Humans logo

My Advice for Young Women Trying to Get Married - Funke Akindele

Funke gets honest

By Jide OkonjoPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 3 min read
Like

Nigerian actress Funke Akindele sat down with long-time friend and socialite, Toke Makinwa for a new interview of Toke's podcast "Toke Moments". During her time on the show, Funke opened up about a lot of things and also got very candid on a number of topics. It is not news that Funke Akindele has been divorced from two marriages and during the conversation, this topic of marriage came up.

Funke used the opportunity to talk about her thoughts on marriage, and give advice to people on marriage and the biggest lesson she's learnt in her life now at 46. Here's what Funke Akindele had to say.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox, so you don't miss out on any of the hottest things that have happened throughout the week. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

Funke Akindele during interview

During the interview Toke asked Funke "I don't know how you survived it cuz I have been through it [divorce] one time, and one time is enough for me. Sis, how you gon go through it twice?" Funke responded and gave advice saying:

FUNKE AKINDELE: In this society, once you finish, once you graduate from school, what's next? Marriage. Even before you get a job. I met a young lady, I just employed her - I knew her way back, years ago - and she was like ah her aunty was even telling her that you have to marry. She has a child with some guy, they're not together again - so her aunt is saying she has to marry. I'm like your aunt is asking when are you going to get married and you don't have a job. This part of the world is all about graduate, get married, get a husband, and start having children. The most important thing that I have learned over the years, my 46 years on earth is live for you.

Let me explain: as Funke Akindele, do you want to get married because you're in love? You love him, you understand him, both of you want to be together forever? Or you want to get married because you're a celebrity? Your mates are getting married? They're having children? Now you get married, then oh maybe because you're having issues having children, you now say oh I want to marry someone that has children or divorcee that will have children so that while I'm trying to wait for it to come - you will miss it! Because in the process, you will make mistake. Now, I'm not rubbishing any man, we all have our own faults. I have mine, they have theirs. Nobody's perfect. But the most important thing like I said is that you have to live for you.

Funke's previous wedding pictures

What do you think of what Funke Akindele said? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

In addition to blogging, I make money through Whatsapp Status Sessions. If you also want to earn money through status sessions, I've created a complete guide to help you get started so we can all eat!

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.