Humans logo

Loyalty

HS

By HerStoriesPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

Joshua sighed. "He thinks you're not all that..."

"All that? As in?"

"Pretty."

Right, okay. "And?" I knew there must've been more. Lance wouldn't just stop at that.

"And that you've been acting hoe-ish," Joshua muttered.

"Hoe-ish? How?" Now, I was mad.

"Cause of the stuff with Trevor and Danny."

This was absurd. I felt my attitude going up to a hundred. "First of all, you know the story to those two. Second of all, how does any of this affect Lance? Third of all, I am my own person and handle things how I want. I don't belong to anybody."

"Never said you did..."

"Probably the same way you didn't say anything when Lance said those things?" Of course Josh wouldn't defend me when it came to Lance. Would he defend me at all? I felt hurt thinking about the question.

"He's my friend. He wouldn't lie to me."

"So I would?"

*******

Friendship and loyalty.

A rather simple topic, that can also be tricky most of the time.

Characters we're dealing with today: Carmen, Josh, and Lance.

Backstory: Josh and Carmen are friends (and a little more). Lance and Josh are friends. Carmen and Lance are not.

Situation: Lance said some stuff about Carmen, and Josh seems to be siding with him.

Some people's opinion: It's bros before hoes!

My opinion: Don't be biased. When two people you care about are in conflict with each other, you need to be able to hear both of their sides. Entering a friendship means entering a loyalty contract afterall. Especially for those you call your close friends.

In Josh's case, I think he could've handled it better. I personally know I would be hurt if I were Carmen. Well, what am I saying? I was Carmen once and I had been offended and annoyed. My Josh at the time had been too quick to jumping to conclusions and listening to his friends despite having known me for years. It sure made me feel as though he didn't value our friendship as much. Which is not a great feeling.

So, I can't stress it enough, don't be biased in these situations. Understanding and listening to both sides will always save the drama. Trust me.

On that note, Carmen, Josh and Lance are actual characters I've created in a story based on people I once knew. That little excerpt at the beginning of this page is from my book, "Love Him," and is about friendships, relationships, and plenty of other drama. Paperback copies are available on Amazon, including eBook formats. I'll add a link in my bio. https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B086BBF6GQ/ref=dbs_a_def_rwt_bibl_vppi_i2

And to end off, I know this is usually at the beginning, but let me do a quick introduction.

Welcome to my page and my first post. On my account, you will find different content and topics on which I will share my opinion. I love writing and therefore get used to seeing lots of excerpts from my stories on here. You may not enjoy many, or any in fact, but I'll always appreciate the read.

So stay tuned. I'm looking to post once a week, but I'm certainly not making any promises. Night y'all.✌️

literature
Like

About the Creator

HerStories

Story sharer.

Writing✍️ + reading📖 = orgasmic combo

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.