of love.

Special Wedding Anniversary Gift.

By Terri RosallPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
New Craft that ended in labor of love.
Photo by National Cancer Institute on Unsplash

I can't believe some time I have to be in the mood do a new craft. I step out of my comfort zone. I really have a special craft on my mind to do this.

Well, I just got stepping out of my comfort zone by doing a diamond dot project. The reason why is that I want to do something special for my 25th wedding anniversary to my husband.

It was a diamond dot picture of Mickey and Minnie mouse kissing each other. It took me a long time it fine the one I wanted to do.

Finally I found it and it was the cost that of the project the sold me. It was free and everything came with the project.

When I got the diamond dot project. I didn't have a clue of what to do with it at first.

The first step was to take all the tiny diamond dots out of their bag and place them in the special case if came with and label it.

The next step was to learn how to get the wax in the pen so the diamond dots would stick to the picture. So off to You tube I go for how to do this to the pen. Yes I learned how to do this.

With all the colors in the special case and how to get the wax into the pen. I started the project. I was on a time frame to get this project done.

I had to have it do before our 25th wedding anniversary which was February 17, 2021.

It took many hours to do this and many of times wanted just to forget this project. I was sticking to the special pages when had the picture printed on it. Days spilled the diamond dots everywhere.

It made me mad at sometimes. I would not touch it for days. It just was driving me crazy as the days got closer and closer.

But as the days when on a this project. Something changed inside of me. I was not just project it was turning into a labor of love.

The main reason it turned into labor of love for me to do this. It was not just because of wedding anniversary. It was to bring a smile to my husband face.

My husband has Aggressive Stage 4 Prostate Cancer. This type of Cancer has no cure. It a true battle. Husband battles this everyday

At that I knew if I could get this project done it would bring a smiles to both of our faces.

I just had to do this now and get it done

The project was completed a few days after our wedding anniversary. But it was done completely

I placed the picture into a shadow box with things that we had done on our honeymoon. Our honeymoon was to Disney World of course.

It took me to a time that Cancer was not a part of lives. It was a happy time and it was just us two.

Yes it did bring smiles to our faces because we forgot about the Cancer he had. He told me that it was so sweet of me to think of a special time of lives when he was Cancer free.

This picture in the shadow box hangs in out bedroom in our house. When the sun shines on the diamond dots we are remind that our love for each other everyday that we have each other.

It shows that Cancer can not break the bond that we have. It was making us stronger for the battle.

Sometime when step out of your comfort zone you never know what it will do someone spirit.

It started as a project for our 25th wedding anniversary and stepping of out of comfort zone. That ending up being a labor of love in a time of darkness when we need a ray of hope and sunshine.

diy
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.