Humans logo

Loquat Rain

In the window is a girl in a white dress, immersed in the book in hand

By Ron M PittsPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like
Loquat Rain
Photo by Siyuan on Unsplash

In the window is a girl in a white dress, immersed in the book in hand, not disturbed by my uninvited guest. Pulled out the phone contact gap again and swept a glance, very similar, so I quietly walked over ......

"Are you in Suzhou tomorrow?" Juan's sister's WeChat still surprised me, it is very rare to send a message to me, so many years have been light as water friendship, but never strange to each other. "In, but I have to run an errand in the morning and will be back early in the afternoon, something wrong?" "Oh, we have a power outage tomorrow for vacation, I want to go to Suzhou for a walk." This is also her usual character, soft as a deer. Although often travel, but does not care about the weather, before going to bed to break the weather forecast, and sent a WeChat reminder to Juan's sister with a jacket and rain gear.

The next day in Nanjing things went smoothly, heavy rain from Nanjing began to rain, and on the return trip to the station on the high-speed train the first out of the station rushed to the parking lot to drive to the agreed location. Pingjiang Road is a relatively literary old street in Suzhou, the cat's sky city I am also more familiar with, from the White Tower Road drop the car and run in. It was raining heavily at that time, and I ran to Ganshang Road before I realized that I had missed it at some point, so I turned back and ran again. May Suzhou rain has been very soft, because of the weekday, along the old streets of the river three or two literary young people playing umbrellas to enjoy the beauty of the rain and smoke Jiangnan, only I an alternative in the rain running wild ......

Seeing the name of the store did not hesitate to rush in, the store customers are not much, really scared the handsome man at the counter a jump, see me all over the rain, concerned "I'll get you a tissue to wipe it." "Thank you, no." At once the glasses foggy haze took the glasses, wiped the face sweeping a circle on the second floor. The window is a white dress girl, immersed in the book in hand, not disturbed by my uninvited guest. Pulling out the phone contact gap again swept a glance, very similar, so I quietly walked over ......

"Zhang Tijuana." I stood at the table to greet. She looked up, not stunned, her expression as innocent and peaceful as before, fortunately not frightened by me, the impostor. "Have you eaten?" I asked. "Not yet," she replied. So we went downstairs together, a succession of business harassment calls, and she waited quietly at the door. She held an umbrella, and I carefully pressed her shoulders and tried to hide under it. Ask her what she likes to eat, she answered whatever, indeed she is such a person who is very unlike to ask. Crossing a stone bridge, it would be two o'clock past, a random small restaurant to sit down at. Let her order food again is casual, insist on ordering shredded potatoes, I added a minced pork stew egg, so I also ate a bowl of rice, although the car ate, with Juan sister, or appetite for food. If I were to describe Juan Mei as a dish, I think the shredded potatoes could not be more appropriate.

When she came, fantasized about giving her a warm hug, eating a big meal together, drinking tea together and watching the scenery, taking a sunset walk together, Kantian Kantian, nothing taboo, old comrade-like enthusiasm, and enjoying the time together. For both of us, know more than a decade, probably change is only the face, these years, what she has experienced, what I have experienced, fragmented pieces only. But for us this is not important, meet the moment, she is still more than ten years ago she, I am also more than ten years ago I, the mouth also became clumsy. The cautiousness of each other, probably careful to take care of this so pure friendship. Classmates or colleagues, more people have each other in the sky, and for me and Juan's sister, each other adjacent to the city, not the luxury of having the opportunity to meet, we are even happier. Happy people are easily satisfied, and know how to be grateful because we do not have too many requirements, indifferent life, or serious work, thanks to the surrounding, think so many years, the nature of the heart has not been assimilated by the fickle society, at least I and Juan sister is so.

The rain is intermittently large and small but never stops, I am a person who likes rain, for the reason that I think it can make me stable, let me remember the past, the happy past. Where to play, for me and Juan's sister also does not seem to matter, just the two stay together quietly, and talk about all kinds of.

The frenzy of the city does not seem to suit both of our personalities, driving Juan Mei along Taihu Lake to the east of the mountain is also aimless, enjoy the time together like this. A lot of times, Juan's sister on the dull look out the window, I can feel what, I hurried to find a topic to interrupt her sad thoughts. The cold air seemed to make him slightly cold, I handed him my jacket over my lap, so it would be warmer. Because of the rain and weekdays, Taihu Lake is choppy and foggy, and although it is loquat season, there are few vendors on the road, so there is more peace. The loquats were hanging brilliantly in yellow on the branches all over the mountain, soaked in the rain, like a proud princess, and I hope Juan's sister was too.

Passing a gazebo, on the slope of the hill facing the lake, submerged in the jungle, leaned over and got off. The two braved the rain up the rugged mountain path. The loquat branches along the trail reached out to the road, and the loquats we could pick at will gave us a taste of what was in store for us. At the end of the trail, I saw the pavilion at the top but there was no way out, so I had to leave Juan to explore the way forward, but fortunately, the next door was the tourist trail, we just took the wrong one, a happy little episode. The pavilion was built halfway up the mountain, and it was a bit old. The view of Taihu Lake from afar was confusing, and not far from a green island, there seemed to be people. The slight lake breeze, with strong moisture and the fragrance of the mountains, was very pleasant. Juan and I just took shelter from the rain and looked at the scenery, she helped me wipe the water drops on my head, in fact, not cold at all. More often than not I gushed because I was worried that she would get sad when I stopped. We both just enjoyed the majestic view of Taihu Lake together in the loquat rain ......

The two of us are not picky eaters, I just think the name of the store is very literary "I'm waiting for you in Zhangqiao". I thought that Juan Mei still has a long way to go, the rain is still so heavy, for safety reasons, I still ended the scheduled trip early, to send him to the highway entrance. I go to the left, she goes to the right, not without sadness ......

The loquat rain is still not stopping, if you are well, it is sunny.

art
Like

About the Creator

Ron M Pitts

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.