Humans logo

Love at first sight

Drunk with love

By Siosiua mafoaPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

     Vince sat in front of a nearly empty computer screen, eyes fixated on what at first seemed like a simple question, "what would be your ideal first date?". He came across t his same question on a couple other dating apps he tried signing up with, and not unlike the rest, he just couldn't seem to come up with a acceptable answer. Frustration washed across his face as he thought out loud, "  I don't know why I keep pretending I'm going to actually finish signing up for these sites, I can never get passed such mind boggling questions," and then he closed out the app.

Alarm cock*Vince fumbled to silence the noise, still blinking the sleep from his eyes, proceeded to get into another work day routine.

"Well Vince, they say theres plenty of fish in sea,  hook any keepers surfing the web?"Vince almost cringe but continued

Looking right through his co-worker like he where a glass door between himself and freedom at 5 when work let out.

"Bill buddy tell me when was the last time you had a convo with a women that didn't start with , 'Hello ma'am, any chance your interested in a limited time offer, I have the deal of a life time for you.."making a phone with his thumb and pinky extended out, then flipped it over  into the palm of his other hand. Bill nearly smacked Vince in the center of his forehead with the back of his hand, making him look crossed eyed at his worn wedding band.

"Well I'll have you know pal, you may need to be more on my good side, seeing that my cousin is coming to stay with me and My Wife of 18 years now," bill paused and at the same time smirked at Vince like he had a secret that would have Vince ready to kiss his feet. "And seeing as how pathetic you sound with your internet love search, I guess I'll let you accompany my cousin and my wife and I to this new fancy restaurant, since we finally are getting a break from covid-19, hopefully atleast for a few days."

Vince had a look of uncertainty aswell as curiousty, " Well, when you put it like that how can I refuse." both men laughed under there breath.

Vince tried his hardest to look the very least nerves as possible. His outfit was deffinalty up to par, but he felt like a first day freshman that had just been asked to share about himself out loud to a nameless crowd of unfamiliar faces.

"Hello, my name is Merle."

Vince nearly forgot to breath,almost hypnotized by Merles deep dark eyes and dark blue highlights in her long midnight black hair. He literally had to push the words out of his mouth,"Merle, like the wine?"

she giggled. "Yes."

"You look amazing, it's my pleasure to meet you," Unable to hold back a smile that youd see on a young childs face christmas morning.

"Well since we've gotten our introduction out of the way, I say we take our seats and start the evening off with a glass of fine merlot."

Vince seemed to be oblivious to his chair as he stepped next to Merles seat and pulled it out from beneath the table so Merle could effortlessly slide into her seat.

"Have you no shame Vince?"

He never took his eyes off Merle,

" now bill, how about less attention on each other, and let's focus on our dates aswell as these fancy menu's."

The group simultaneously shook their heads in agreement, and not to much longer they placed there orders and had a great conversation over a few glasses of Merlot. Almost two hours later, Vince had Merle wrapped in his arms dancing the night away,until Bill and his wife decided that they no longer could carry on with the nights blissful evening.

"Hate to be the grumpy old guy here, but I think we should call it a night before I have to leave here on stretcher."

That amazing evening ended up leading to a even more beautiful and amazing wedding. Now Vince and Bill where not only co-workers busting each other chops at work, they became relatives.

The new married couple sat aside each other at a large table with Bill and his wife and other wedding guests, laughing and basking in the happiness, until Vince stood up on his feet, and began to tap his spoon against his wine glass, filled with a rich dark blue merlot that swayed gracefully back and forth like his new brides silky hair in a gentle breeze.

"My dear love Merle, after having nearly gave up on love entirely,convinced that my glass of happiness was to forever to be empty and sober, you eligently filled my glass with the most sweet and intoxicating flavored Merlot I have ever been blessed to have touched my lips, forever to be drunk from a love only grown in the garden of eden." Every single guest raised there wine high into the sky, and Vince and Merle lived happily ever after.

literature
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.