Humans logo

'Light of Secrets'

Book Preview

By Just A GirlPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

I grab three bottles and take them to them. I hand one to each of them.

"Thanks, baby doll," Lian murmurs to me with a wink. I roll my eyes and go back to the kitchen. I grab my glass of white wine and the rest of the bottle and sneak up the back staircase to my room.

I sit in my room and down the glass of wine. It has a nice, cold, crisp taste to it. I always look forward to these parties. Except for last year's. But that is beside the fact.

I take the foil from the half-empty bottle of wine and start downing the rest. Well, that was until I was interrupted.

"Are you trying to get drunk?" a deep, familiar voice interrupts me. I pull the bottle away from my lips and look over to see Lian walking towards me. He takes a glance at the broken mirror and a glance at my bedroom door.

"I do what I want," I say with a cocky attitude and put the bottle back to my lips.

"There are guys here. Soon to be drunk and you're a young, attractive girl. That's a big mistake, Hazel."

I roll my eyes at him. "They can do whatever they want to me. Nothing new." I laugh and put the bottle back to my lips once again, downing the rest.

"That's enough!" He yanks the bottle from me.

Page Break

Chapter Two

I stood up fast, "What the hell, Lian!"

Then the alcohol really hit me. I downed that wine quicker than I thought I did.

"Exactly. Sit your ass down." Lian pushes me lightly back onto my bed by my shoulders.

Part of me wants to just deck him in the face for taking the bottle from my hands and for trying to tell me what to do. But for me, acting like the adult I am, let it go.

He throws the bottle away in my small green trash can that is barely even full, then comes over and sits next to me on my bed. It's making me feel a little bit uncomfortable. I don't know if it's the alcohol making me feel like that or if it's just me.

"So, what's your name?" he asks in an almost demanding voice.

I look at him confused.

"You know my name," I whisper.

"Just answer me.”

I roll my eyes. "Hazel," I say quieter than I planned to.

"I'm sorry, I don't think I heard you."

Okay, asshole, I know damn well you heard me.

"Hazel!" I nearly yell.

He flashes this boyish grin at me once again. "Okay Hazel, so tell me why you think what you are doing is okay?"

What? Is he serious?

I tilt my head and furrow my brows to give away that I am a bit confused about why he is asking me this question.

"Why do you think it's okay to get drunk when you're only 18? Why do you think it's okay to give attitude to people you just met?"

Honestly, part of me wants to tell him to get out of my room because he doesn't know what I have been through in the past. But he seems like the type of boy that, if I do that, would go downstairs to tell his father or whoever the hell he came with. Then his father or whoever would tell their boss, then their boss will confront Uncle Bobby. Which would be bad, very bad.

"Because if you were in my shoes, you'd understand," I mutter and look out my window, wishing I could just jump out the window and fall into a better life.

_________________________

Light of Secrets is coming in 2019. Be ready for the drama, the fighting, the laughter, the crying, the hatred, the heart breaking, and last but not least... the love.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Just A Girl

A 24-Year-Old Self-Published author, a mother, and a college student.

Loves to write and read fiction... (Especially Romance

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.