Humans logo

Is It Too Late For New Years Resolutions?

If it is, oh well. I have a few

By AshleylxPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Is It Too Late For New Years Resolutions?
Photo by Moritz Knöringer on Unsplash

Last year I wrote an article about practical New Years Resolutions, and I think I managed to take on a few of them.

Besides my morbid sense of humor, and lack of tact in describing all the problems that came with 2020, a lot of my article was true.

This year, though, I want to set some goals that seem out of reach. Things that don’t seem like someone scrambling to ‘catch up’ after the year from hell (2020…)

I’m aiming high.

I’m going to pass, and get A’s, in ALL of my nursing classes

By Pearse O'Halloran on Unsplash

Nursing school is hard as balls, and I want to do more than just pass. I want to thrive.

I want to look at my grades and actually feel like I’ve accomplished something.

I don’t want to be that idiot in the back that didn’t even know an assignment was due…(and I’ve been that idiot for most of my life)

I want to use the expensive planner I bought and nail this academic year.

I’ve got graduation on the mind, and graduation comes with big-ass dollar signs.

I want to be midway through the adoption process by the end of next year

By NeONBRAND on Unsplash

We’re doing the classes, learning all the things.

I want to be a mom, and I’m not going to let the chaos of this coming year get in the way.

Kids will always take your time and focus off of other things, and because of that, I don’t believe there’s ever a perfect time to have a baby.

We're doing this.

I’m going to find an actual therapist and deal with my shit

By youssef naddam on Unsplash

I’ve got issues out the whazoo.

I don’t foresee myself accomplishing anything unless those issues are faced and handled.

My wife and I have had our share of issues, and I’ve got a million personal problems to work out.

I’m taking control of the bullshit this year, and I’m going to make some serious changes.

I’m going back to church

By Cosmic Timetraveler on Unsplash

I was raised in a disturbingly conservative family. Hell was only one cuss word away…

But, my wife and I are both Christians.

We’ve stayed away from church because it’s borderline impossible to find one that would let us in, much less welcome us as members.

But this year we’ve decided to find one, one where we’re welcomed in, together.

I miss having a solid community and a place to gather with friends who share beliefs similar to my own.

I miss the structure.

I’m going to spend as much time as possible with my grandma

By Tiago Muraro on Unsplash

I need to make more memories with her.

She’s not lucid most of the time, and I don’t know how much longer I’ll have her in my life. I wish I had more certainty, but I don't.

I don’t want to lose her and then spend a bunch of time regretting not making the most of the time we have left.

She wouldn't want me to do that. She would want me to live life with no regrets, and to be as happy as I can be.

It’s hard for me to be around her sometimes because I miss the way things were, and I want her to be normal again. It's overwhelmingly sad.

Her going back to how she was, how I remember her, well... it's never going to happen, and I need to move past it, be in the present, and enjoy her while I can.

By Julie Tupas on Unsplash

There are many things I want to do in 2022, but more than anything, I want to be in the present. I don’t want to dwell on previous years anymore or wish things could rewind.

I want to be here, now, always.

list
Like

About the Creator

Ashleylx

I write what I'm thinking, and sometimes it makes sense.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.