Humans logo

My Biggest Fear About My Children - Mercy Johnson-Okojie

Mercy Johnson and Shaffy Bello talk motherhood

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Nigerian actresses Mercy Johnson-Okojie and Shaffy Bello are two women who are at the top of their game and they are by far two of the most recognizable names and faces in Nollywood today. Mercy Johnson is well known for being a very hands-on and very overprotective mother whose kids are always ever presently around her. Shaffy Bello has been open about the sacrifice she had to make leaving her children abroad to come and pursue an acting career here in Nigeria.

During the latest episode of Mercy Johnson's show, Mercy's Menu, Mercy Johnson and Shaffy Bello got on the conversation of motherhood and acting. During the discussion, Shaffy Bello opened up about how hard it was as a mother leaving her children to come and pursue an acting career in Nollywood, and Mercy Johnson also opened up about her biggest fear as regards her children. Here is how the conversation between Mercy Johnson and Shaffy Bello went, and here's what both women said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Mercy Johnson and Shaffy Bello on "Mercy's Menu"

Here is how the conversation about children and motherhood went between Mercy Johnson and Shaffy Bello:

MERCY JOHNSON: When you got into Nollywood, it's challenging because it takes a lot, as a mom. How challenging was it leaving the kids, coming down here and working.

SHAFFY BELLO: It was challenging coming into Nollywood, come on you're a mom, you know how hard it is. I left my kids at the age of 12 and 11, or 12 and 10

MERCY JOHNSON: But they were coming often, cuz I know when we filmed, they were here?

SHAFFY BELLO: Yes, they were coming often but I left them for a number of years just going and they weren't coming. So it was really tough. It was a sacrifice, but it is a sacrifice that was worth it. The ends justify the means. Hallelujah. So you tell me. I'm going to ask you, I'm going to reverse it to you. How are you handling four children?

MERCY JOHNSON: Hmm. So I saw this quote online, let me start from there. The quote said "Overprotective moms are like girls who grew up without being protected" and that meant something. So one of my biggest fears would be my kids going through what I went through. That emptiness and that no sense of direction. So like I always say, my life is like a scale of preference and they come first before every other thing. Cause as a child, I suffered so much and I remember crying with nobody to clean my eyes. I can define hunger because I know it. I can define abuse so it is a feeling I don't want any child, not the one that came from me, to go through. So they always say "oh Mercy you're so awesome awesome awesome", my past is the reason why I am very protective of my kids basically.

What do you think about what both Mercy Johnson and Shaffy Bello had to say? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.