Humans logo

I Don't Think So!

Crazy things you'll never catch me doing

By Jasmine AguilarPublished about a year ago 5 min read
1
I Don't Think So!
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

You've no doubt heard of the bucket list - a list of desires you'd like to accomplish before your earthly times up. Well, an anti-bucket list is the very opposite of that.

Instead of making a list of things you want to do before you, you know, kick the bucket, the anti-bucket list is a list of things that you absolutely do not want to do and will avoid doing at all costs. Maybe you've already done something once and told yourself, "never again!"

Here are some things I will never do:

Get on any free fall rides

Won't be riding this again, author image

I like rollercoasters for the most part and have even found myself getting back in line to ride a few twice. I enjoy the adrenaline rush and anticipation of waiting in line, and then waiting as the car rolls closer and closer towards the top.

But there is one ride in particular that I will not get on! The free fall ride. By a free fall ride, I mean a ride in which you sit amongst approximately 4 to 6 other people. Once everyone is secured, the ride slowly ascends (some rides I’ve heard of ascend rapidly), stops only briefly if at all once it reaches the top, and then… whoosh! ... is sent plummeting to the ground.

I’ve seen this sort of ride in action at a few amusement parks I went to this summer. While I like roller coasters, as I’ve previously mentioned, I do not like the feeling of falling or I should say falling in a free fall fashion.

The closest I have gotten to getting on such a ride is this roller coaster right here at an amusement park that’s just a few hours away from me.

The rollercoaster starts out as many rollercoasters do. Slow as it creeps towards the top. However, the top is a sharp incline in which the ride drops. As soon as the ride reached the top and the inevitable was about to happen, all I could think in my mind were a few expletives.

As the ride dropped, I found myself hunched over, my face covered by my arm rest waiting for the drop to be over. That part only happens during the first part of the roller coaster. The rest of the ride behaves just like any typical roller coaster.

While I didn’t mind the rest of the ride at all, I got some what of a taste of what a free falling sort of ride is like. You go right ahead and ride and get your adrenaline junkie thrill. I’ll watch from the side lines. Thank you!

Eat Mushrooms

By Camila Melim on Unsplash

Mushrooms are on the top of my list of least favorite and despised foods. Portabellas. shitake. I don’t care what kind of mushrooms they are. If I see even the most miniscule piece of a mushroom on my pizza or in any dish for that matter, I can guarantee you that I will find it and dispose of it properly. The only time I have (and ever will!) eaten mushrooms is a frozen fish fillet with a breading made from shitake mushrooms and some other ingredients at my local grocery store. I can’t remember what kind of fish it was. It was either cod or tilapia or some sort of white fish of the sort. The mushrooms were finely grounded down and made into a breading.

If you are able to hide any mushrooms in a dish so exceptionally well like that mushroom breaded fish I ate, then that is the only way I will ever eat them.

Hold a Tarantula

By Julian Schultz on Unsplash

Most creepy crawlies and other creatures that would freak some people out really don’t bother me. I don’t mind snakes. I don’t mind most insects. I actually like snakes for the most part and I have a few favorite insects that I’m thrilled to see in nature.

But when it comes to tarantulas, you’ll see me heading the other way. I actually don’t mind spiders. I don’t mind most of them and respect them for their role in nature. It’s spiders over a certain size that I mind. If I am in a pet store casually taking a look at all of the different creatures in the tanks, I will look carefully at every display sign just in case there might be a tarantula inside.

Just the thought of holding one and letting it crawl up my arm gives me chills. I don’t even want to look at one!

Be a Beauty and Fashion Influencer

By CA Creative on Unsplash

I might have the looks, but do I have the brains? Probably not! That is when it comes to fashion and beauty trends. You know those people that have their own YouTube channel that features them explaining the latest makeup trends and recommendations? Well, I could never be one of those. I just have no desire.

While I like the creative art-like concept of make-up, quite honestly wearing it or even talking about it does not interest me whatsoever. I haven’t worn make up in years. Probably since high school and the first year of college.

I’m definitely not the one to ask about make up recommendations because I have no idea! And you know, I feel confident and free not wearing it.

Stop Writing

By Aaron Burden on Unsplash

I will never ever stop writing. I’ve always declared writing to be my “first love”. For as long as I could ever remember, I was writing stories. As someone who is quiet and usually always thinking before they speak, I’ve never had a problem sharing my thoughts through my writing.

Even when the words don’t come out right as I go to say my thoughts, when they refuse to get over that imaginary barrier, even when I have so much to say but end up saying so little, writing has always been my strong point.

There were plenty of times in which I just didn’t feel like writing, was stuck on an idea or have even doubted myself, but in the end, I have always been happy to return to it.

list
1

About the Creator

Jasmine Aguilar

Fascinated by pop culture and its effect on society... movies, music, books.. and pretty much anything.

I love writing and write a little bit of everything including a science fiction WIP!

https://www.buymeacoffee.com/J.A.Rose

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Awesome list!! Loved reading it!!!💖💖💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.