Humans logo

My Gift To You

A Little Black Notebook and Some Magic

By K.J.GeorgePublished 3 years ago 9 min read
2

Imagine this…

You were walking down the street to your favorite coffee shop. As you are about to enter, a man stops you with a light tap on the shoulder. He gives you a book and says, “Miss you dropped this.” He then proceeds to hand you a little black book.

Do you take it? Or do you politely tell him that you didn’t drop a book and continue on.

Well, I took it. And till this day I don’t regret it.

---

It was just another day for me. I woke up, proceeded with my normal morning routine, and headed out the door to get some coffee. I walk to my favorite coffee shop every single day. A sweet old lady runs the shop, and I visit her everyday for some coffee, small talk, and leisure time to read some books.

As I’m walking I noticed it’s a bit more active outside today. Kids are running around the park a few blocks down, and there are a few more people walking the usually quiet streets. As I’m about to enter my favorite place I feel a tap on my shoulder.

“Excuse me miss you dropped this,” said a fairly young man. He looks to be no older than 25. As I turned around he handed me a little black book. I was going to tell him that I didn't drop a book, but I found myself reaching for it anyway. “Um thanks,” I muttered out. He smiled, turned around quickly, and jogged away. His smile was of a person who was genuinely kind, but also of a person who knew something that you didn't. If that makes sense.

I looked at the little black book and the front cover was blank. I turned it over and so was the back. A peculiar little book if I may say so myself. Before I opened it I headed into the coffee shop and ordered my regular coffee and muffin.

“Well good morning KJ. You are a little late today,” said Mrs. Kate with her sweet smile. “Good Morning,” I smiled back. I ran into a strange man this morning. “I just so happened to catch that altercation. What was it about?,” she kindly asked.

I looked down at the little book before answering, “He handed me this little book, and ran off.”

“Oh, that’s rather weird! Have you opened it yet?,” Mrs. Kate asked with a toothy smile.

“No, but I will once I settle.”

“Okay dear. I’ll be right out with your usual!”

Yes, I am indeed here that often. As I went to sit at the back of the coffee shop, in my usual little corner, Mrs. Kate was coming out with my small breakfast. I’m assuming it was probably already waiting for me, due to the fact that I come here the same time everyday. Except for today of course.

“Well sweetie, once you find out the contents of that book you come to update me, okay? I am at the front all day!” I smiled sweetly and said, “Will do!”

I finally got comfortable in my corner, and once again looked down at the odd black book. It was a small one. It had no writing on the front or back, and it was fairly thin. It resembled a little notebook. Strangely enough, there weren't many pages either. Since my curiosity was now piqued, I finally opened the book.

Well, technically I didn’t open it. I just flipped through the pages casually. It was blank. I was now extremely confused. So, instead of just flipping through it, I actually opened it to the first page. As soon as I did, the words started appearing on the page like magic. To say I was shocked was an understatement. The same thing happened with the second and third page. The words didn’t appear until I turned to the pages individually and read them.

The little notebook only consisted of 10 pages. However, there weren't many words on the pages either. They read as such:

1.Hello.

2.I see you have finally got a hold of your little black book. I’m sure you may be a bit confused, and extremely shocked right about now, so let me explain.

3.I guess you can call me your little fairy godmother. I have been keeping my eye on you.

4. I have been watching you from my world. I was assigned to you one day when my father realized you were under distress. Around the time of you trying to find yourself a new home after the accident to be exact.

5.We felt for you and felt you. Your silent cry for help did not go unheard.

6.So, I’ve been helping and guiding you along the way ever since that day.

7.However, I’m afraid you don’t need me anymore. You seem to be doing fairly well for yourself.

8. So, I am here to give you a parting gift. One I think you would really love.

9. Turn to page ten, and reach your hand into the little pocket for your gift.

10…..

I’ve been staring at page 10 for the last 10 minutes now. Not sure if I wanted to find out what’s in that pocket. But once again, my curiosity got the best of me. I reached my hand into the pocket, and got sucked in. Literally.

I was literally dragged into another dimension. Another world. Oddly enough it looked just like ours. Except something about it was brighter and more charming quite frankly. What’s even weirder is that I'm standing in a coffee shop that looks like Mrs. Kate’s coffee shop. I knew it wasn’t hers though. It was a different color, and I couldn’t see the street outside. Instead I was seeing beautifully tall trees.

“Hello! Hello!,” I yelled. I was quiet and I have yet to see any other being.

“Ah, I see you have finally made it. Took you long enough!” It was the guy who gave me the little black book! “You are the guy from earlier,” I yelled! “ How did you get here!?”

“Well I live here of course,” he replied with that beautiful smile again.

I knew something was up the moment I saw him.

“Well miss, my mom is waiting for you right at the back of the coffee shop. She has a gift for you.” With that he led me to the back of the coffee shop, and there she was; my fairy godmother. A beautiful older lady, or should I say fairy, who resembled Mrs. Kate.

“Well hello deary. I am glad you could finally make it. I’m sure you are a bit confused about what’s going on right now,” she chimed out the moment she saw me.

“Actually I think I have come to terms with what just happened after seeing your son. What I don’t understand, however, is what kind of gift you could possibly have for me…,” I told her.

“Well,” she started, “Since you no longer need me I thought I’d depart from you with a gift. One to ensure that you won’t need me for a while, or ever again. Come closer to me, and put your hands out.”

I did as told and put my hands out in front of her. She waved her wand as she said a little enchantment, and appeared a cute little green bag.

“A bag,” I questioned. “Open it,” she said brightly.

I opened the bag and there in all its glory was $20,000. I just stared at it in shock. I looked up from the bag and my fairy godmother, as well as her son, had the biggest smiles on their faces.

“That is my gift to you. Take it and do as you please. Even though I have an idea what you are going to do with it. I have been your guardian for a while,” she said with the most angelic laugh.

“I can't take this. This is way too much money! I don’t deserve this,” I nearly screeched.

She gathered me in her arms and hugged me as the tears rolled down my face. She began, “Honey, what part of I have been watching you don’t you understand. I’ve seen the great deeds you have done, and the people you have helped. Even when you were down on your last dollars. This is my gift to you. You deserve it. And quite frankly I’d be hurt if you didn’t take my gift.”

I pulled back from this beautiful and warm lady, wiped my tears, and said, “Okay I’ll take it and I promise I’ll keep spreading as much love as I can. Especially with your gift!”

She smiled, hugged me once again, and pulled out her wand to send me back home. I looked over to her son who was already smiling at me and smiled back.

“Who knows maybe I’ll see you again someday again KJ,” he said. “My name is Drew by the way”

“Well Drew I’m looking forward to it!”

As I was getting ready to go, my fairy godmother said one final thing to me…

“Tell my sister Kate I said hello, will you dear!” And with that I was gone. Back at Mrs. Kate’s coffee shop with the most shocked expression on my face.

After 5 minutes of just standing still in pure shock, Mrs. Kate came around the corner with a knowing smile.

“I’m guessing you finally met my sister, didn't you sweet pea? How about you tell me about your adventure with some fresh coffee and a donut this time, yeah?,” said Mrs. Kate with a smile and a tray of fresh goodies for the both us.

To say I’m still shocked is an understatement, but I still proceeded to tell Mrs. Kate the story of how I met her otherworldly sister, and how I came across this amazing gift in this beautiful green bag.

Who would’ve thought a little black notebook could change my life forever.

---

Later that night I went to put my little black notebook and money into my little safe. As I was putting it away the book started to glow. Appeared, was one more page and it read:

Good look sweet girl and remember I may not be there anymore, but I will always be watching over you! Continue to do beautiful things!

I closed the book, and went to sleep with a smile on my face. Tomorrow I’ll be able to do all the things I’ve been wanting to do. Starting with getting Mrs. Kate that brand new coffee shop she’s been wanting.

literature
2

About the Creator

K.J.George

✨ An overactive mind put into words

✨ Favorite coping mechanism

✨ Fiction Fanatic

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.