Humans logo

Lost: Her book

Chapter one

By Ianis😜Published 2 years ago • 10 min read
Like

Imagine a simple shooting star that does not find its place in the universe, devoid of the moon that gave it life and left with the sun that does not accept it. That's my life. My mother died at birth, and since then my father has been drinking every night. I lived with my aunt for five years, but she moved to another country so I had to move in with my father. We behave like two strangers living in the same house.

As far as my father is concerned, I hear the front door slam shut and hide under the bed. Enter my room, and I freeze in fear and can barely breathe.

-Get out, you bastard!

The same scenario every night. He pulls me out from under the bed and I cover my face with my hands but he puts them aside and starts hitting me.

-Stop! It hurts!

-But when you killed everything I loved in this world, it didn't hurt!

-It's not my fault! I say crying.

-Shut up, I'm killing you!

After saturating his crazy craving for blows and swearing, he leaves me on the floor, almost out of breath. I feel pain all over my body and I can't move. I start to cry, but not loudly, because if he hears me he comes back and continues what he started. I manage to pull a pillow off my bed and hug her tightly.

In the morning I wake up in the same position where I fell asleep. I get up on my head and turn off the phone alarm. I go to the bathroom to wash my blood from the broken lip, which has since dried. Then I remove my foundation and cover my bruises. Then I change, pack my backpack and head to the kitchen. I see my father at the table with a glass of water in his hand and his head in his hands. He doesn't even bother to look up at me. I take the package I made yesterday and go to school. On the way I feel like crying again but I think it would ruin my makeup and I hold back my tears. The first hour I have biology with Mrs. Daniel. I enter the classroom with my head on the ground and sit at the bottom of the classroom. I open my notebook and wait for the lady to come. At last she comes, and we get up to greet her.

"Sit down," she says. Today I have a surprise for you.

The amazement can be read on everyone's face.

-Oh, did I say surprise? I meant surprise test! Says the teacher laughing wickedly.

Brilliant. I didn't get to learn anything. Another five are waiting for me. The teacher shares the tests and the fear overwhelms me. I only know ten questions out of a hundred. I hate this stuff!

I finished almost every hour. I still have sports. I sit in the grandstand of the basketball court and start reading. The cheerleaders do their training near the field. I see Krista screaming at them because they made some wrong moves, then she makes them resume the whole dance. My aunt tells me that my mother was the coolest cheerleader in high school, and that only her presence made you smile.

-Peace!

I raise my head and all I see is a ball heading for my face. I can't avoid it and it hits me straight in the face. I hear everyone's laughter and insults like "bleago" and I leave the field. I go to the bathroom to retouch my foundation and look in the mirror. My white, almost skin-tight skin makes me look like a ghost. I stay in the bathroom for the rest of the hour because I don't want to see anyone anymore. When the class is over, I go home.

My father is not present, which makes me happy. I go to my room and change my clothes, then I go to bed. I open my laptop and go to instagram. Stories from almost the whole high school appear in front of me. I open Krista's and stare at the picture. It was a picture of me receiving a ball in front of me. They all put the same picture. I close the laptop and place it on the desk and squat in the middle of the bed. Tears flow slowly down my cheek. Another picture of me went viral on the net, and I'll be everyone's mockery for a month. The front door slams shut, and I close my eyes trying to pretend I'm asleep. The steps on the stairs continue to my room. The door opens, then a murmured curse is heard and closes again. I breathe a sigh of relief and try to fall asleep, but thousands of thoughts do not give me peace. I wish my mother was here The next day at school, we receive the test results. The teacher called my name and from behind was a whisper "guard!" and everyone starts laughing. I get up lazily from the bench to take my test and when I see "2 (two)" written in big red in the corner of the page it doesn't even surprise me. The image suddenly turns white, and my legs stumble to the bench. After I sit down, I recover a little. That reminds me to stop by the pharmacy after school. The teacher continues to share the work of the other children.

-I'm very disappointed in you. Why don't you learn? Do you really want to keep repeating?

I look at the brown floor, trying to calm my ears.

-Alma. Why don't you learn? You are the weakest student in the class!

I raise my head in front of me looking at the teacher and trying to find my words.

-I'm sorry madam, I'll try to learn better ..

-That's what you do!

The bell rings and I crawl to my closet. I take my inhaler from my bag and take a deep breath, after which I feel better. All this congestion causes me anxiety, which makes my asthma worse. I put the inhaler back in my backpack and head for the next class. The Lord had not yet come, and the children were making a fuss about the whole class. I sit in a free bench, and wait for the hour to begin.

-Alma, guard!

I quickly raise my head, and a boy throws a ball of paper in my head, which then falls to the ground. Everyone starts laughing, like it's the funniest joke of the year.

****

At the end of the class I go to get my backpack from the closet, but next to it I find a piece of paper written on one side. I pick it up so I can read it.

"I don't care. That's all I know

how to do."

The ticket did not have a name written on it. He was anonymous. I frown, rereading it a few times to make sure it looks good, then I put it in my backpack and leave. On the way I stop at the pharmacy to get tampons and a bruise cream. After the saleswoman raises an eyebrow, she gives me what I asked for and after I pay her, I go out. I get home, and I'm surprised to see that my father was home too. He was lying on the couch, watching a game. I go straight up to my room without saying anything. I take the note out of my backpack and put it in a box. I take out my books and decide it's time to learn as much as I can. I start with math and do some easy exercises, which I manage to do on my own.

In two hours I finish learning and practice and go down to the kitchen to get some food. I open the fridge and notice that there is nothing in it except the drink, so I settle for a slice of empty bread. I close my eyes preventing the tears from flowing and then sigh for a long time. I go out into the yard, lying on the grass and looking at the clear blue sky that lies above me. I pretend that each cloud has a certain shape, as I did when I was little, with my aunt. I miss him so much sometimes that I feel like screaming.

****

The next day, being Saturday, I don't go to school. At least now ... I'm tired of all the girls who think they're princesses and all the boys who think they're great kings. With my father he started drinking again, for the second time today I decide to go out in the park to avoid a strong scandal. I put my headphones in my ears, releasing my favorite song, "Radioactive." People look much better when you see them listening to music. Arriving in the park, I sit on a bench and start reading a book, which I haven't finished and I have to present it tomorrow.

****

I look at my watch and when I see big writing in white "23:20" I go crazy. How could I not realize how much time has passed ?! Oh my God, I'm going to be in big trouble. Bravo, Alma! I get up from the bench in a hurry and increase my pace. Suddenly a hand touches my shoulder and I startle, pulling my headphones out of my ears. I see a boy who looks my age, but is tall, with blond hair and brown eyes.

"You missed that!" He says, handing me the book I had just read.

"Oh," I say, slapping my mind mentally. Thank you very much!

I take my hand from the book of the boy who seems to be looking at me.

"With pleasure," he says, smiling at me, "then I go home."

I enter the small room and hear the plates cracking and startle, letting out a sigh. I take small steps towards the kitchen, and peeking through the doorway I see my father taking plates and cups from the cupboard and walking with them. I hurry to stop him, putting my hand on his wrist. He looked at me with wide eyes for a few seconds, then frowned. He puts the plate back in the cupboard and walks over to me. I take a few steps back as he advances toward me.

"Where have you been so far?" He growled.

-It's me ... I went to the park, to read. I say stammering.

I keep stepping back until I hit the cold wall.

-Don't take me for this. Tell me where you've been! Have you ever been to boys ?!

-No, my God! How can you say that?

I can't believe what's on his mind. In a few seconds, his strong palm makes contact with my cheek. The small electrifying wires run through my injured surface. I look at him with amazement, and as he prepares to strike me a second time, I avoid his path, leaving the kitchen.

-Come back! I'm not done with you!

I run to my room, where I hide among the bedding and let go of the river of tears, shedding my suffering.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Ianis😜

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.