Humans logo

Lucky Ones

Chapter One

By Alicia ClewesPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Running, running, running. People fly past me in a blur. My black curls cascading out behind me. There's almost an excitement that entices you to feel as though you are a child running from the monsters in your nightmares. Although for me now, those monsters are very real. The only difference is that it's in the shape of a Dictator. I can see the blurred outlines of Swatikas on the uniforms of Aryan children. However, I am not considered an Aryan, despite what it may say on my papers. Does loving an Aryan count for anything? And he loves me? I can't focus on what is soon to be behind me.

I can feel his hand in mine. The further towards the train I get, the denser the crowds become. My hand slips away from his. I keep running. His physique slowly fades from view. The room is spinning. I keep running. A hand from the train grabs my arm; it's him! The train begins to move. Running alongside it, trying to find the courage to jump, I grab his hand, kiss it, and tell him I love him. The train travels out of sight; my head begins to wander. Panic. What do I do? My life will not be mine. It will belong in the hands of the Fuhrer. I feel at my cheeks, there is water trickling down them. The idea of being without him... no! I cannot think of that.

I will be lost to the world like her. She disappeared. Just vanished. No one knew then that I wasn't Aryan. I was a typist at the Polezeistation which meant I had access to confidential files. When the Gestapo became more well known, they set up stations across Germany. My skills meant they required my services. Whilst I was there, the horrors I witnessed were second to none. Screams, so many screams. There were rooms I wasn't allowed to enter. One night I was left with the key to lock up. There was one room which no one without special clearance was allowed to enter. I looked upon this great oak door. I was curious and cautious to know what was behind it. I stood there my heart pounding, I pulled the door slightly. Black. That's all there was—dark, empty, blackness. Squeezing through the tiny gap in the door, I slid inside. I looked around for a light switch. That's when I realised there was an aroma. Something like meat that had gone off? My hands were lightly stroking the large stone walls, desperately trying to find a light switch. Click. Light. Actually it was more of a half light. The room was lit by a singular light bulb, hanging from a very high wooden beam. The lack of light made it hard to see the dimensions of the room, I slowly walked around the room, grazing my hand against the wall. Then I felt something smooth and cold that made me shudder. I crouched down and realised that there was a piece of metal stuck in the wall and the stone around it looked discoloured. I stood up and walked backwards away from the wall in order to get a better view. I couldn't get further than maybe about ten inches as I stumbled over a chair. What was this place? I looked at the wall, then at the chair, and decided to walk again. After about 30 minutes of wandering around I came across a large filing cabinet. I still wasn't sure of what the room was and why I felt so melancholy. I inched the draws open one by one, names! Lots and lots of names. Then... her! Stasse! I picked up the file. It was marked confidential. I went to open it and...

"Frauline... Frauline." A German officer. "Papers, I need to see your papers." I reach into my bag and pull out the forged papers. This is it. I'm going to be caught. "Danke, you shouldn't be on here, frauline. It's no place for a young Aryan like you." I looked at him. Tears were still streaming down my face. I thanked him and walked away.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.