Humans logo

Kids Don't Realize How Good They Have It

Where are light-up shoes for adults?

By Alfie JanePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
11
Kids Don't Realize How Good They Have It
Photo by sebastiaan stam on Unsplash

I miss the days I could light up a room. I think it was first grade when my mom bought me a pair of light-up shoes. Everywhere I went, red lights blinked to announce my presence.

And then, one day, they were gone. I don't know what happened. Maybe I outgrew them? I don't know, but I miss them.

With so many things getting a reboot these days, I'm waiting to see when childhood fashions become trendy again. I watched overalls get a glow-up; when will we see light-up shoes get the same treatment? I'd love to find a pair again.

The beauty of being a millennial is the nostalgia being mainstream again

I don't care that I'm in my early thirties. If a childhood cartoon comes on, I'm going to watch it. It's fantastic seeing cartoons like Sailor Moon, Dragon Ball Z, and Rugrats getting a reboot now that we're adults. Lisa Frank is coming back. And coloring books are as popular as they were when I was a kid.

Nobody's judging you for still watching cartoons while in your thirties. It's like cartoons aged with us, and now there are more adult cartoons than ever.

But the one thing that's missing from all of this childhood nostalgia is light-up shoes. I know you can find a pair on the internet if you looked, but they're expensive. I'm not sure I'd shell out nearly 100 bucks for a pair.

If light-up shoes became a fad again, I'd die happy

Just imagine it. Imagine getting up in the morning and getting ready for work. You walk out the door, and you see a whole slew of people walking around with light-up shoes.

On foggy and rainy days, it'll be easier to see people trying to pass you on the sidewalk. At night, nobody can sneak towards you because you'll see the blinking lights long before you see them. If you're driving around at night, a jogger's blinking shoes can help you avoid a tragedy.

The more I think about it, the more I struggle with finding a reason to not make light-up shoes a thing. Maybe if you were the person trying to rob somebody, but then again, you shouldn't be robbing people in the first place.

Final Thought

Right now, the world is a depressing place. It's been well over six months since the last presidential election, and there are still Trump flags everywhere. The pandemic still has a death grip on most of the planet. People around me are losing hope that the pandemic is going to end.

There is so much misinformation going around the vaccine that it's getting harder for me to believe it's going to end. No one wants to wear a mask forever; no matter how much it looks like someone enjoys it.

With all of the crap happening in the world, why not have our footwear help us light a room? It'll add to the little scraps of nostalgic happiness of my generation.

Let's face it. Being a millennial sucks. The world blames us for why the world is in a downward spiral, and when we try to speak out, the older generations tell us to shut up. Gen Z is starting to see it too, but they're not getting as much crap as we are.

So let us have our coloring books and 90s cartoons. Let us have our scrunchies, Pokemon, Yugi-oh, and our light-up shoes. If you're going to blame my generation for why the world is a giant dumpster fire, at least let us enjoy our bits of nostalgia. With all of the gaslighting we get for speaking out, we deserve it.

pop culture
11

About the Creator

Alfie Jane

A wandering soul who writes about anything and everything. Former expat, future cook and writer. Will take any challenge that comes her way.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.