Humans logo

I Was Blind! - Chidinma Opens up About Healing From Blindness

Chidinma tells her story

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

It was headline news in 2021 when Nigerian singer Chidinma Ekile decided to leave secular music and focus wholly on gospel music. Since then, she has gone on to release a number of gospel records including "Jehovah Overdo", "Ifunanya Gi", "Chukwuoma", "This Love", and more.

In a new video titled "My Story" posted on her Youtube channel, Chidinma opens up about one of the reasons she believes that nothing worked for her until she switched over to gospel music. She opens up about being blind, her healing from blindness, and the covenant that was made because of the healing. Here is what Chidinma had to say about the whole thing.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Speaking about her blindness, healing, and the covenant made because of it, Chidinma revealed saying:

CHIDINMA EKILE: I was born blind. I didn't open my eyes at all, and of course that became a challenge. My parents tried all that they could to get this baby to see. Everything they tried medically proved abortive and we had to resort to God. So here is my mum being a prayer warrior, like she just started praying all of a sudden. Started fasting from nowhere. It's not like she believed that was going to work because she had tried every other thing. She started going to church, started praying, and I eventually opened my eyes which was such a miracle. But even at that, according to her, the eyes were so red, like blood red. And then that became another issue. Another round of fasting and praying, anointing oil here and there, Bibles here and there. I mean, these are things my parents weren't used to but they had to because of the situation. And eventually, I started to see and I remember that my mum, according to her, she had promised to give me back to God if God could help her solve that problem. So that's where church comes in. She started taking me to church. I was going with her to church every time and it became a tradition for myself and my mum. So we started going to church together. So without my knowledge, my mum made a deal with God. You know how people just go into covenants without telling the person and it was her just having a deal with God like if you do this for me, I will do this for you, and I opened my eyes. And I think that is why I've not been able to really function in the capacity that God has given me without God. So everything that I've tried to do outside of God, I feel has never worked, because of that covenant.

What do you think about what Chidinma said? Let me knowyour thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never end

In addition to running a blogging page, I also run a gaming Facebook group called "Jide's Games" where you can play real games right now to win big naira. To join the JIDE'S GAMES Facebook group, click here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.