Humans logo

My First NaNoWriMo.

I'm one of those rebels.

By Melissa SteussyPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
3
My First NaNoWriMo.
Photo by JJ Jordan on Unsplash

I like the sound of that. A rebel. I learned recently that writing something other than a fiction novel makes you a rebel in the NaNoWriMo world. I'll take it.

This is my first time participating in NaNoWriMo. I had heard about it years ago but thought it was only for fiction writers until a friend of mine this year said I could write whatever I wanted. I just had to write every day and come up with 50,000 words by the end of November.

I write a lot. I have a day job and a family, but writing takes up many hours of my week. I cram most writing in during the weekends, but there is not a day that goes by where I don’t have an idea or topic of interest pop up (knocking on wood).

I’ve been a closet writer for years. I wrote and wrote, but was too afraid to share any of my innermost feelings through writing with anyone. I finally gained the courage during Covid to start sharing more personal writings. As scared as I was about what people might think of me I ended up gaining huge freedom in sharing my truths. I say that I felt like I came “out of the closet” so to speak because I had this crazy past and wanted to share bits of who I used to be, but I was too scared of the shame attached to my story.

I wonder if many of us can relate to being too afraid to even start writing, nonetheless sharing because of what people might think.

Who do you think you are thinking you could be a writer? (Internal voice.)

Well, I am here to say, you can do it. If you’re scared, that is all the more reason to fight through that fear. If that fire and passion are burning in your heart then for all means let the fire up and out. We can’t worry about what others might think, and trust me they are thinking way less of us than we think they are anyway.

I learned that NaNoWriMo is just for anyone who wants to write and maybe achieve a goal this November. So here I sit.

I found myself trying to troubleshoot my printer for about an hour knowing that I needed to hit my writing goal for today. I was doing everything else other than writing. I’ve questioned how I would do with writing feeling like a chore versus a retreat from everything else. I’m only on day 4 so we will see.

I would love to know if you are participating this year or if you have in the past. Any other non-fiction rebels? Honestly, I just published a book this fall so I am not in a big hurry to start that process over, but 50,000 words over 30 days sounded like a fun challenge and I love a good challenge.

I’ve been a writer on Elephant Journal for the last year and just recently found Vocal. I have been really enjoying it. The little bonuses are just the motivation I need to keep going.

Please reach out to me on social media and connect. I would love to connect with more Vocal writers.

And in closing, if I had to write fiction it would literally be like, Once upon a time and happily ever after. I have no imagination whatsoever and am obsessed with self-help and digging deeper. Anyone else like me out there?

Another strange fact about me is I can't watch anything with crime, action or violence on TV or movies, or even in books. I think I have a hyperactive stress reaction and maybe too much cortisol. I don't enjoy being freaked out and would never be able to read or watch scary things on TV or read about them. I call myself an HSP or Highly Sensitive Person and in reading the description it fits me perfectly. I usually only watch an occasional family show or documentary about health or veganism.

Tell me something interesting about you if you see this on a thread where you can comment.

Well, I have reached my word quota for the day and so I must bid you farewell my ladies and gents. (Sounds fictiony doesn't it?)

Another time soon, I am sure. Fare thee well.

literature
3

About the Creator

Melissa Steussy

Author of Let Your Privates Breathe-Breaking the Cycle of Addiction and Family Dysfunction. Available at The Black Hat Press:

https://www.theblackhatpress.com/bookshop/p/let-your-privates-breathe

https://www.instagram.com/melsteussy/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.