Humans logo

How Vocal Media Saved My Life

And how it can save yours too

By A.M.RadulescuPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
14
One of my favorite personal photos

How Vocal Media saved my life. Sounds a bit clickbaity, right? Well, just bear with me and you'll see for yourself that it's not just a catchy headline, or a far-fetched hyperbole (even though I'm partial to the latter) but the honest truth.

First, let me ask you a question. Have you ever felt that something's a little off in your life but you can't put your finger on it? A puzzle piece missing that distorts the overall picture. An inexplicable unease. A pull, a stirring, a whisper. Maybe even something like Sehnsucht, the nostalgic yearning of German construct C.S.Lewis described as “the inconsolable longing for what we know not what.” Raise your hand if anything, anything at all strikes a cord. Yes, I figured as much.

Personally, there were many times when I wished for Aslan’s far-away country, without having any real notion of it. Just a haunting sense of incompleteness. Growing up in a conventional household in the heart of Eastern Europe, and raised by loving but conventional parents, I learned from a young age to keep my innermost feelings to myself. The exuberance, creativity, imagination, constant daydreaming were not up to par with a society scrambling to pick up the shattered pieces of a post Communist-existance. Ceausescu was gone, but the scars of 50 years of opression were ugly and deep. The new Romanian needed to behave in a particular way, to play a certain part, to achieve all the great things that had been forbidden for so long. But in a specific framework. Hence, the newfound freedom was deceiving. We exchanged a set of shackles with a shinier model. Que the "All that glitters is not gold" references.

So, despite my almost genetic passion for storytelling (which was not considered a lucrative or feasible way of making a living), I conformed, and buried my instincts, my wishes, my screaming inner nature, and deluded myself that others did know best. Putting writing aside, I got a degree in PR&Communication, started a Master's, landed a job in an advertising agency, and perpetuated the game. Always the people pleaser, I played my part to perfection. The lack of an Academy Award in my bookcase is astounding. Like Leo for all those years, I was cheated of the official recognition, but luckily (or rather unlikely), there were enough Emmys and Golden Globes to keep me placid and complacent.

Until the day came when the dissonance created by the warring parts of myself became unbearable. Through a long and arduous mental and spiritual labor, supported by years of therapy, I finally shattered the golden case and broke out. Quit my job and allowed myself the chance to rediscover what made me tick, what made me happy. In the whirlwind of possibilities, and working hard to keep the nasty voices at bay (after all, they didn't want to relinquish one of their favorite catches without a fight), I remembered my love for writing. Even though I eventually took a new job, writing slowly crept back into my life. Timidly, tentatively.

A turning point was a random ad received from a good friend who knew of my struggles and my emergent self. It promised $5000 for a unique fictional story about a Dream Date. Huh. My inner puppy rose to attention, wagging its tail with excitement. The contest was being held by an online writing platform called Vocal Media. Vocal Media. Vocal. Hmm. Yes. I want, no, I need to be vocal again.

That was my first thought and in it, lay a life-line.

But did I dare? Was anyone even interested in what I had to say? Fairly quickly, I realized that approach was a guarantee of failure in itself. A self-fulfilling prophecy. The question was not if anyone would be interested in my writing but if I was. Did I feel there was something for me to say? Did writing soothe something deep inside me? Did it make me happy? At that, I received three Yes', so I finally took the plunge, and subscribed to the platform. Investing time, energy (and a little money) in what made me happy and whole. I took my life back.

There are a lot of articles out there about the pros of Vocal. Many just brilliant, like Sylvie Betterman's Why I Chose Vocal Media As My First Writing Platform. Give it a read, you won't regret it.

With all the Challenges, Top Stories, Bonus system, earnings per read, and long-anticipated Subscribe feature, Vocal Media truly has something for everyone (especially in the + version). Exciting and always new contests with big bucks for the winners, the opportunity to be featured on the front page with all the extra visibility that comes with it, tips from readers who like your work, bonuses in cash (well, sort of) from the platform for writing 5, 10, 50 stories or supporting fellow creators, etc. More importantly, it gives you a sense of community, of togetherness, of being heard, of finding like-minded individuals. Maybe, like myself, your "real-life" friends are not that interested in writing (or reading), so that support is somewhat lacking, but in writing on Vocal Media you gain access to a special kind of people, your people.

Even though the platform is not yet designed for much interaction, (human) nature found a way, by creating many wonderful Facebook groups, where a fledgling writer can receive some much-needed encouragement, constructive criticism, and more importantly, a spiritual home.

The Vocal Creators Support Group

The Vocal Creators Lounge

Vocal Social Society

and others.

Okay, that's nice and all, but how is it life-changing? You may ask. By taking the first (and crucial) step in believing in Vocal Media, I in fact put a stamp of approval on myself; on my writing capabilities, on the possibilities up ahead. By consistently writing on the platform I found my voice (and not just my literary one), I found a support system, I discovered that I do have something to say and I say it well. For me, Vocal Media was a gateway to realizing and working towards my desired future—being a full-time writer and creator. And not wilting away, like a neglected flower in need of proper nourishment.

Through the articles written and the connections I made, I branched out to Medium, and am this close to finishing my first novel, a spiritual urban fantasy called 'LIGHT and shadows'. I found people who helped me on my self-publishing adventure and my writing journey overall. There are so many wonderful, amazing, out-of-this-world creators that offered a lending hand, a soft shoulder, an attentive ear. You know who you are and I wish that the Universe returns the kindness ten-fold.

Through it all, I found the inspiration needed to lead a rounded, authentic, true-to-myself existence. There's a long road still ahead, but the path is clear.

So, yeah, Vocal Media really saved my life. It helped me win back the keys of my kingdom by retaking charge of my own happiness. After 31 years on this amazing Earth, I'm once again the writer of my story and not just a character driven by others. And there are many wonderful narratives to work on in the future.

For anyone out there who is fighting the dissonance and not seeing a way out, I'm here to tell you there is a path. You just need to reach out and hold tight, with a deaf ear to those nasty voices. I'm no more special than you are. I'm not a native English speaker, I don't come from money, I had many fears and anxieties to overcome. I still have new, different challenges every day. If I could do it, so can you. You just need to work diligently on yourself and find out what makes you happy, what makes you whole, and how you can achieve your desired future.

For me, that first, essential step was called Vocal Media. Maybe this applies to you, maybe not. Just promise me one thing. That you'll look inside, dig deep, and find your personal truth. Then act on it.

I wish you the best of luck. Oh, wait. There's no such thing as luck.

One more time from the top.

I wish you the inspiration to make the right choices. You've got this :)

By Ana Maria Radulescu

lovetelina.com

***

If you do decide that Vocal Media would be a good fit for you too, great news. There's a limited offer for Vocal+ which allows you to enjoy one month free, plus a $10 bonus. The upgrade to the paid subscription gives you access to exclusive challenges, higher earnings per read, and other fun perks. Check it out and decide for yourself if it's something that interests you.

In the meantime, hit the Subscribe button at the top of the article for further inspiration.

If you're curious about the piece that started it all, here's my Dream Date entry.

product review
14

About the Creator

A.M.Radulescu

Certified bookworm, published author, hopeful dreamer, passionate traveller, cat lover, life enthusiast. Writing about life and self-growth. Get my debut novel at https://www.amazon.com/dp/B09JRJ3P5T

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.