Humans logo

kazmyn and vocal, more in 2024

because sharing and being vulnerable makes the world go round

By kazmyn Published 3 months ago 2 min read
Like

I know, new years resolutions? Silly, because we could start being a better version of ourselves any old day and yet we deliberately CHOOSE to slack off until the world grows a year older and we make changes by default. But hey! I have goals for 2024. Call me tacky. I just have a really good feeling i’m going to achieve them. Like everything has been amounting to this. Like something, anything, everything, has to give, because I know its about time.

My 2024 vision board is so full of goals and mantras that its hard to make out any one thing. I think I thrive in the chaos of a busy life, and I want this year to be a beautiful, organized kind of chaos if you will. I don’t want to sit before my crappily-written goals on a white board and ponder how I will achieve them. I have connections, I have drive, and on top of it all, I have Vocal, which is practically a public portfolio of my writing pieces, that double as a direct look into my soul.

I have never been afraid to speak my mind, but I often share too much without allowing myself the time to be more thoughtful and rounded in my answer. I think Vocal will help me in giving the outlet to write my feelings out as they are felt, raw and intense. From there I have the option to edit and revise whenever and wherever I see fit, and can see all my thoughts side by side, whether that be in poem or short-story form. I am given the space to share my work for all to see without plastering it on my social media, and I appreciate that deeply. Being able to connect with an audience of talented writers far and wide that I have not yet me is something I cherish greatly, as their feedback and support is a kind of comfort that is unlike the support of your loved ones. No one HAS to compliment your work or take the time to read it, so it feels special to know that strangers find solace in my words and take the time to let me know.

I guess if nothing else, Vocal is going to be my outlet this year, and I will push myself to move further from my notes app and more into a more public domain of sharing that allows for growth. I don’t want to grow alone. I also don’t know who needs to hear my words just as much as I need theirs, so its imperative that I be willing to put them out there. Yes, some things are just for my eyes, but in the same way, life is just too damn short to keep it all to myself. As a musician, I have found that the songs I often get tired of sharing are the one’s that people resonate with the most. To know that words i’ve written years ago and sang hundreds of times CONTINUE to find their way into people’s hearts is a reminder if not a wake up call that MY WORDS MATTER, AND SO DO YOURS. We are all in need of connection, and its silly to think that all our lives are so vastly different. My writing is an extension of myself, and with the help of Vocal this year, I hope my funny little rhymes and achingly accurate stories of self-discovery and introspection reach people out there I never thought possible.

Stream of Consciousness
Like

About the Creator

kazmyn

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.