Humans logo

Наш дотик - Our Touch

How in a few weeks; my entire life changed for the better.

By Felix Malcolm-YoungPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
6
M @ Sofia, Bulgaria

Where do I start?

I travel a lot, meet new people, discover amazing places and live a full life; something that I have wanted to do since I was a child.

I didn't know my short holiday/travel plan would take such a swift turn for the better.

So after a few stressful weeks of work and wanting to escape into the rest of the world for a while, I booked my flights; no return, just a single to my first airport.

I got on a plane from England, with my destination being Bulgaria; but I had a few stops on the way (Stopping at another airport saved me almost £200!)

I was flying to Sofia, Bulgaria and would then be getting a coach to Sunny Beach; but I had a stop in Rome, Italy first.

The plane getting ready to land in Rome, Italy.

Rome is amazing. There are no words to describe how amazing I felt, it was one of the countries I had always wanted to go to but never had the opportunity; being there made me ecstatic and gave me a peace I'd never had before.

The coffee? Fantastic! The views? Beautiful! The streets? Breathtaking...

The Colosseum. HUGE!

"The Gate" - Truly astonishing stonework and made me incredibly proud of their achievements in construction and the attention to detail.

Breathtaking doesn't even describe how it felt to be there.

After spending 8 hours in Italy, I made my way to the Ciampino Airport and got myself prepared for another plane ride.

I smoke, it is a bad habit and I have actually not smoked in the past week which is a big achievement for me! This is the only thing smoking has ever given me. I went into the smoking area, and lit my cigarette; expecting to do my usual routine which is smoke > grab a coffee > plane ride.

I was wrong. Very wrong.

While I was smoking, a BEAUTIFUL woman came into the smoking room, she was weathered; she had beaming blue eyes and gave me a cute smile when she walked in.

I couldn't find my pack of cigarettes, so she offered Ukrainian cigarettes, which were a purple menthol packet; so, so, so tasty.

At first I refused and mentioned that I think my cigarettes are at the bottom of my bag; at that point she took a few steps closer and looked directly into my eyes.

"Look, take a cigarette; I have plenty and it's nice to be nice" ~ while smiling at me; I couldn't help but look in her eyes and felt a smile stretch across my face.

I thanked her, then awkwardly took a few steps back and started to panic; I had never froze when trying to speak to a woman, ever! I didn't understand... But I needed to know.

"Hey, where have you been? You look like you travel a lot" ~ Myself

"I've been to all these different countries, you?" ~ M

"It's my first time travelling in a while, I'm kind of nervous about going out of the EU, I'm not used to that yet. I do learn languages fast though so will become familiar quickly" ~ Myself

From this point, we started to talk, talk and talk.

She was Ukrainian! Spoke fluent English with really good pronunciation and seriously impressed me.

I showed her pictures of my hometown, as well as some of the places I had traveled and got to know her a little better; little did I know we'd end up sitting next to each other and talking the whole plane ride!

I make music. This was something she was intrigued by and asked to listen to some; I showed her videos of me singing, and introduced her to a few artists such as "Novo Amor - Anchor" (which is now OUR song) and she smiled the whole way.

She gave me some soft Ukrainian sweets - my favorite being the cherry ones!

The Airport in Sofia

When we landed in Sofia, she mentioned that she would sleep in the airport until the morning; and make her way to her destination.

The airport told her that she was unable to sleep there as they weren't letting people. I offered to pay for her in a taxi, the plan was for her to go to a hostel and me to go to my hotel; which were not far away from each other.

We got into Sofia City Center, and walked around; for hours.

We landed in Sofia at midnight, we spent until 6AM together; singing, dancing and walking around.

I told her I also did photography, and she offered to let me take pictures for social media; she honestly has a golden heart.

Sofia Square

The crossroads

We have a thing now, where if we find crossroads; she HAS to stand in the middle and begs me to take a picture. It's a memory of our first day together :)

Her Corner

She loved this corner, I don't know why; and I dare not to ask her because she gets angry anytime I question why she loved a corner so much aha.

Then, we exchanged WhatsApp numbers, and I walked her to the hostel she was staying at; and she texted me every 5 minutes to ask if I was in the hotel safe; once more proof she is a caring soul.

Мій польовий квітка

You are wondering what happened after, if we kept in contact?

Yes, we kept in contact.

A week later; she stayed at a hotel in Sunny Beach, Bulgaria with me for 3 days. We quickly gained strong feelings for each other and were intimate (not sexually) in the start of building a relationship.

She explained to me that she values something greatly, the feeling of touch.

That "touch" was the true way 2 souls connect, in tracing each others fingertips; palms, arms and more. It felt different

I'm so used to British Girls being sexually forward and they value sex as a key component in a relationship (at least the ones I have dated).

That never made sense to me, but touch did.

Наш дотик - Our Touch

I visit her for a week every month in Poland which is where she lives and works.

We are stronger than ever and talk every morning, day and night; always listen to our songs at the same time and I have actually learnt a good amount of Ukrainian & Polish.

She is supportive, she is strong, she is creative & determined. - She knows exactly what she wants and is not held back when it comes to expressing her feelings and emotions; if I do wrong, she will tell me and if she is proud or happy, she will tell me.

We call the start of our relationship "The Movie Moment" -~- Because that is exactly what it was; it didn't seem real, but we are glad it was.

Thanks for reading. If you want updates & more stories, please let me know :)

travel
6

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.