Humans logo

If necessity is the mother of invention, then creativity is it's grandmother!

Another day in the life of an artist.

By L.A. CumminsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

When we first moved into our house, the master bedroom was only being used for storage. The door was missing a panel, so we covered it with a framed picture, put a piece of furniture in front of the door and pretended the room didn't exist. Last week, we decided we needed a larger room and moved into it. Now, I think we can all agree that a gaping hole in one's bedroom door is not desirable. You would have thought I hit the lottery when I found the panel on the top shelf in the closet. The problem, it was in three pieces. I was able to glue it back together and found it would, in fact, fit back into the door. I did have to question just how well it would hold up, from day to day use.

Years ago, I decoupaged classic art pictures to a mannequin and sold it on eBay. My creative side came roaring back out and I decided to do the same to the panel. I went to a friend's bookstore Bonnett's Book Store to inquire about art books. He actually gave me a box full of art catalogs and magazines. The box had been sitting around in his shop for years and he was happy to pass it on to me. That was my first donation to my new mission.

Based on my past experience with decoupage, I knew the importance of having the proper tools. I gathered together my favorite scissors, bought an exacto knife and a fresh jar of Mod Podge (love that stuff) and went to work. Since a door has two sides, the panel has an A side and a B side. It's two creative pieces in one! It has layers of paper and glue. That panel should last longer than the approximately 100 year old door it came out of. I have to admit, when we leave this house, the master bedroom is probably going to have a gaping hole in the door.

The joy of seeing the panel come together was inspiring. I loved going through the catalogs and picking out pictures to cut into. The beveled edges of the panel were perfect for framing. Although Mod Podge is a glue, it's made to cover images, schmeld them down and create a protective layer. The matte finish has a way of adding a patina to the piece. The door panel was the perfect way to dig back into "The Podge". It was a great practice run and now my bedroom has a lovely piece of art covering that offensive hole. That brings me great joy and happiness, not to mention privacy.

Last night was the moment of truth. Will the panel fit into the door, now that it has added layers? Will the repairs hold, or will it break under the pressure of installing it into the door? It took a huge amount of patience on my hubby's part (thanks Robb) but he did it! We still need to do some repairs to the door but it LOOKS AMAZING!

This is what you see when you come to the top of the stairs, on the second floor.
View from inside the bedroom.

Ok, I'm hooked! I'm so pleased with my wooden panel that I will be on the lookout for old doors! As I walk around my house, I see new potential in things just laying around. I can't wait to get out to the thrift stores. Who knows what I will find to inspire me?

Meanwhile, I have several other projects that I have set my sights on. Do you see the mannequin inside the room, in the picture of the panel-less door? That's Izzart, a piece of art I did 30 years ago. My next project is to clean it up and add some "podged" black and white art inside the form. I have a fabulous catalog of dance photography that will be perfect for the project! So, check back for more on Izzart. It's going to be fun! If you would like to help out, this "Podge" habit can get a little pricey.

art
Like

About the Creator

L.A. Cummins

Let the creative juices flow!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.