Humans logo

My 2024

By: Monica Carneiro

By Monica CarneiroPublished 4 months ago Updated 3 months ago 3 min read
3
My 2024
Photo by Pierre-Etienne Vilbert on Unsplash

My goal for Vocal this year is to participate more. Engage more. I want to not only publish more work, but I want to read more of others' work here. I also want to take the skills I am learning while getting my bachelor's in creative writing and play with them on this site. Use any techniques I learn, not only for assignments but for my publishings with Vocal.

I want to continue sharing my personal experiences and hope it helps others. I want to write for those who feel alone and voiceless. My writing has helped me heal through many things I thought I would never make it past, and all that I hope to do this coming year is use that writing to help others heal as well. People mustn't feel so alone in their experiences, although our lives are all unique, sometimes it makes a difference knowing that there is at least one other person in the world who can empathize with you. And that is my biggest goal for the year.

This year I want to make sure my writing is resonant, I don't want to write just for myself, but in hopes that I will alleviate some of the weight off a stranger's shoulder. I want anyone who reads my work to feel safe and seen. I want to help inspire change and growth for us all. Bring some peace where things feel so tragic constantly. I hope that someone can find hope within the words I write.

On top of that, I want to work more on my flash fiction pieces and play around with different story ideas and worlds. Provide a bit of an escape in a five-minute read. My favorite thing to read growing up was comic books, they still are, because a short story can take you so far away from your daily life that it feels like a dream. I want my stories to provide that for anyone who may need it. I hope that the worlds I create can be peaceful for those who may need a few minutes to escape.

In a more selfish sense, my goal this year on Vocal is also to write more and, hopefully, add a bit of cushion under my name in hopes that my writing may succeed financially. I have wanted to be a writer for so long, and I have been a writer for a bit of time, but I want to continue, not lose the passion. Show myself that my writing is good and that I should continue so that I can achieve all of the goals I had set for myself and my future.

I want to prove to myself that my dreams and goals are achievable and that I am talented and worthy of my future degree and any future employment. That I will be successful as a script-writer. But also, that it has to be fun, and I have to love it. I do love it. Because my goals for this year, are my stepping stone for the path of my entire future, and I want to take things more seriously. I want to make those who believe in me and my work, proud.

Regardless of how the year goes, my goals are to write more and just be a light to anyone who may need it. I want my writing to resonate with those who need it most. I am super excited to be more involved this year, and my name will be in more of these challenges - I'll need as many as I can to continue to improve my writing. Thank you.

literature
3

About the Creator

Monica Carneiro

Aspiring Novelist and Screenplay Writer. I am just trying to write some relatable content. Hope you all enjoy!

Insta: @momocarneiro

X (Twitter): @momonkeybutt

Tumblr: avatarmomo98

Wattpad: AvatarMomonkeybutt

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Marie Wilson4 months ago

    Worthy and wonderful goals!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.