Humans logo

Love story

By: N.S

By Nicole SPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

When I was a little girl I always cherished the love that my parents had for one another. The pure love and happiness they had when around the other. Growing up my mom always told me that love like that took time and patience, that it was not easy to find. On my first day of high school I was dropped off early and as I walked into the building, I laid eyes on one amazing guy, I knew just by laying eyes on him that he was the one, and I was right.

For years, I saw him from afar, since he was a grade above me I was always scared to approach him. When I finally did speak to him for the first time, my brain was like a plate of scrambled eggs. After that day, we never spoke to one another, just shared glances. Every time I looked at him my stomach filled with butterflies. Then he graduated. Nothing came out of the three years he was there so I knew it was time to move on.

A few months passed and as my senior year started, I had almost forgotten about him, then out of the blue, he texted me. We talked for days and every text I sent or received from him my love grew stronger. One day, he asked if he could take me out on a date; “I've never been on a date before, what do I do?” I thought to myself. When I agreed, I was filled with so much joy and excitement I started to jump up and down. After school that day I rushed home to figure out what I was going to wear. Two hours later and clothes covering every inch of my floor, I found the perfect outfit. That night I barely slept a wink. I was so excited I could feel my heart racing in my chest like I had just finished a marathon.

The day of the big date felt like it was dragging out slowly, almost as if the clock just froze and I was the only one aware. That afternoon when he picked me up from school I tried to keep cool, but it was the hardest thing I’ve ever had to do. When I hopped in the car, I couldn't hide my smile because when I looked at him, he had the most beautiful hazel eyes I had ever seen, they were little pools of honey. When he smiled, it was so bright and full of happiness, it was contagious.

He had decided to take me uptown to a cute little restaurant called The Redeye Diner. Once we had finally arrived at the restaurant I felt as if I had taken a time machine back to the nineties, the beautiful red lights, the old records hanging all over the walls, the pictures of all the famous singers, and even because of the huge mural on one wall of the diner. When we were seated at our booth he reached across the table and grabbed my hands. His hands were rough, but smooth at the same time. I could sense that he was a strong hard-working man but could be just as gentle. Once our food arrived I could hardly eat. My stomach was in knots! “I can’t mess this up…” I said to myself. “You’ve waited so long for this.”

Once we left we took the long way back to the car. The cold air of autumn was the perfect excuse for me to be able to stick by his side. Halfway to the car he stopped and looked at me. I was so nervous that I had done something to mess up this perfect day, but it was just the opposite of that. As he looked at me a huge smile spread slowly across his face and he said, “I want you to be my girlfriend” and at the moment the whole world felt like it had stopped. That time itself had frozen, but this time for an amazing reason. I wanted to just yell “YES” at the top of my lungs but instead with a deviant smile across my face I replied, “maybe.” At that moment his face dropped as if I was about to say no, then I yelled it… I yelled YES!

When I had finally gotten home I ran straight to my room at full speed because I need to scream. I waited over three and a half years to be with him and from that day to now two years later, I knew that I was meant to spend the rest of my life with the boy that I laid eyes on the first day of high school.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Nicole S

just enjoy writing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.