Humans logo

How used luxury watches became a $20 billion industry.

Identifying a fake Rolex can be tricky.

By Ferrack WalfertPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
1

identifying a fake Rolex can be tricky you know as a person who has been dealing with these things for years when it doesn't say Swiss you know something's wrong John Buckley is a veteran watch dealer who buys sells and repairs used Rolexes and they're sometimes worth hundreds of thousands of dollars it's just perfectly done these days use watches can sell for up to three times their retail price the market is estimated to be worth 20 billion dollars and it's growing fast everybody started buying watches because they're a good way to store money between 2011 and 2021 Rolex has outperformed the stock market real estate and gold but even experienced sellers like John have to be careful for one there are counterfeits U.S customs showed us how it seizes up to 150 000 fig watches per year Rolex watches inside in just plain old bubble wrap and Rolex would never put their watches in little Ziploc bags but spotting a fake isn't always as obvious if dealers like John get stuck with a counterfeit the effects can be disastrous not just financially but it can also destroy the reputation new Young Bucks that come into the business they get caught out there real fast and your reputation is burned burned when you can't make good on a sale Factory bezel Factory dial we follow John through Manhattan's famous Diamond District does he always strikes deals in such a competitive market it's 13-3 no it's not so bad of course it's not so bad why do you think I'm offering it toyeah this section of 47th Street is home to over 2 600 businesses selling gems jewelry and luxury watches John buys and sells roughly a dozen watches per week here from stores and other collectors today he's visiting two of his regular spots little lady's got a paddock that I need hopefully I could buy it from and I'm going to show them a couple of pieces that I've got I gotta find it first oh that's good what's good about this watch it's comes fully complete look at the condition you got everything yeah John already has a customer lined up for this rare Patek Philippe I really like this watch what's the date on the papers I'm curious not that it matters he's hoping to get it for under forty thousand dollars listen I knowit's a nice watch l'm not I'm not here to be chopped you know I need it 36 000. I thought I was pretty good at 35. 37 000 that's my final price I think it's fair you can think about it I don't have to think muscle no problem thank you this watch will be sold for 40 40 000 in change so l'll make three grand on the watch yyeah this section of 47th Street is home to over 2 600 businesses selling gems jewelry and luxury watches John buys and sells roughly a dozen watches per week here from stores and other collectors today he's visiting two of his regular spots little lady's got a paddock that I need hopefully I could buy it from and I'm going to show them a couple of pieces that I've got I gotta find it first oh that's good what's good about this watch it's comes fully complete look at the condition you got everything yeah John already has a customer lined up for this rare Patek Philippe I really like this watch what's the date on the papers I'm curious not that it matters he's hoping to get it for under forty thousand dollars listen I knowit's a nice watch l'm not I'm not here to be chopped you know I need it 36 000. I thought I was pretty good at 35. 37 000 that's my final price I think it's fair you can think about it I don't have to think muscle no problem thank you this watch will be sold for 40 40 000 in change so l'll make three grand on the watch down the street John has his eye on a gold Rolex day date with diamonds on the bezel or the ring surrounding its glass which is not bad how much is this twenty one thousand dollar watch twenty five thousand yes two three five you like that right let's do it it's Factor diamond dial Factory diamond bezel 235 the deal but I'm gonna do for you lI'm gonna obviously say yes

product review
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.