Humans logo

Live Without Being Afraid Of The Future

Make your future fearless

By LunaPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
Live Without Being Afraid Of The Future
Photo by Benjamin Davies on Unsplash

I'm sure we've all heard and been interested by this conversation. I didn't get the full message of the film when I first saw it. But now, as I sit at a café in an unfamiliar city, enjoying the view, everything makes sense.

Different life experiences have always piqued my interest. And I've always made it a point to see different locations and have incredible experiences. I've been to most destinations without my parents since I was 13 years old.

My brother and his family took me the first time. It was rather terrifying the first time. They were very much missed. I sometimes used cry for several days straight after crying for the entire day.

Afterward, I became accustomed to it, or should I say, forced myself to become accustomed to it. I made it, and it was a wonderful holiday.

We visited these lovely locations, and I met a lot of interesting individuals. That's when I believe I discovered this daring individual within myself. But that it was only the start of things of fresh and unexpected events.

My family had an overabundance of faith in me growing up. I don't believe I still have enough self-confidence, but they constantly forced me to try new things, adjust to new situations, and become totally free.

By just believing in me, they constantly pushed me to my boundaries.

Which enabled me to gain a great deal of information that I would not have learned if I had gone with my family. They always have their comfort zone with them.

Anyway, following that, I went on a number of other travels with strangers from all over the world, relatives, and friends. It's usually a little rough the first two days, but I get used to it.

Organizing your belongings, lowering costs, knowing when to take certain medications, knowing how to bargain (which is crucial), not being duped, and a variety of other topics are all covered.

My first flight is still fresh in my mind. I was in high school when this happened. I was afraid, but my father assured me that everything would be alright and that he would be on the phone with the police. I went to the airport with no prior knowledge of it. And I did it.

When I got older, it was clear that I wanted to pursue my education outside of my hometown. I enjoy putting myself in difficult situations.

Thus I did, but things were very different this time. It was difficult for me to leave my house. There were a lot of worries. I was never sure why. I was also used to not being at home. I didn't spend much time at my residence even in my own city.

So, what's the problem?

I was frightened out of my mind. I wasn't sure how I'd manage because I'm prone to making mistakes. I was in denial about having to move for college until the situation became untenable. I was unable to keep denying it.

As a result, my parents began to inquire about the accommodations and other details. When people questioned me about shifting, I used to become irritated because I was terrified.

Furthermore, I became far too linked to my city and house as a result of covid. I didn't want to speak to anyone at the university. I began to have doubts about my choice.

I assumed I'd be on my own at that place. Then I understood it was because I always knew I'd return whenever I left on a trip.

Choosing between a PG and a flat was never an issue for me. I will never have to fear about starting over in a new location.

To really make it through the challenges that come up on a regular basis. It wasn't straightforward.

However, it was necessary to complete the task. So, following weeks of resistance, I finally changed my mind.

Before I left, I sobbed one day and determined that was the end of it. I walked out of the city without much thought. I visited here as well. I'm on my own once again. It was a wonderful experience.

I was terrified of meeting my classmates, so I didn't give it much thought and went ahead and did so. It was enjoyable once more.

And I'm now afraid to go to my first day of college; who knows whether it will be nice or horrible. But there is one thing that constantly comes to mind: it will always be with me, good or bad.

I'll take note of it and apply what I've learned. Perhaps it was not the finest idea to relocate.

It's possible that the course I choose isn't the greatest fit for me. But it is up to me to figure out what I actually want. And in order to do that, I'll have to go out and look for it.

It would never be enough for me to sit in my room. This was my initial thought when I went outside. It was simply misplaced. And now, as I sit here watching the sunset, I'm wondering whether it was all meant to be.

It's possible that coming here to write this was pre-ordained.

Isn't it possible that it's all connected?

In any case, staying at home with your loved ones is usually a smart idea. But, in order to truly live a fulfilling life, we must perhaps venture a little outside our comfort zones?

It'll be extremely rewarding. I'm excited to begin this new chapter in my life. I'm sure I'll be terrified and make a mistake. There will almost certainly be occasions when things go wrong.

Even on such days, I'll be grateful that I decided to do this rather than stay in my safety zone. Perhaps I'll be amazing! Anybody cares, huh?

Let's just sit back and enjoy the ride.

travel
Like

About the Creator

Luna

Professional Writer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.