Humans logo

Internal 330am Silent Alarm

Usually starts with a HOT FLASH

By RachelAnnPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
1
This is way, way too early for any human, especially me.

This is the third night in a row that my eyelids flew open at 3:30 in the morning! What is going on? I’m not tired and I am rudely rushed out of a great dream. I mean these dreams are so real I feel like I am really really there. So why ruin them by waking me up? Well, now that I am up I might as well get up and make some tea.

I sat on the sofa waiting for the kettle to pop so I can sip some Tulsi Tea with lavender and honey because that always relaxes me. Staring out my window at the dark sky it’s just so void and still, it can be creepy to some but I happen to like nighttime. Maybe because it’s quiet as most of the world sleeps. It fascinates me how magically perfect this world turns and cycles in and out of evolutionary periods.

Caught in the daydream of those beautiful cycles, my kettle pops me right out of that one and directly into the kitchen for my tea. Returning to the table by the large picture window, I spotted tiny little eyes staring at me. I whispered hello, as I always do, thinking it was the neighborhood feline I feed. Clouds are moving in as I try and determine if it’s really him. Sipping my tea and staring into the dark clouds, I drift off again dreaming of clouds, stars, and how I will witness the sunrise at this rate.

Eyes now closed, allowing myself to sink into meditation, maybe there is something that needs my attention. I never ask for anything I only seek to know what it is I need to know at that moment. It couldn’t have been but ten minutes when I got this feeling that I was being watched and it wasn’t by the cat. My eyes rolled all around looking to see if it came from within. With no luck at that, I opened my eyes to an owl? A tiny night owl staring at me. Tilting my head in question, the owl did the same, mimicking my head movements.

Wow, how cool is he?

We sat there staring at each other for a long time until my cat realized what was sitting so close to the window and jumped up on the table to attack. Scaring the crap out of all of us, including him. No more owl tonight, I’m sure, thanks to Reiki. Now my tea needed some heating and I might as well start my yoga early since I’m awake. Why not get my day started earlier? It’s Wednesday and that means I can head to the rink early and skate without a crowd.

3:30 am Thursday morning and I am awake, again. This is becoming a habit. Stumbling to the kitchen to set my kettle and I can feel someone behind me. Not like feeling Reiki or Maxx behind me. Something different and it’s giving me chills. I’ll turn around slowly so I don’t freak whoever it is out. The OWL! Hello friend, we meet again at this hour. I know nothing of you or your life so maybe this is your normal daytime? Something I may want to look into, right?

With my tea ready at the table, I start my meditation and my owl friend is still right there looking at me. Hopefully, Reiki stays asleep this time so we can all keep our normal heart rhythms. Tap, tap, tap, disrupts my flow but that could be anything and I regain my focus. TAP, TAP, TAP, flip the lids of my eyes and I am now, face to face with my night owl. Holy crap is he close! Is this normal for them to be this close to a human? My heart is beating out of my chest and I am frozen by his glare. A hand on my shoulder makes me scream which makes him scream back and the owl is gone.

“What the hell are you doing up babe? And you scared the shit out of me!” he whispers to me. “ONE, why are you whispering now(giggling) and TWO, YOU are the one creeping around corners grabbing shoulders of innocent unexpecting victims!” and we both laughed. The owl was gone and now we both are doing yoga at five in the morning. When we were finished I shared with Maxx about the 3:30 wake ups for the last week was now involving a night owl. “I saw that when I walked out. “It’s their time to prey on their food. He may be looking at you or Reiki.” he laughed. I hate when he puts thoughts like that in my head so now I need to research.

3:30 Friday morning but this time I just woke up naturally and made my tea before I sat down to meditate. I waited a little longer to get started so my night owl friend could arrive. It’s a big assumption of me to call him mine but I did my research and it is odd for them to get close to us human species. So, this means, he is a special owl that finds me as interesting as I do him. But half my tea is gone and he is not here. Maybe it was just a coincidence like Maxx said.

DING! The meditation ends and it is now time to slowly return to the present moment. I open my eyes slowly and quickly have to stop a scream because Mr. Night Owl is creepily right in front of me!! Dude! Where were the warning taps!? And my GOD he looks bigger! Because he is much closer! On the window sill right in front of me so I sit very very still. Staring at him and all of his beautiful colors he tilts his head as if to say “what?” and I whispered to him “why do you visit me? Do you need anything? Do you have babies out there that need help?”.

I decided to get dressed and see if that was what he was attempting to do because animals can do that. I had to sneak throughout the bedroom and get dressed so Maxx didn’t wake up and stop me. Thankfully he isn’t a light sleeper and I successfully made it outside but I didn’t see Night Owl on the window sill. Looking up I noticed him perched on the roofline and then he flew to the tree at the corner of the yard. Of course, it’s the darkest corner and of course, I went there trembling. I must be crazy because I KNOW they can swoop and claw if they feel threatened. I did it anyway because I’m just like that.

He was just sitting there staring at me. No babies that needed help. No nest. No nothing. Just staring but then I started to feel the crisp air entering my lungs and the smell of fresh dew building on the leaves and grass. The night sky was extra gorgeous with more visible stars so I decided to join my friend. I sat down and laid back on the grass, taking in the beauty of the night and the company of my Night Owl friend.

Just staring at him and wondering if this could actually mean something more than what I am assuming. Trying to speak to the owl without words. A sort of subliminal messaging to him. “You walked past me for three days. I sat in the tree by your window and you never saw me. Do you often miss obvious things in your life? You must, because you missed me.” he softly spoke. Holy crap are you really talking to me? I must be dreaming. This is a dream because owls do not speak. Right? You don’t speak to humans unless we are dreaming. It’s with those words that I was now very aware of where I was. Night Owl still sitting on the same branch staring at me.

Stumbling back inside, disappointed in me for cutting off my own magical dream. This would have been the first since I was a kid, too! UGH! Might as well get on with my day and definitely do some yoga, like I say I’m going to do every day, but never do it. And I really need to soak in a bath tonight because this Night Owl friend of mine has my mind all twisted up.

Saturday morning at 3:30, on the nose, awake again but I am skipping the table today! Making my tea and heading straight outside because the sky is fascinating. Maybe Night Owl will be there and maybe he won’t. I am just going to enjoy the air and the scenery. Tonight is a little crisper but it’s not damp so the grass won’t chill my back. I get to my spot and he’s not there. Hmmm, meditate anyway.

Ding! And the meditation ends, instructing me to slowly open my eyes and return to the present moment. What an amazing site the sunrise is this morning. Whoa, the amount of rich warm colors! I never watched the complete process ever. This is overwhelmingly beautiful that I can hardly breathe. And then the wind brushing over me with scents of the morning process makes it such an experience! The sun’s coming up and warming everything as it does. But the best part is the shadows it makes. Oh, and the birds are waking up. Oh crap, that means Maxx is waking up! He will freak out that I have been outside all this time! I gotta get inside now!

Three more days passed of my 3:30 am internal alarm waking me to remind me how wonderful the time spent is. And three days of no Mr. Night Owl, not even in my dreams. But I got up and enjoyed my outdoor meditation time with the greeting of the morning sun and LIVE art. Man, I am so less stressed about a lot of things too! Stupid things that happened don’t seem to have me so rattled anymore. And that is a really really great thing. I’m always angry when I’m stressed and I get those awful headaches. Be gone with it all! I love it for all the great reasons and I’ll keep doing it every morning and hope Night Owl returns.

literature
1

About the Creator

RachelAnn

Thoughts and messages flow to me

Some in story....some in ryhme.... I write them to share with all of you who need them.

If and when you find it.....it's perfect timing for you....it means you're ready to hear it...or read it in this case LOL

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.