Humans logo

If I Could Turn Back Time

Me, myself and I in 2020

By Colleen Millsteed Published 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 4 min read
8
If I Could Turn Back Time
Photo by Daniele Levis Pelusi on Unsplash

What would I tell myself back in January 2020, if I could? Who is that January 2020 woman and what does she know today, that she needed to know back then?

I would tell 2020 Colleen to buckle up and hunker down as the world is going to turn into a crazy place. A place where she may start to believe the zombie apocalypse was destined, as people often feared.

I’d lecture her until she finally listened and prepared herself for crazy empty shopping shelves and the absolute impossibility to find so much as a single roll of toilet paper. She will never believe me though. I mean who would have believed that every day staples would be practically non existent back then?

I can’t be angry with her. So she won’t listen. Did I really expect her too? It’s not like she’ll ever believe the world would become a possible Stephen King plot!

She does need to know that she may as well save her money. The thirteen theatre productions and music concert tickets she purchased were not going to see fruition. Not in 2020 anyway. Some concerts and productions would be rescheduled to 2021 and some would be cancelled altogether. These being the overseas acts because Australia’s international borders would close.

Really, I mean really, 2020 Colleen is only going to think she’s gone insane in a very short time. I tell you, she is never going to believe me. Trust me on that!

Then to top it off I would need to tell her that the concerts rescheduled for 2021, will be pushed back again, with a promise they’ll occur in 2022. So girl, save your money. Two years is a long time to tie up all that cash, with no interest at all received.

I’d joyfully give 2020 Colleen some fantastic news. I’d surprise her by telling her to be patient as her home body, solitude loving self, would be perfect just as she is. These traits would be enough to save her mental health and she will in fact shine throughout the many lockdowns.

She’d get her greatest wish. To be able to work at home in solitude. She will truly shine. She needs to know I am super proud of her mental acumen and strength that shone so bright throughout this crazy time.

There would be a conversation on her finances and to calmly ride the down turn of the stock market. I’d ease her stress and let her know she will be just fine if she just rides it out. Heavy emphasis not too sell to cut her losses like so many who held shares would do. Just ride the wave girl and you’ll do just fine.

The other good news that would lift her spirits is to do with her two sons. She misses them terribly and even though the three of them are extremely close and live in the same city, she only sees them once a month. Life just keeps getting in the way.

So again, I can ease her fears and let her know that due to the crazy state of the world, life slows right down. Her youngest son will move back home with her to save some money. Her oldest, as he works for himself, will come over once a week to work for the day. I can happily let her know the days of missing her boys will be far behind her.

In fact I know she’ll breeze through these crazy times and secretly hope that the craziness can be drawn out some, so she may continue to work from home and spend the time with her boys.

I know that to all of us here in 2021, that may sound a little selfish, but she doesn’t want full craziness. I know she will just want the world to learn from the slower pace and people to realise the better work / life balance of a slower world, is healthier in the long run.

Would I tee her up for the pain about to slam her to the ground? Would she want to be forewarned on the loss and grief heading her way? I’m not so sure she would. So I’m hesitant to let her know that in a few short months she is going to lose her best friend of thirty years. No, I think I’ll keep this imminent pain to myself. She’d only run herself ragged trying to find a way to change the outcome. This would cause her more heartache than she could bear, as she’d blame herself for not being able to save him.

That would pretty much be the extent of my conversation with 2020 Colleen. Why? Trust me if you knew her, you’d know she likes to learn her lessons the hard way. She finds it difficult to ask for help and takes so much of what she hears on board, that it’s truly best if I give her the basic sketch of the future and allow her to flesh out the rest herself. It’s how she has gained her most prized human trait, that of her strength.

2020 Colleen, I’ll catch you in 2021. Until then, au revoir, with much love.

Cher, help me out here please :

**********************************************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

fact or fiction
8

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    I'm so glad the pandemic enabled you to spend more time with your sons

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.