Humans logo

Never ending love

For those who’ve lost

By Karyssa WickPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like
The path to the meadow

as Magen sat at the kitchen coffee table I looked over at her, she was holding a coffee mug that said ,” girls will be girls” with a black silhouette of a women dancing with butterflies that were spread out across the mud. She sat there so perfectly, as her clear glasses frames sat so elegantly on her perfectly slim nose. I envied how her stunningly blue eyes shone so brightly from the frames. You could tell Magen was in her own train of thought as she looked off into the distance. She clearly had something on her mind.

I wondered if she’d tell me if I asked.. probably not. Or? Or maybe she would? Maybe something was bothering her. She took a sip from her coffee mug, that contained some piping hot tea I had just recently made. English breakfast- only the finest for us on the gloriously bright summer mornings.

Magen looked like a model5”9’ thin with just enough curve to make the boys go wild, she looked even more so sitting half cross legged in jeans that hugged her body in a magnificent way, and a beige cropped thick knit sweater to keep her cozy in the air conditioned loft. Her hair was in a lazy bun, but it didn’t stop me from being jealous of how drop dead gorgeous my bookworm sister really was.

I would kill for looks like that.

Me? I was 5”5’, curvy- not fat but not super thin. My hair is red which was almost at my but, my eyes are dark brown, almost black and my teeth are crooked. When we were made she obviously with favoured with our mothers genes.

“What’s happening up there mags?” , I asked taking my rightful spot on the oak wood countertop.

“Huh- oh well nothing really. I guess I was just thinking about how mum use to take us on adventure walks on days like today.. do you remember? I always wanted to go home and read my latest book but you- you were so adventurous. You’d take home whatever you counted as treasure.. Idk just a thought I suppose.” She says up straight and ironed any wrinkles out of her jeans with her finger tips, always so gentle and poised.

“I miss her too” it came out so burdened from my soul.

It was only a couple years ago that she passed. Our dad wasn’t really around it was just mum taking care of us. Her passing was so devastating to both of us, she wasn’t just mum, she was our bestfriend. She loved us, made us feel loved and worthy and capable of anything. She taught us never to settle for anything and we’d accomplish everything.

“I was just lost in a memory was all- I just wish I didn’t take her for granted is all. Wish I spent more time with her while she was still here” she looked down into her tea now, gently tracing the rim of the cup.

“Hey! It’ll be ok! I know it hurts, I wish we had more time with her, but we have each other- why don’t we make something out of that?” Hoping to cheer her up. I got off the counter and went to the stereo to turn it on. And upbeat tune carried over the radio and filled the room with music. I grabbed her by the hand and spun her around the room. We danced like fools for hours before we broke down and feel to the ground laughing.

She was feeling a huge weight lifting from her sisters shoulders.

I leaned over and said ,” why don’t we do our own adventure walk? Let’s pack a basket and go for a hunt- in honour of mum?”

Her eyes glistened at the idea, “oh Emily that sounds like a wonderful idea! Let’s get flowers for mum to and bring them to her” , she was getting up and getting ready quickly.

Within the hour we had everything packed and were on our way, we found some rocks, flowers, some change and other trinkets.

We walked through the meadow that was filled with millions of types of wild flowers running and making a day of it. We both needed this.

As we made it to mums grave we noticed something different. Something very strange that had never been there before. A tree of sorts.

we let it be and decided to talk to the owner of the site afterwards about it.

We sat for lunch and talked to our mum for hours laughing telling her we missed her and telling her of the day we had.

It was nearly 4 when we noticed the time. So we packed up everything and went to find the owner.

There was a note on the door saying they would be back in five minutes so we waited.

We waited for well over fifteen minutes and when she came she apologized many many times.

After talking for a couple minutes- just some small talk, I asked her where the tree came from. She turned around abruptly and said, “ you didn’t know? I thought you would’ve known”.

Magen and I looked at each other puzzled, “would’ve known what?” We said in unison.

“Your father. He came by the grave, when the assets were divided over a year ago a letter that was hand written from your mother told him to plant a pear tree at her grave. She told him to plant it in the next couple years so the two of you would always know there is always love and food where she is”.

Dad? So many questions flooded our minds.

“Your father said to leave him out of it after he planted it- he just wanted to follow her wishes because he knew you two were her world.” The owner said

“Wait,” she followed up as something sparked within her ,” I actually have a letter for the two of you!”

She rummaged through some paper until she found a ivory envelope, standard sized with both our names written gingerly on the top, in our mum’s hand writing. It read:

“To my two loves, my beautiful baby girls.

I hope you two are getting along, and caring for one another, I miss you dearly. If your reading this then I am no longer with you and it breaks my heart.

I wanted you to know, I loved you both more then anything else in this life and wanted to do right by you, by being there for you always. I’m sorry that I’m the hardest of times I couldn’t be there for you.

I have a suprise! A very fruitful one! (Hehehe) you know me girls, the adventure is never over!

If your reading this letter that means my wishes were carried out and the pear tree was planted on my grave.

I want you two to always know that my love for you goes beyond the grave, I want you both to be fruitful and loved, to always seek abundance and perfect for your lives. Come visit anytime you like, I’ll be looking down knowing your fed and well. Listening to all your grand adventures!

Never grow up Emily and Magen, you are rare gems in this world, don’t let your spark burn out

Love always, mum”

We went home and cried.

She found a way- years later to let us know she was still with us.

We stayed in watching movies, talking and snacking that night, but promised one another to do right by mum. She did it for us.

We promised to visit her daily even if only for ten minutes to tell her about every adventure no matter how small.

Ten years passed, we still went to the grave, the tree had been fruitful for the passed five years, we’d gone daily sometimes separately.

I thanked mum everyday for blessing us with so much.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Karyssa Wick

my self expression is embraced through the display of art in all forms.

I’m a cheeky little bugger and definitely prefer more raw and real style stories

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.