Humans logo

Incarnadine

Inferno

By Haris K.Published about a year ago 3 min read
Like

I remember the day I left home to join the army vividly. It was a chilly autumn morning, and as I hugged my family goodbye, I felt a mix of emotions: excitement, fear, and a sense of duty. I knew I was going to war, and I knew that I might not come back.

The journey to the front lines was grueling and exhausting. We marched through endless deserts and treacherous mountains, with only the hope of victory to keep us going. I remember how my feet ached with every step, how the weight of my backpack seemed to get heavier with each passing day. But despite the physical and mental toll of the journey, I felt a sense of purpose deep within me. I was going to war, not for glory or personal gain, but for something greater than myself.

As we got closer to the war zone, my resolve hardened. I knew that the battle ahead of us would be tough, but I was determined to give it my all. I trained relentlessly, honing my skills with weapons and tactics until they became second nature. And when the first battle finally came, I was ready.

The chaos of war was unlike anything I had ever experienced. Bullets whizzed past my head, explosions shook the ground beneath my feet, and screams echoed all around me. In the midst of it all, I saw my fellow soldiers falling one by one. The fear was overwhelming, and the temptation to flee was strong. But I knew that I couldn't give up. I had to be brave, not just for myself, but for my country and my comrades.

Over the course of the war, I saw things that no one should ever have to see. I saw friends and enemies alike lose limbs, lose their lives. I saw families torn apart, homes destroyed. But through it all, I never lost sight of why I was there. I was fighting for something greater than myself, for the values and freedoms that my country stood for.

There were times when the weight of it all became too much. There were moments when I wanted to give up, when I wondered if all of this sacrifice was worth it. But every time those thoughts crept in, I thought of my family, my friends, my fellow soldiers. I thought of the sacrifices they had made, and I knew that I couldn't let them down.

And so I pressed on, through the blood and the mud, through the tears and the pain. I fought with everything I had, giving my all to the cause that I believed in. And in the end, we emerged victorious. The war was over, and I was heading home.

But as I looked around me, I knew that things would never be the same. I had seen too much, experienced too much. I had lost friends and gained scars that would never fully heal. But I also knew that I had done something important, something that mattered. I had fought for my country, for my fellow citizens, for the values that we held dear.

As I looked back on my time in the army, I knew that I had learned something important about courage and valor. I had learned that bravery wasn't the absence of fear, but rather the ability to face it head-on. I had learned that sacrifice wasn't something to be taken lightly, but rather a necessary part of defending the things that we hold dear. And I had learned that war was a terrible thing, but sometimes, it was the only way to preserve the peace.

In the end, I was proud of what I had accomplished. I had shown bravery and courage in the face of adversity, and I had made a difference in the world. And though the memories of war would always stay with me, I knew that they would only serve to make me stronger, more resilient, and more determined than ever to fight for what I believed in.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Haris K.

Letter by letter, word by word....

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.