Humans logo

Let's do it for the love. Am excerpt from the "Manley book"

Not all men are dogs, some are jack-as-is and monkeys too.

By E. Lloyd KPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

Just an excerpt from my latest book project for your reading pleasure.

… I would kill myself if they ever tried to do that to me, Libby had said. While she was sharing the story of Kamal and Selma with me.

“Don’t talk like that Libby.” I rebuked her, “you shouldn’t go about saying things like that.”

“But it’s true, I mean it. What kind of life is that? Living your whole life with someone who you don’t even like, let alone love? Just because your parents think they know better than you what is good for you? They may do it to Kamal and get away with it. But that’s as far as they are going to get with those old-fashioned rituals unless they decide to go back to the baby pit for another child to practice on. Not Libby though thank you very much.”

“Don’t you think that people can find happiness within an arranged marriage, ever?”

“Good for them if they do, but not for me. I will go find myself my own dream-lover with no help from anyone.”

“You know”, I said. “I should be really thrilled hearing that kind of talk coming from you. Since it would seem like I don’t stand a snowball’s chance in hell of your folks choosing someone like me, for their daughter. But I can’t help but feel a bit concerned about you taking this stance.”

“I am a big girl, I can fend for myself.” She defended herself. “You don’t have to go about worrying about me.”

“…Is this the way how it works in your household?” I was to have asked her later on. “You have to pass every exam that you sit?”

“Why else would I sit them, if not to pass them?” She blurted back at me.

“There are people in this world, who do believe and will swear on their mother’s grave to the fact that one can learn an awful lot more from failure. Or at least, from failing an exam. As it is in this your particular case here than from passing one. You know, failure tends to get one to put things into proper perspective sometime and to try harder the next time. And then, one might even be able to pick up on a thing or two which one might have missed on the first take.”

“I would much rather pass it on the first take and be done with it thank you. Which by the way, is exactly what I am expecting to happen this very summer. I just want to be done with this and be out of here. The sooner I am out, the better.”

“And why is that? Don’t you like it here? Or is it somebody else that you can’t stand to see anymore? Me perhaps?”

“No, no, this is not about you. I just think it’s time for me to start moving on with my life. Start doing my own thing, in my own way.”

“So what, or who is preventing you from doing your own thing now as it is?”

“Can we change the subject? Please? I don’t want to get into that sort of thing now. Maybe someday in the future, but not now.”

“Yes, I was married before,” I told her this in response to her queries as to my marital status, or more like, as to why a nice guy like me is not. You know? Married?

“I was to have gotten myself hitched at twenty-six years of age, I told her. That marriage lasted for four years. In fact, we were together for only three of those four years when she up and left, a year later, we were divorced.”

“She had found someone else. Someone who just happened to have had much more money than I did. So she started acting up. Behaving weird, and blaming me for any and everything. And then, I was to have committed the biggest of faux pas ever, when I was to have given her a cheap gift I had picked up at the pawnshop on her birthday. That was all I could afford or barter trade for, but it’s the thought that counts. Right?

She had said that she needed space. It wasn’t long afterward though before that space was nicely filled by someone else, someone who just happened to be her brother’s best friend and co-worker. They were both jockeys riding at the Woodbine racetrack at the time and were locked tight in an epic and fierce battle to become the top jockey of the year. Needless to say, the money was rolling in in that arena. Coincidence or what? Little buggers weren’t just riding horses though. They were riding bitches too.”

Libby gasped. “Are you serious? I can’t believe you just said that.”

“Bitches as in dogs. You know? You know, these competitive sports professional types?” I said further, lying through my grinning white teeth. “They just seemed to delight themselves in spending time and money on extra-curricular, extra-judicial activities, such as those which cannot face the light of a Sunny day,” I would have said all of that still continuing along in the deceit, trying to deter her from the real and original meaning of what she knew darn well that I was saying. She was not fooled, that’s for sure.

“Yeah, right,” she said.

From the book. How to train a wild puppy dog named, Manley.

book reviews
Like

About the Creator

E. Lloyd K

E Lloyd Kelly is an author, poet, podcaster, & blogger. Born in Jamaica, W.I. Now resides in Mtl. Where, when not writing, drives a shuttle bus at McGill University Check my podcast at inkyitalk.com. Connect: https://linktr.ee/writingelk

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.