Humans logo

Little black book

Adventures to grands

By Destiny K VaughanPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1

They say if you speak something into existence then it surely will happen. Growing up my grandmother was my best friend. My sister always had friends to stay with wile I on the other hand was an out cast because I got blessed with bright red hair. My grandma always had a beautiful upbeat personality and still does to this day. I was invited to stay with grandma every weekend it seems like. Saturday mornings we would get up early and go into town to daylight donuts before our day began.

Hello what can I get for ya?

Yes id like 2 sausage rolls a dozen donut holes and a large coffee and 1 chocolate milk please.

In the summer time people have garage sales and or yard sales. "One mans trash is another mans treasure" now I might not of had alot of friends but you can bet your sweet cheeks I had a different new purse each week and wore a different pair of shoes daily. I wouldnt be caught wearing the same clothes within a 3 week time period and I always had the coolest nic nacks. Grandma always made sure I was taken care of if it wasnt for her I wouldnt be half of who I am today.

I have always been a giver due to having these things. If I had something another needed I would go home go through all my things and give a couple bags to them. No questions asked.

I remember that morning in mid July the sun was beaming and me being red headed I was hot. My grandma and I had hit about 4 garage sales that day and the heat was extreme so we decided to head home.

Look Grandma 1 more garage sale. Please can I go look?

Go ahead my grandma said im gonna sit in the truck here is 5 dollars.

Okay thanks Grandma.

Turned out to be a bunch of old books and pottery some blankets shoes that were way to big to fit my feet. Some old frames a couple lamps and a bunch of magazines. Next to it their was this little black book. Not much to it and i just had to buy something because we were done for the day. I bought that little black book for 25 cents and i never thought it would of changed our life's forever.

Its the beginning of august.

School is back in session im in math class and I pull out my little black book. I begin to doodle in the empty pages I put my name in the front so if I was to lose it they would know its mine. I flip to the very back and thiers a map of Oklahoma and Payne county from way back in the day. I noticed a little gold x and over the map it said "Where the x lies you will find Treasure" at the bottom it stated Trunk. Hmm

Like car trunk or elephant trunk. I barely could even understand the map it was so old.

That evening my grandma had picked me up from the bus stop.

Grandma look at this map' can you read it? We finally pull up at the house and she said Destiny. This is where we are on this map. And i said well how far away are we from this X?

She said. Well that over by ol Jean and Ricky Maintops land.

Well you think they would let us look for something on their land? Grandma said they had passed quite a few years back and that the land had been vacant since. Well can we go look and see what we can find?

And so we did.

There wasnt much to the place anymore the grass all growed up the barn and house was barely standing. As we kick our way through the grass and thorns we finally make it to the 4 corners of where it seperated and no their was no elephant their and no their was no car their and i was kinda stumped myself. Well Grandma looks the only treasures here is us. As she laughs and said well let me see the map she said trunk. Destiny your sittin on the treasure! I wondered why this old tree truck was dug up along time ago. It took about everything we had in us to move that heavy thing. And their it was. And old metal rusted bucket barried in the ground with a paint can pop top. I was glad I broughton my pocket knife. When we got it opened a note that read "If your reading this my fortune belongs to you" and in that old rusted metal bucket was a bag that contained 20 thousand dollars. My Grandma couldnt believe what she was seeing and I didnt know what I was looking at. All I new is that it was money and She grabbed me up and said Destiny I cant believe this. Its all yours. Immediately she helped me grab the bag and took me to house and said what do you want to do first. I said ... I want to split it with you Grandma and she smiled at me.

For the rest of our days we always have that story to tell others we even made front page of the newspaper. We will never forget that little black book I found at that yard sale. That is how you turn 25 cents into 20 thousand dollars.

literature
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.