Humans logo

My Queen

I'm always be your side

By Ezra Scarlet Published 3 years ago 41 min read
Like

I sat with my body sprawled out with my head resting on my hand as I glared down. A certain male that stood behind this darn throne would not seize their scowling look.

“Your Majesty, if I may?” he exasperatingly mutters.

With a side ways look, “Again, the way I’m sitting is ladylike, end of discussion” I sassily retorted before returning my attention below the balcony.

“Again, I do not think it is appropriate for a lady, let alone a Queen to lazily perch across the throne” he scolds with his deep husky voice.

“Especially before her people” he adds with emphasis.

I glanced down at the people waiting expectantly for their Queen, as though they are awaiting for an answered prayer from god.

“Your Majesty” he calls again.

I closed my eyes in annoyance before glancing back at the man. I gestured for him to come closer and beckoned him to kneel.

“Alvis” I glare menacingly into his unusual red eyes while gently placing my index finger under his chin as I drew my face inches from his.

“Your lazy queen is hungry, grab me something to eat” I whisper into his ear in a gentle stern voice before showing him a sarcastic smile. His unamused gaze peer into my eyes before whispering back, “Your majesty, please conduct yourself as a Queen would”.

I chuckled at the serious mannered man before raising to my feet and made my way to the railing of the balcony. My sleeveless royal blue dress fluttered with the wind as I stood upright before the people. The bustling chattering people silenced themselves with the raise of my hand, much like puppets. I noticed an innocent child gazing up at me with complete adoration in their eyes, I couldn’t help but wince at the site.

I cleared my throat, “Hear me and hear me well people, today is a day for celebration as well as grief” I declared with a raised projected voice.

“As we all know of the events that occurred a mere two years ago that layed ruin on our kingdom” sorrowed regret swept into my words.

“We all know of the battles that our brothers and sisters bravely fought in to claim the peace we have today” I glanced down at the child once again, who still held the same look, it turned my stomach.

“Our pervious Queen, my beloved sister, lead our people to victory and bought peace to our kingdom” swallowing back a lump in my throat.

“It is thanks to their sacrifice that we live in harmony with other kingdoms, and so today we shall remember them” I say on the brick tears before backing away from the balcony. With one final glance at the adoring child, a sense of heartbreak washed over me as I clenched my jaw.

“Well don-” I rushed past Alvis before allowing him the chance to finish. I felt a wet sensation on my cheek, a single tear fell to the ground as I felt myself drown in sorrow. The need to be alone washed over me as I locked myself in the nearest room. In the silence of this dark room, a whimper was all it took before floods of tears ran down my face. The room was filled with the sounds of my sniveling and bawling.

If only I was the one who died two years ago, she’d still be alive. She’d still be here in our beloved garden that we grew together as mere children.

I could only hear the sounds of my hurting heart as it longs for my sister. As I sat on the cold tiled floor with my knees to my chest, I looked out the window into the vast never-ending light blue sky as I sat in the never-ending darkness of my heart. I knew she was on the other side of that heavenly sky, looking over her beloved kingdom.

I’m merely a ghost of what she could’ve been as Queen.

I hold no strong emotions towards this kingdom as she once did, merely indifference. I heard a knock on the door which I correctly assumed was Alvis. With a heavy sigh, I straightened myself up and wiped away the trails of my tears before having one last quick glance at the sky. I walked out to meet with the towering red-eyed man who bared an expression of solicitude. I raised my hands to my hips and met his eyes with a smirk across my face.

“Why do you look so concerned? You hungry too?” I say blissfully, attempting to lead him to the kitchen. I was honestly hungry.

I felt myself being jerked back by his monstrous strength, what the hell does he eat for breakfast! Before I knew it, I found myself backed against the door inside the room. His arms stretched out to both sides of me, trapping me underneath him. I found this amusing, I thought this type of acts were only found in romance novels. I wasn’t gonna submit to his intentions so I stood there upright with my chin leveled.

His red eyes glistened in the suns rays peering through the window, his lavish features displayed a scrutinized expression.

“Were you crying again?” he quietly mumbled. I was taken aback by his question, even so, I did not break eye contact.

“No” was all I said as I tried to push him back. I was really hungry at that point. He didn’t say anything else as he backed away allowing me to move freely.

“I’ll go make you something to eat and bring it to you” he says in a quite voice with his head looking away as I opened the door. I smiled at his gesture, “come here” I gently ordered. I raised my hand and ruffled his jet black pushed back hair.

“You’re a good boy, thank you for being concerned, I’m really okay” I say easing him.

To my surprise his hair was actually wavy, I never noticed as he always pushed back his hair. I detected a slight small blush as I took back my hand from his head.

As I walked away, I added, “I’ll be in the throne room, I still have work”. He nodded his head and bowed his head as I exited. I noticed heat spreading across my face and the rapid beat of my heart.

I recalled his face inches from mine, as the light accentuated his gorgeous features while his body effortlessly overpowered mine. My lips still tingled at the sensation of his breathing inches away. I pushed those thoughts deep inside my mind before recomposing myself.

I entered the throne room and to my devastation, a long line of attendees, ambassadors, lords and almost the whole workforce waiting. In that moment I really wanted to be with my sister. I sat upon the throne in my usual sprawled out positioned as I listened to the concerns of these people one by one. Alvis, entered the room to find me in what he calls to be an unladylike position. He stormed over to me, as I waved to him with a joyous smile.

He was not happy, “Your majesty” he says with an angry undertone, “Sit properly” he orders. I gestured for a guard to bring a chair.

“Here, have a seat, you seem tense” I suggested to him with a smile while not moving from my current position. I think I saw his strands of his hair stand up, I chuckled at the sight.

“Fine, if you won’t listen, then I’ll simply put back the food I cooked” he unreasonably argued. Without another word, I complied while casting him ‘ are you satisfied’ look. He nodded in victory and I simply rolled my eyes. I heard a cough from the lord who was speaking.

“Yeah, continue, I’m listening” I said to him.

After having spent listening to nothing but complaints for what felt like to be years, I am finally in my room in the comfort of my night gown eating the food Alvis made for me. I glanced outside my window that overlooks the garden my sister and I grew. The moon light above it gives the illusion of a mythical world that none can enter.

I sprang to my feet as I rushed down the stairs leading to the garden. Without regard for shoes, I sprinted across the dirt towards the swing that hanged from the tree on top of the hill overlooking the garden. Just as I had dreaded, the rope snapped, leaving the swing alone on the cold dirt. That swing was what my sister and I made together, she was the rope to my wood. She was strong and reliable while I was simply plain wood.

I shivered at the coldness of the moon lit sky as I relived the memories of my sister. A swell of pain washed over my body as they rushed out in the form of tears. I dropped to my knees as the wind simply gushed by, leaving me with my loneliness and pain.

I heard the sounds of a stick snapping from behind me. A man with alluring red eyes in a plain white t-shirt that hugged his muscles almost too perfectly and black tracksuit pants walked towards me. At the first sight of me, he ran and without a word he pulled me into his arms. My throat was quivering from my tears and my body felt weak and cold.

For that moment, I just did not have the mental strength to push him away, I didn’t want to be alone.

A small part of me was relived that Alvis is the one with me, the one holding me. His hand held the back of my head as the other was around my waist as he held me closer to his chest. His warmth spread throughout my body as I let myself be vulnerable. He carried me in his arms to my room, as I surrendered to the solace of his arms. He laid me down and laid the covers over my cold body. His hand softly caressed my cheek before gently patting my head and turning away. I reached up my hand to grab the corner of his shirt.

“Wait” I said softly, “could you please stay?” I nervously asked him. I felt myself blush.

“Never mind” turning my head away in embarrassment.

I heard footsteps walking away and nearing again, I peeked at what he was doing. He placed a chair beside my bed and flopped down with arms and legs crossed.

“I’ll stay as long as you want me to” He says softly with a gentle comforting look. A swell of tears came rushing out, “I’m sorry, did I say something wrong? I’m sorry” he utters in a panic. I chuckled at him, I turned around to face him.

“Thank you” I said looking up at him. He looked down at me with a sense of relief in his eyes.

A sudden sense of realization swept over me, I was only wearing a red short sleeve v- cut silk night gown that went down mid thigh. He noticed my panicking expression.

“What’s wrong?” he asked as he leaned over me from his chair.

“Nothing” I said back quickly.

He didn’t see anything did he? Should I change? No, that would make it obvious. I just have to hide under the covers. Wait, what about when I fall asleep? I sleep like a drunk, my blanket won’t stand a chance. New plan, I pretend I’m sleeping, I’m such a genius! Pat on the back.

I snapped out of my thoughts to look at him who was reading a book while looking up at me every so often. He has quite long eyelashes, they stand out against his red eyes. It’s cute they way he furrows his eyebrows when he’s conflicted. I noticed that he let his hair down, his wavy hair somehow hugged his face perfectly. It was breathtaking how his wavy bangs never quite cover his eyes, almost like a drawn back curtain. The way he smiles is adorable, makes me way squeeze his cheeks playfully. A man sculpted by the angels, no, by god himself.

I must’ve stared too long since a blush spread along his face as he noticed my dazed face staring at him. He was surprisingly shy, “Sorry, I thought I would read till you fell asleep” , I sat up to ruffle his hair, it felt soft under my fingertips.

“No, sorry, you can read, don’t mind me” I responded as I looked at him with grateful eyes.

“Your majesty, if I may?” he politely asks, with a nod he asks me.

“Why were you crying?” with a sympathetic expression. I glanced down, drawing the blanket over my shoulders and leaning back on the bed frame.

“I miss my sister” I softly muttered out. As if he heard the cries of my heart, he vaulted onto the bed and pulled me into his embrace.

“You’re gonna make me cry again” I whimpered as I leaned my head down onto his chest.

“Then cry, I’ll be here” he whispers into my ear. As if on command all my tears came, like a broken dam. My hands clutched hard onto his shirt, in which he held me closer in response. With a single hand, he came under the covers with me which only bought me even closer to him. For the first time since my sister passed away, I didn’t feel alone.

The morning sunlight leered through the window, waking me up. I felt well-rested and light which was not the norm for me. I heard breathing of another beside me, in which I realized that I was still in his arms, that still held me tight. I heard him mumble your majesty in his sleep, I found that unbelievably endearing.

I wanted to change before he sees me in my nightgown in this sun, except his monstrous hold of me is preventing me. Is he even human!

“Trying to run away” I jumped in my skin at the deep voice from behind my ear. I slowly turned my head with my fastening heart beat.

“You’re awake…” I said in low alarmed voice, what am l gonna do! I could stay in bed till he leaves but what if he makes me get up with him. He loosened his hold of me, allowing me to move at last. He stretched his body outwards which highlighted his masculine figure.

“You’re not gonna get up?”, peeking his head back at me. My heart stood at a standstill, “I’m gonna stay a bit longer” I stated as sternly as possible.

He grabbed his book before walking out the door with a wave. I felt like I could breathe again, I swiftly sprang to my feet before he changes his mind to come back. I looked back at my bed, which I all of a sudden missed so I hopped back in and nodded to sleep.

It must have been at least an hour, since Alvis now fully dressed in his usual professional attire is standing above my bed with crossed arms. The only difference is his hair which was not pushed back but instead styled similarly to how it was last night.

“Your Majesty” he began, “What are you doing?” as he leaned down above me. I looked up at him before pulling my blanket over my head.

“I’m having the day off” I yelled out under the covers.

“Who the hell decided that?” he shouted back in an increasingly angry tone. “The damn Queen” I sassily screamed back.

I’m feeling good for once, I do not want to ruin it by going to work. I felt him pull the covers and I responded by pulling back. In game of tug of war, he wins by a milestone, why would I even try to win. He dropped the covers beside him on the floor, it was then that I finally realized that I did not change out of my night gown. I moved my hand down as quickly as I could to make the gown longer while also attempting to cover more of my chest with my other hand. I rolled off the other side of the bed and used it to hide.

I peeked up at him and to my amazement he was blushing red from ear to ear, he was struggling on what to say so instead he just threw the covers back on me. He turned to walk away, “Just get ready” he said in a small voice before walking out.

I was definitely awake now.

I met with him again in the throne room. I wore a red off-the-shoulder mermaid dress with my hair down for a change. My slivers earring swayed as I walked with my sliver ankle-strap high heels. If I wasn’t gonna stay in bed then I might as well dress how I choose. I held back a small laugh at the flushed impression on Alvis’s face. I sat back on the throne with my legs over the other as my arms rested beside me.

“You look beautiful” he whispered under his breathe. I glanced up at him by my side, “I know” I boldly whispered back with a wink. He looked away to hide his blush before recomposing himself.

A lean man knelt down, “Your majesty” he said politely bowing his head. I signaled him to raise to his feet before allowing him to continue.

“The crops of which I grow to supply the kingdom have been destroyed by the severe weather as of late” he explains.

“I’m guessing the reserved crops are limited in supply?” I questioned, he nodded in response.

“Send people out to neighboring kingdoms to spare some” I started, “In the meantime, I want you to use some of my guards to build a shelter for the crops to avoid this in future, but only leave the roof unsheltered for sunlight and cover it in times of storms” I explained to him.

The man looked up at me with gratitude, “Thank you your majesty, we’ll get started right away”.

I waved him goodbye before the next person who was a woman who looked to be deprived of sleep. She has knelt down just like the man before her, I gestured her to stand back up.

“What are you here for lovely lady?” I asked her politely, she looked up at me with the same eyes as the man. I felt sickened to my stomach that’s how they all see me, I don’t deserve their gratitude. She moved her mouth to speak, “My sister was kidnapped while she traveling to a neighboring kingdom to visit family” she says in a heartbroken voice.

My heart felt her pain, “What are they asking for to get her back?” I asked as I leaned back, she choked back on her next words. I stepped down the stairs to stand before her, “It’s alright, you can tell me” I said softly before hugging her.

“What are they asking for?” I gently repeated. She diverted my eyes before whispering, “…your life and throne” I smiled back at her while nuzzling her cheek before sitting back up on the throne.

“Thank you, I’ll take care of it” I assured her. I noticed a pair of red-eyes filled with concern watching me.

“I’m fine, Alvis” I told him softly.

After the throne room was emptied, I jumped to my feet and walked towards the window looking out over to the kingdom. I took notice of two siblings chasing a ball, one fell over while the other took care of their siblings bleeding knee. My eyes softened at the sight.

“You’re not actually thinking of rescuing that ladies sister, are you?” started Alvis, I looked back at him.

“I’m actually thinking of what to eat” I answered him with a smile.

“Don’t lie to me” he dimly replied, with a small smile I said, “I feel like ice cream while walking through the hot streets, wanna come?”.

His red-eyes filled with concern softened, seeing how I wasn’t going to answer, “Yes, it’d be a pleasure”.

I sauntered closer to him where I could daze into his red eyes that hid the fears of his heart. I reached my hand up to tousle his wavy black hair, “I like your hair like this” I softly mentioned.

He grabbed my wrist from his head and pulled it down to his mouth while maintaining eye contact as I felt the intensity fill the air around us. I could feel his soft breathe tickling the skin of my palm as he tenderly landed a soft kiss. I felt myself go red as I slipped back my hand.

“I’ll meet you by the gate”, I whispered in a low shaky voice as I walked past him.

Once in my room, I jumped onto my bed and screamed into my pillow. I looked in the mirror and saw the redness of my face, I felt panic sweeping in. Why did I say that? What the hell was I thinking? He kissed my hand? He didn’t like me touching his hair? This is not like me, calm down. You may be an idiot who only thinks about food but you are not in love. That’s what I told myself so why am l a tomato right now?! This tomato needs to change cloths.

Soon after I met with Alvis by the gate in a sleeveless flowery patterned sun dress with scandals and my hair in a ponytail, I looked up at him who was still wearing a suit.

“They’re gonna know I’m the Queen if you wear that” I say nonchalantly. His eyes surveyed the dress I wore, he gave me a small smile before opening the gate for me.

“We ain’t leaving till you change into normal cloths” I added.

He gave out a sigh of defeat, “I don’t want to keep you waiting so you can come with me” he tells me before walking back into the castle.

I ran behind him to catch up as he lead to me to his chambers. He opened the door for me to enter first before following behind me.

“One moment” he says before walking towards his closet. He begins to ruffle around before deciding on what to wear. Before I knew it he was casting away his jacket and white button up shirt, I couldn’t help but stare at his robust body. He caught me before smirking.

“Like what you see, your majesty?” he teases. I blushed at his joke, “haha very funny, hurry up” I said in a sassy tone. I saw that he grabbed another one of his white t-shirts from the other night. I walked towards his closest, “I knew it” I announced, turning to look up at him.

“Why is everything in here white shirts?” I asked. He chuckled at me.

“White reminds me of you” he says flirtingly while tilting my chin up and stroking my cheek.

I grabbed the shirt from his hand and forced it over his head before finding a pair of jeans and tossing it at his face, “I’ll wait outside” I said in a weak voice before storming off.

“Aw, I hoped you’d stay” he laughs, I slammed the door behind me in response. I need to quit this blushing business, it’s not helping anyone.

I took this chance to sneak away before he was done changing, I told the guards not to tell him where I went. He would never let me go if he knew. I made my way to the gate at the back of the castle that was rarely used where Kara, my horse was waiting for me with a small bag filled with a change of clothes and a sword. Kara was a beautiful horse, she had the most wonderful shade of black as her fur and the most soft honey brown eyes. I rode off before Alvis could even think I was missing. I made my way to the kingdom where the kidnappers stayed. I calculated it would take at least half a day to get there, thanks to Kara. If I’m gonna need to make a quick get away then I need the Kara to be well-rested.

I patted her as we rode away, “It’s gonna be a long day for the both of us” I said to her as she neighed in response

. He’s gonna be so angry.

We made camp at a secluded area near by a shallow river stream. I fell asleep against Kara who kept me warm as the evening approached. The silent air was filled with the sounds of crickets as the moon rose with the night stars. I heard the rustling of bushes and soon enough a shadow loomed over me. Kara instantly rose to her feet to protect me. My heart dropped at the recognizable male figure as the red-eyes shone through the moon lit night. I stepped back at the intense ferocity of his anger, it was overwhelming.

I really did it this time.

Kara realized the familiar male as she layed back down. I knew all too well that attempting to make a get away with Kara from him would be pointless. I would have a better chance with the kidnappers. He clenched his jaw at my frightened expression as I leaned back against the tree. I noticed his horse, Thor, nibbling on the grass behind him. That would explain how he got here so fast, Thor was our kingdoms fastest horse with Kara as the second.

“Stop” he said out of nowhere.

“Don’t even think you’re getting away” as he stormed over to me. I glanced up at him as I saw the fear and anger in his eyes, I have never seen him like this.

“I understand why you’re doing this, I do” he choked out through his confliction. “But I need you to go back” he adds softly before backing away to Kara.

“No” I softly murmured.

He looks back at me with the most heartbroken eyes at the single word I now regret blurting out.

“I don’t want to abandon that woman’s’ sister” I continued in a quiet soft voice as I felt the tears forming, “I don’t want to…”. I saw him clench hand into a fist as he spat out with desperation, “What if you got hurt? or even killed?” as pinned me back against the bark of the tree.

My ears rang at his words, am l so powerless that I can’t protect anyone? As if he could read my mind, he says, “You’re the furthest thing from weak” as he breaks down in tears in front me, “I’m the weak one” he painfully whispered out.

I sensed myself drowning in his sobbing red eyes, I didn’t understand how he still looked so beautiful.

“I can’t lose you, I really can’t” he endearingly says to me with tears in his eyes.

I wiped away his tears before uttering, “I’m the reason my sister died”. His eyes widen at my confession, “I was unbelievably naïve in thinking that I compete with her” as I grimaced at my ugliness.

“I followed her into war as though it was a game” the wind whistled past us as my hair flew with it.

“ For a single moment I let my guard down, and…” I broke off weakly as I clenched his shirt as I dropped my head against his chest, “and in that moment, my beloved sweet adorable sister was gone” I yelled out.

“She was gone, Alvis, in my arms, all because she protected me” I roared out in the silence of the night. I dropped to the ground as he remained standing stunned at what he heard.

“So please, Alvis, please, let me be the one to protect someone please” I pleaded as I looked down at the ground with tears falling down. “What about me?” he whispered in a sad tone, “Who’s going to protect me?” he breathes out as he knelt down on the floor.

Silence swept between us and in a moment his mouths to me a low voice, “I love you” as he wiped my tears. I heard something in me snap as my mind relived the moment of my sisters final breathe.

“You love me” I chuckled out, I looked up with a glaring eyes, “don’t say that” I felt anger growing in me, swelling and building.

“You could’ve had a kid right now if it wasn’t for me” I looked at the floor as I felt the pain of my words, “They would be calling me auntie, Alvis, not mother” I whipped my head up at the unbearable swell of emotions, “ I wouldn’t be your girlfriend, your wife or even your Queen if she was still alive” I roared out as I rose to my feet. “Don’t you dare say you love me, you love my sister Alvis” I told him as I felt the dying scream of my heart.

He looked up at me with those red hurt eyes, the eyes that burnt my heart into ashes by the pain I’ve caused. I walked around him to Kara, “Alvis, go home” I whispered coldly before riding off into the darkness.

I looked back at his still perched body, frozen still. Unable to hold back anymore, I bite into my shirt as I screamed away my pain as much as possible as tears rained down my cheeks.

I can’t lose you either Alvis.

Soon enough I reached the rendezvous point where I found the tied up woman. I drew my sword as I guarded myself not knowing where the enemy might be. A man leapt out of the tree with a drawn sword with the strong intent to kill. I jumped off my horse as Kara ran to the woman, biting off the rope just as I trained her to do.

“Climb the horse” I shouted at the woman as she complied with shaking hands. “Kara, go” I ordered her as I defended myself against the man.

As if on que, a group of five more men leapt out of hiding as they surrounded me, “I’m guessing you’re the queen, judging by the name of your horse?” a man spoke out. I was not stupid enough to answer their question, as they creeped closer, they continued speaking, “Do you have any idea how much we lost from that war you royalty started?” one shouted out in heartbreak.

I grimaced at the familiar feeling, one jumped out at me which I easily deflected. It occurred to me that these men were novice swordsmen so instead they used numbers to counter that weakness.

They were normal men who lost everything to live for. I felt sick to my stomach for not knowing how to help these men. This was a fight I could win, even so, it would be a pointless win. I slowly backed away and quickly ran back into the forest as I whistled for Kara assuming she left the woman at a safe place. The men ran after me as they spread out in aims to trap me from every direction, thankfully Kara got to me in time. They surrounded me from every direction with their swords drawn high leaving them wide open. One struck Kara, leaving a long wound across her side, “DON’T” I screamed out as I put my hands out to protect Kara.

“I’ll listen, just don’t hurt her, let her go” I pleaded them, Kara neighed at my words as if I understood what she said, “Kara, I’m sorry for bringing you, please go home okay? Take that woman” I told her softly as I stroke her head gently, “Please” I added. With that she ran off into the forest, she’s such a smart loving girl.

I returned my attention to the men surrounding me with my sword in front. Two were dumb enough to both attack me leaving themselves defend less as I stroke them down. The remaining three growled at me.

“They’re not dead” I said coldly as I glared down at them, “Yet” I added. My sword dyed with their blood, I rose my hands again to strike again.

“Listen, let this go and these two will live, I don’t want them to die anymore than you do” I said before adding, “But if you don’t, you all will die here by my hand” as I stared into their hesitating eyes.

Please, I don’t want any more blood on my hands. The three men made their choice as I saw that they choose death. All three charged at me at once, suddenly out of nowhere, a man with two red eyes with two swords in hand, ran out in front of me and easily overpowered the three men as they landed on the ground.

“Take your two friends and leave” he says with a deathly short tone. “I’m not nice like her, do not test me” he warned with his killing red eyes.

I looked at the two men being carried away by the three men, relief swept over me. My knees gave out as I slumped onto the ground as my arms were spread out beside me. The sky reminded me of that child with adoring eyes, if only I could look at myself like that. I heard footsteps nearing me.

“Your majesty” started Alvis, I glanced at him with empty eyes, “Thank you” I interrupted, “For the help” I say in a small voice. He dropped to the floor, his face was inches from mine. His hair sparkled in the blue sky, while his eyes contrasted the sky.

He truly was an angel while I truly was the devil.

In silence we gazed in each others eyes, “I love you” he uttered out, I looked up at him with wide eyes. I was about to say something, I was silenced, by his lips on mine. I tried to push him back with my hands on his chest, he grabbed my wrist and pinned them down. Ah wow I’m only weak in front of him. His lips broke away as his eyes opened again to look into mine.

His red eyes swelled with pained love as tears fell from his cheeks onto mine. Our breathing mixed at the closeness of which he held me in. In this moment, we were simply a hurting man and woman, nothing more.

“I love you” he softly uttered again. His eyes told me that he was speaking the truth. My heart was slowly beating to life.

no you do-” I was cut off by his lips again, even with our lips connected, I felt him saying I love you with every fiber of his being. I struggled to break free underneath him, afraid to open myself up again.

“I did love your sister, but not in the way that you think” he says not backing away, “She was an amazing woman, it’s true she would have been an impressive Queen, but to me she was my best friend” he explains, I gritted my teeth at his words as I tried again to break free.

“All the same, impressive as she was, she wasn’t you” he said as he looked at me with love. At that point I stopped resisting.

“Don’t joke with me, anyone would be blind not see that you guys loved each other” I retorted, his eyebrows wrinkled at my words, with a swift movement, he pinned my hand to his chest.

“Feel how fast my heart is beating for you?” He groans out in agony. The rapid pace of his heart told me his truth as he looked at me with fierce deep love. My heart jumped to my throat by the honesty of which his words hold.

He smiled down at me before reaching into his back pocket, pulling out a letter. He backed away, giving me the letter addressed to him from my sister. I looked up at him in confusion, “Read it” he says softly. It read,

‘Dear Alvis,

I do hope this letter finds you well and happy. I am writing to you in response to your letter confessing your love for my cute younger sister. I want you to know that I absolutely approve of your love for her. In the possible reality that I do move to heaven, you are the only one I would entrust her to so please care for her much more than I ever could. Love her for everything that she is and I’m sure she’ll stand by your side. On another note, good luck, she is kind as she is slow. In the slim chance you hurt her, just know that you would be making an enemy out of me. Take care Alvis, I do hope I will be seeing you soon.

Kind regards Your BFF

P.S. I am expecting little nieces’.

Tears fell on to the paper, her writing, her words, it was all her. “When?” I asked implying when he got this, “Before the war began” he says wiping away my tears. “Why?”, all he did was leaned in again to kiss me on the lips as if that was an answer.

“Because you love me?” I weakly asked. in response his hand held the back of my head as he leaned in for another kiss.

“I love you” he whispered in my ear.

I cried and cried in his arms for what felt like hours as he repeatedly told me I love you. I wanted to ask him why did he not tell me all those years before, when my sister was still alive, at a time when all was good. I looked up at him from his chest with the desire to ask him, he patted my head as if he could read my mind.

“You were so strung on your sister that the idea of love never crossed your mind” he explains as he lifted me up on to his lap, “You were so innocent, earnestly following your sister” he chuckled to himself.

“Besides, there was also the fact that I was eighteen and you were sixteen” he added, I raised an eyebrow at the last reason, “We have a two year difference, big whoop” I said as I rolled my eyes. He laughed, for the first time in a long while, he laughed.

“What?” he says nervously, without thinking, I cupped his cheeks as I leaned in to kiss him on those beautiful lips. In that moment that I kissed him, I felt happy, I didn’t feel lonely, sad or fear. I was content being in this mans arms.

As I opened my eyes to gaze into his, I whispered to him, “I love you” as I landed another gentle kiss.

I felt him slightly jolt in surprise, he seriously can’t get any more cute. Though, I found myself on the floor with him on top of me, “You sure like pinning me around everywhere” I said sarcastically.

Without another word, he leaned down again to dominate my lips as if to say ‘you’re mine’. He forced his tongue and ravaged his way into getting my submission. This felt different, it was deeper and more emotional than the ones before. My hands grasped his shirt at this new sensation as he deepened the kiss. He broke away allowing me to breathe as he came to his senses. Once I opened my eyes, I saw his red face backing away as if he’s trying to resist, he peeked back at me with his apologetic eyes. I crawled over to him before placing a gentle kiss on the cheek.

I heard a neigh from behind us, my eyes glistened as I saw my Kara. I ran to her as I hugged her, glad to see her safe.

“Kara, I’m so glad you’re safe, I love you so much” I say with tears in my eyes. “We’ll get that wound looked at as soon as we can” I added worryingly.

I looked back at him, “She led you here, didn’t she?” I asked, he nodded in response. He walked up behind me as he wrapped his arms around my waist.

“Alvis?” I started

“Hm?” he hummed, I stroked his cheek as I shuffled to face him.

“ I’m sorry for everything that I said” I whispered apologetically.

He pulled me into a hug, “Don’t you dare cry again” he says jokingly, “Though I wouldn’t mind if you did if it was for me” he adds. I couldn’t help but laugh at his ridiculousness.

“They were your feelings and I accept them wholeheartedly so you have nothing to apologize for” he explains as he soothes my cheeks, “ What did hurt me like spears to the heart was the sight of three men swords drawn at you.” he adds in a pained voice.

His hands were shaking, “I was so terrified that they would…” he trails off, I looked up at him, who suddenly seemed incredibly small and vulnerable. I wrapped my arms around him as I encouraged him to lean in towards me allowing him to feel my warmth, telling him I’m alive.

The silence between us was overlapped by the sounds of rustling tress and chirping birds as the wind sped past. It’s terrible to think but I love how cute he’s being right now in my arms. I eyed his puffy soft hair on my shoulder as a sudden urge to playfully rumple his hair came over me. With a shaking hand I submitted to my urge as my fingers felt the satisfaction of his hair.

“You know I’m upset right?” he says in slight sarcastic tone. I gasped, “what is this? You? Alvis being sarcastic?!” I exaggerated into a laugh. He chuckled as he pulled me in for a kiss.

We heard coughs behind us, it was the woman we came here for. My mind came to earth, as I realized I was Queen. I smiled to myself as I was shook that I actually forgot my duty as Queen. I stood up and asked her if she knew how to ride a horse, she shook her head. I assured her it wasn’t a problem, she could ride with me. I then remembered Kara was injured, carrying two people could make her injury worse. I turned to Alvis who already knew what I was thinking.

Facing the woman, I politely asked her name, “Hela” she responded with a soothe angelic voice. “Cute name, Hela, we’re gonna take you to your sister” I explained to her gently, “You’re gonna ride with that man, his name is Alvis” I gestured for him to say hi who only waved his hand from afar.

“ what about you?” she asked me, I swooned at how angelic her voice sounds. “I’ll be riding with Kara, my horse” I introduced while directing her to Kara’s direction. I heard the disappointment of a certain man.

“Do we have a problem, Alvis?” I asked.

“Kara knows how to ride herself, she can just carry her so why don’t you ride with me?” he inquired. I ignored the insensitive suggestion, as he knew why, it was dangerous to let Hela ride by herself especially without protective gear. “You’re not the best rider, you know?” he adds, with that I snapped at him. I stormed over to him.

“I’ll have you know that I’m second to none when it comes to horse back riding” I declared to him.

“Yeah, except you are second to me”, he cackled. I breathed out to calm myself.

“I just want to go home” I say in defeat, “Ride with Hela, Alvis” I sternly ordered him.

He sighed as he let the matter go, “Hela, was it? Come meet Thor” he greets. She walked over to the man with a slight small blush.

I gently mounted Kara, “ Does it hurt?” I asked her, she simply nibbled on the grass in response. I looked to see Hela mounted in front of Alvis as he rode Thor towards me. I didn’t know why but I felt agitated at how close they were. A smirk spread across his face as he knew what had me so irritated, he leaned over to me and whispered into my ear,

“Jealous?”.

A blush surfaced across my face, I rode off in response. Alvis noticed ripe apples on the ride back, so as the mother he is, he picked some to carry home. The remainder of the trip consisted of him picking fruit and blabbering about different dishes he could make. We took Hela home to her sister before we headed home upon our arrival. The only problem was, the monarchy, both the Queen and her right hand man disappeared for two days. That alone was suspicious. We couldn’t show up with bags and two horses in the roughed up shape we are, we would be undeniably questioned.

I glared at the tall man, “This is why I left you here so that you could cover for me” I angrily told him.

“Then you should’ve told me” he says glancing down, “What a midget”.

“Is that how we talk to Queens now?” I snapped back, “Like you’re the one to talk, you’re too much of a giant” I huffed out. We broke out into a laugh.

“Okay so what do we do?” I asked, “Say that I went to rescue a woman I didn’t know?” I suggested.

“That would end up with you being locked up in your room for who knows how long” he says, “Let’s just say you were kidnapped in your sleep and I went after you alone or else they threatened to kill you” I nodded at his suggestion.

“Wait, what about the clothes and horses?” I asked him.

“Uh I had time to free Kara and Thor to follow you and we borrowed clothing from travelers” he says. I looked at the floor with sad eyes.

“You do know that they can’t know about us?” I say in a quiet voice, he looked at me, “Yes, your majesty”. “Good” I called out as I walked towards the back gate, gesturing him to follow.

We made it to his room without being seen, creeping through those long halls was taxing.

“Okay, you stay here, I’m gonna go to my room” I told him as I turned to leave, like a ferocious wolf he sprang his hand to grab mine, “Don’t worry, I’m only going to my room, I am not running off again” I assured him as I nuzzled his cheek as I casted away his worry.

He reluctantly loosened his grip as I slipped out but not before I quickly kissed him on the cheek. I wish we had secret passage ways like those in the stories. I was frustrated at how far deep into the castle my chambers were, it felt like crossing oceans.

At last I reached my room, I didn’t have to worry about anyone entering as no one was permitted except for Alvis. The night came when I saw Alvis entering my room, I sprang to my feet and jumped into his arms as he twirled me around.

“Did you sneak in?” He nodded which would explain why he was wearing his usual white and tracksuit pant combo.

“I am sorry”, he shook his head, “It’s not your fault” he says understandingly.

He lifted me up onto his arm and carried me over to my bed.

“I’m sure you already know but I would have to relinquish my title as Queen to one of those incompetent cousins if they ever find out about you and I” I said revoltingly.

“My sister didn’t fight for this kingdom to have it ruled by stuck up royals”. I grabbed his hand and softly kissed his palm.

“So I am sorry that I can’t show the world that I love you, that I belong to you” I told him guiltily, my stomach turned at my powerlessness. He took his other hand to brush my hair back before leaning down to kiss me under the moons rays peering through the window. I gazed into his red-eyes in this moonlit dark room as I felt myself burn in love with those eyes. Those eyes that told me I love you.

At least, under the moon, he is mine and I am his alone.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Ezra Scarlet

Hello, I'm a novice writer hoping to share stories with others while learning to improve my writing.

I also write on Medium, my ID is @ae1996123 or on Wattpad with my username, @QueenIchigo123.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.